I ain’t looking back

January 1, 2008

As I travel through life, there are always those times when decisions just have to be made even when the choices are hard, and solutions seem scarce and the rain seems to soak my parade.

There are some situations where all I can do is to simply let go and move on, gather courage together and choose a direction that carries me toward a new dawn.

So I pack up my troubles and take a step forward- the process of change can be tough but I think about all the excitement ahead if I can be stalwart enough.

There could be adventures I never imagined.. just waiting around the next bend and wishes and dreams just about to come true in ways I can’t yet comprehend.

Perhaps I’ll find friendships that spring from new interests as I challenge my status quo and learn there are so many options in life, and so many ways I can grow.

Perhaps I’ll go places I never expected and see things that I’ve never seen or travel to fabulous, faraway worlds and wonderful spots in between.

Perhaps I’ll find warmth and affection and caring- a “somebody special” who’s there to help me stayed centered and listen with interest to stories and feelings I share.

Perhaps I’ll find comfort in knowing my friends are supportive of all that I do and believe that whatever decisions I make, they’ll be the right choices for me.

So I just keep putting one foot in front of the other and take my life day by day.

I ain’t reflecting on the days of my life in 2007. I’ve simply decided that I ain’t looking back…

hnewyear2008.jpg

Related Link: A New Year Prayer

36 Responses to “I ain’t looking back”

  1. L B Says:

    Ain’t no mountain high enough..
    Ain’t no valley low enough
    Ain’t no river wild enough
    To keep me from you…

    To a Happy, Prosperous Happy New Year of 2008!

    It may only be song lyrics but I’m very glad to know that, LB. *hugs*

    Happy New Year!

  2. waz Says:

    Happy New Year Jemima!!!
    Stay positive…n keep rockin! 🙂

    Likewise, Waz.

    Happy New Year!

  3. may Says:

    yup, no looking back, what’s passed is passed, done is done, gone is gone. look forward to better and greater times!

    Happy New Year, Jem!

    *nods in agreement with May*

    Happy New Year!

  4. moz monster Says:

    Happy New Year !

    Time marches on, relentless, and without waiting for anyone. Moving on is but all that we can do.

    You’re right, Moz.

    Happy New Year!

  5. Wennnn Says:

    No point lookin bek now isn’t it?? Too late to change anythin… Well just look forward lor… Hope U have a great year ahead!!! Happy 2008….

    I am looking forward, Wennnn.

    Happy New Year!

  6. Chen Says:

    Have a Blessed and Happy New Year 2008 🙂
    May 2008 be a better year for each and everyone of us

    Thank you, Chen.

    Happy New Year!

  7. kookymonsta Says:

    Have a fantastic 2008, Jems! It’s true, there’s no point looking back now. All we must do is concentrate on what happens tomorrow. But don’t get too caught up in the daily grind yea? Sometimes we do have to take two steps back and slow down – we’re only human. 🙂

    Thanks for the reminder, Vern.

    Happy New Year!

  8. misha Says:

    haaaaaaaappy new year 2008!!!!

    Happy New Year, Misha!

  9. zewt Says:

    when the time is right… that someone special will come.

    looking forward it is then…

    Thanks for building up my confidence, Zewt.

  10. Ashish Says:

    Happy new year!

    Happy New Year, Ashish!

  11. iamikela Says:

    happy NEW year 2008, jem! hope you have a good new year ahead!!!

    take care

    *hugggggies*

    Happy New Year, Iamikel!

    *Hugs*

  12. Tine Says:

    Put the past in the past, and look forward to good things in 2008.

    A blessed new year to you, Jem *hugs*

    I am, Tine.

    Happy New Year!

    *hugs*

  13. x5 Says:

    Perhaps, indeed!
    have a fantalicious 2008, girl! 🙂

    *smiles*

    Happy New Year, X5!


  14. Happy New Year! 😀
    May all your dreams come true this year … and a little extra special that even you didn’t dream of. 😀

    Thanks for your thoughtful well-wishes, Dabs.

    Happy New Year!

  15. Kyels Says:

    Happy New Year to you too!

    May this year adorn you with prosperity, luck, and all the best thing one can have!

    🙂

    HUGS!

    Thanks, Kyels.
    I most certainly hope so..

    Happy New Year!

    *HUGS*

  16. _butt Says:

    yes Jemima, and that’s the way it is. keep the spirit going! 😀

    Happy New Year and may you have all the best things in life. No looking back. 🙂

    Yup, no more looking back, _butt.

    Happy New Year!

  17. Cocka Doodle Says:

    If hensem me is walking behind you, will you look back anot jek?

    Happy 2008, Jemima!! May the new year be filled with love & laughter throughout!

    CD, I won’t because I don’t have eyes on the back of my head & I wouldn’t know that hensem you is behind me. 😛

    Happy New Year!

  18. anjali* Says:

    Happy New Year, dear!

    Let’s move forward together-gether 🙂

    Let’s, Anjali.

    Happy New Year!

  19. meekiee Says:

    Happy New Year dear! 😉

    It IS a good year.

    Happy New Year, Vicky!

  20. Lil Says:

    hi jem, it has been a rough year for you in the past few months but you emerged stronger and courageous, bravo!

    Thanks, Lil.
    I think so, too..

  21. kyh Says:

    no looking back, that’s why i didn’t do my 2007 reflection. (but that’s prolly bcos i’m tooo busy and lazy, LOL!)

    happy 2008! 😉

    Kyh, whether we do it or not, we all have our own personal reasons & we got to respect them.

    Happy New Year!

  22. Giddy Tiger Says:

    Happy New Year Jem!
    May 2008 bring you everything you wish for and more!

    Thanks, Giddy Tiger.

    Happy New Year!

  23. Che-Cheh Says:

    You’re stronger today than ever. I applause you on that. Wish you all the best in 2008. 😉

    *curtsies to Che-Cheh*

    Happy New Year!

  24. angel Says:

    yes, don’t look back… not even when a hensem cock is walking behind u!!! 😛

    may you have a good year ahead 🙂

    OK, Angel. I won’t.

    Happy New Year!

  25. LM Says:

    Yeah Jemima, don’t waste the brain energies to reflect what you did in 2007. The year is over, and look forward to a brand new 2008!

    LM, I didn’t & I definitely won’t want to..

    Happy New Year!

  26. Angele Says:

    You are right Jem. Do not look back. Last year had been hard on you but you are still standing. You are still going strong.

    This is a new year and you have the chance to start afresh. Take every opportunity and make wonderful achievements 🙂

    Happy new year my friend.

    Thanks, Angele.. especially for being always so supportive when my life was in the pits.

    Happy New Year!

  27. cp Says:

    happy new year jemima dearie .. good call, we look forward!!

    Indeed, CP.

    Happy New Year!

  28. tihtahpah Says:

    hey happy new year! let 2008 be a year of new things for u…and happy things this time 🙂

    Welcome back, Szer.
    I will try my very best.

    Happy New Year!

  29. doc Says:

    onward, christian soldier, onward…!

    *marching beside Doc*

  30. misti Says:

    today is a new day. at least that’s what i try to tell myself.

    So is tomorrow, Misti.

  31. Yvy Says:

    good point dear. 🙂 anyway, hope it’s not too late to wish u a happy new year! may 2008 be more productive n your new year resolution[s] come true. 😀 *xoxoxo*

    Better late than never, Yvy. 😉

    Happy New Year!

    *muaks*

  32. Ian Says:

    Happy happy new year… May it brings you new hope and great happiness… 😀

    Thanks & likewise, Ian.

    Happy New Year!

  33. kat Says:

    Hi Jem. A very Happy New Year with you.

    You’ve had quite a ride last year, didn’t you? I hope during some of the rough patches, I managed to keep you company. 🙂

    Here’s to a better year ahead!

    I can find no words to assure you how wonderful you’ve been to me, Kat.

    Happy New Year!

  34. nyonyapenang Says:

    Let dreams that were not achieved in 2007 be your inspiration for a new 2008. Cheerssssss

    Thanks, Kak Nyonya.

    Happy New Year!

  35. simon Says:

    happy new year… always look ahead, i say.

    Welcome, Simon. 🙂

    You say it right.

    Happy New Year!

  36. stev Says:

    *chuckles*

    the best post i’ve seen on not looking back

    “to infinity & beyond!” 😉

    Hehe.. maybe there aren’t many posts on it, Stev. 😛


Leave a comment