“No one deserved it more.”

November 19, 2008

We all wish our friends well, but not that well.

Don’t be put off by this. You’re only human. You want your friends to succeed, but when they do and you are not sure of yourself, you fear being shown up.

When you feel down about yourself, it’s easier to tolerate hearing about a friend’s misfortunes than his or her successes.

Because your friends are closest to being like you, their success makes you question yourself.

“Why not me?” you ask. We all feel this way.

Nothing alienates people quite like success.

When people become successful, they discover a sad and unexpected truth: It is lonely at the top.

Your friends need to celebrate their success without feeling that they are intimidating you and to share their failures without your taking secret satisfaction from them.

Allow your friends to confide their success in you without becoming envious of it or asking to participate in it.

Just say, “No one deserved it more.”

You’ll probably be right.

You’ll certainly be a friend.

jk_realfriends

I am happy for my friends’ happiness.

Sharing their happiness is my happiness.

Related Read: Be a Friend

12 Responses to ““No one deserved it more.””

  1. waz Says:

    words of wisdom!
    can we cry together please? :P

    *offers Waz a shoulder to cry on* ;)

  2. Angele Says:

    *totally agreeing with your post* :)

    And you know that your happiness is my happiness just as much as your sorrow is my sorrow.

    *muaks*

    I DO KNOW, Angele. :D

    *HUGS & MUAKS*

  3. waz Says:

    thanks! :)

    *smiles*

  4. anjali* Says:

    Yeap, that is so sooo true. Sometimes, there are so called “friends” who just wants you to be a failure. The moment you share anything good news, they somehow don’t seem to be too happy. Then they end up in my “friend bin”. Heh.

    I’m sure there are many readers out there who have had the same experience as you, Anjali.
    Such is life.. friends come.. friends go.. *sigh*


  5. I am happy for my friends’ successes and their happiness.

    It usually rubs off on me too. ;)

    Btw, love your new Christmassy layout! Gets me in the mood for carols… :D

    Looks like I’m not alone, Kenny. ;)

    Suggestion: For Christmas, you should post a video of yourself singing carols.. :P


  6. Oooo… Xmas here soon! :D
    I get to eat tookey! Sorry… I meant turkey.
    Real friends also do not abandon you during your lowest times too.

    Yup, they don’t, Lizzy. :)

  7. faa Says:

    “Men kick friendship around like a football, but it doesn’t seem to crack. Women treat it like glass and it goes to pieces.”

    - somehow, i see the truth in it..
    i loved the pic of the hands there, so i put it up in my blog. is it ok with u? tell me if u are not, coz i’ll put it down :-)

    Thanks for sharing the quote, Faa. :)

    Yup, you can use the pic. :)

  8. kyh Says:

    omg… you’re too eager to celebrate christmas, aren’t u? It’s still a month + 5 days away! :P

    Words of wisdom. That’s so true, esp when when there are so many kiasus around.

    It’s a cruel & miserable world out there these days, Kyh.
    Hence, I’m hoping that this Christmas beings with it a ray of hope for each & everyone of us. ;)

    I agree with you re the kiasus. *sigh*

  9. Kyels Says:

    I’ll share my happiness w/you and I’m also happy for my friends’ successes and joys.

    Sharing is caring.
    :D

    Thanks! *hugs*

    It is, Kyels. :D

  10. Devi Girsang Says:

    Great post! This is my first time visit and I really love your anonymous blog :)

    Welcome, Devi. :)

    Thanks for your very kind compliments & make yourself at home while browsing through my archives. ;)


  11. No one deserves a good friend, a true friend, more than you…. because no one deserves it more. These are great words to think by.

    Thank you, GT. :)
    Those great words are very highly appreciated. *hugs*

  12. treedweller Says:

    “Nothing alienates people quite like success” sad, but true.

    Welcome, Treedweller. :)

    It is true. *sigh*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

