Don’t be Lazy

January 6, 2009

No one really wants to work, especially when the work is someone else’s and moves you toward a goal that has nothing to do with what your life is about.

It’s easy to feel lazy when you don’t find any purpose in what you’re doing.

Money soon loses its power to motivate you. Money is like that. Pursuing it makes you crazy.

Even if you grab the brass ring on the merry-go-round, you can sometimes feel pretty stupid that, after winning a meaningless symbol, you are still going around in circles, still pleasing others.

What can anything mean, really mean, that is not of yourself?

You’re never lazy when you do what you love, although sometimes you’re just afraid and push the work you love away. You’re only afraid of the right work because you don’t want to discover unpleasant truths about yourself. The right work tells on you.

It can reveal that you are not as competent as you would like to be.

Or not as talented, and that you are really going to have to work at your success.

Or not as special, and that you have nothing very earth-shattering to say.

Or not as original, and that you have a lot of growing to do.

Join the club. If you risk doing what you are supposed to do, you may make a sad discovery that you are not as good as you had hoped, but you also may find that you are not as bad as you had feared.

Your life started a long time ago. Are you on the right road? Are you doing what you want to be doing?

Now what is all this laziness about?

jk_dontbelaz11

I seek my life’s work, my being and purpose.

I am not afraid to discover my worth, for I already love myself.

13 Responses to “Don’t be Lazy”


  1. Oh but I’m sooooo LAZY! :P

    But you are right. Life means something if we have nothing to do and nothing to hope for. Right now, that means finding time to write my next blog and Photoshop the pix… Lol.

    And I’ll be looking forward to the hidden captions, Kenny. ;)

  2. x5 Says:

    ive been too lazy to think of late…just taking it a day at a time…probably that’s best, no? :)

    It all depends on each individual, X5. ;)

  3. Che-Cheh Says:

    I’m doing what I love & not what I have to do to make other people happy.

    *gives Che-Cheh a high-five* :D

    Good on you, my friend. :D

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired. Hehehehehehe!

    DOH! *winks at Dan*

  5. Trinity Says:

    sometimes, I have to motivate others to fulfill ‘my’ goal and make ‘my’ goal our goal… it is hard and sometimes feel guilty… as if I make use of them, but it is not actually what I do…

    I know what you mean, Trinity.
    However, your conscience should be clear as your objective is truly to motivate them.

    *hugs*

  6. yhen Says:

    sometimes i get lazy if im not in the mood, but as long as my mind and body is willing to work my momentum to work will start…

    i agree with u, love wat u do so dat u wil not feel any laziness.. ;-)

    I’m glad to hear that, Yhen. ;)

  7. anjali* Says:

    I say “Amen” to that! That’s why I am willing to let go of everything that I had worked for 15 years (work wise, I mean) to start anew this year. In a new country. And I have never felt happier. Even though I know it will pay me less. But how do you put a price tag to real happiness?

    Great post, Jemima! Kudos! :)

    I’m so glad to hear that your wise decision pays off with true happiness for you, Anjali. :D

    Thanks for your compliments. :)


  8. Lazy ppl are smart and innovative ppl. They always seek the easiest and shortest way hence the most efficient way to complete something. Hehehe… ;)

    However to some individuals, lazing around is something hard for them to do. Believe me coz i know quite a few ppl with this ‘problem’. LOL

    LOL.. so which category are you, Lizzy? :P

  9. stev Says:

    think maturity comes with knowing that we aren’t really that much better than others & comparisons will get us nowhere =)

    love & passion remains the key yes?

    Ditto, Stev. ;)


  10. I am the lazy category of course… Muahaha!
    Am always seeking the easiest and shortest method. :D

    Kudos to your honesty, Lizzy. :D

  11. Devi Girsang Says:

    Happy New Year to you!

    Wow is this a new template for the new year? :) Nice!

    Happy 2009, Devi. :)

    This ain’t a new template. I’ve used it ever since I started blogging. :P

  12. a n g e l Says:

    hullo…

    yes, ma’am.. i’ll TRY not to be lazy.. :)

    Does that include blogging, Angel? :P

  13. Kyels Says:

    I can’t wait to start work and feel the blues and I promise I won’t be lazy!
    :P

    You won’t be, Kyels. :)

    I’m very sure… ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

