Reflections for a Special Friend

April 21, 2010

The tide of friendship does not rise high on the banks of perfection. Amiable weaknesses and shortcomings are the food of love. It is from the roughness and imperfect breaks in a man that you are able to lay hold of him…

My friends are not perfect – no more than I – and so we suit each other admirably. It is one of the charitable dispensations of Providence that perfection is not essential to friendship.

This post is inspired from the writings of Alexander Smith, a Scottish poet.

Painting: Reflections by Doris Joa

4 Responses to “Reflections for a Special Friend”


  1. With time, imperfections do become perfection. Just like a diamond cutter shaping rough diamonds. :)


  2. So very true — you inspire me, my friend, with each of your musings. This is one is no exception. I wonder if sometimes I am too hard on myself and my friends too. Expectations that are too high or unrealistic. Hmm.

    • jemima Says:

      Likewise, you inspire me with yours. :D

      High or unrealistic expectations are usually influenced by the society we are in. That’s my 2 cents.

      Have a great weekend, Kenny-san. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

