Letting Go

July 29, 2006

suitcases.jpg

When I first travelled, I packed so many changes of clothes – maybe it will be warm or cool, formal or informal – that I could hardly carry the suitcases. Some people lug so much hurt and anger with them wherever they go, I am amazed they can lift it at all.

How heavy are your emotional suitcases? Unzip one of them, and examine the bricks and rocks and logs that make up the load. Perhaps someone provoked you to anger when you were a child. Perhaps in high school and into adulthood some disappointment festered into a large chip. Or maybe you haul a load of kindling wood that can be used as fuel for others to ignite.

Think of the wasted energy that has been used to carry this baggage. Or picture the constant frowns and contorted faces that are required to sustain the effort. Next time watch the face of someone struggling with a load or large package; over the years such frowns can become permanent. Age can bring on its own wrinkles, but why exacerbate the process? This load can also give you worries, and they lead to ulcers, sickness, and other ugly pains. Let it go. Holding on won’t hurt the other person. It hurts only you.

I will leave behind hurts and anger to make my load lighter.

6 Responses to “Letting Go”


  1. I come with enough baggage for all to share! πŸ™‚

    Haha.. good one! πŸ˜†

  2. Che-Cheh Says:

    I’m happy that you’re happy. Cheers.

    Thank you my dearest friend.. πŸ™‚

  3. Gab Says:

    that’s so true. emotional baggage is always the hardest to let go. im so glad for this entry, or else i’ll be forever trapped in such agonizing state. thank you girl, thanks. *HUGS* im happy for you for it took much sense and courage to let it pass by. a good beginning will have an even better ending. πŸ˜‰

    YAY! Good riddance to our emotional baggages.. πŸ˜€

    With your ever kind words of encouragement.. I can only become a better person.. Thanks again, Gab.. πŸ™‚

  4. Kyels Says:

    This is just so true. I do agree with you. Emotional baggages are heavy; so heavy that sometimes we ought to learn how to let go so that we will not regret in the future.

    (:

    Hence, weΒ should not liveΒ life with a suitcase full of regrets. πŸ˜‰

  5. Chris Says:

    Most people obtain emmotional baggages from broken relationships. Especially when that relationship seems too hard to forget. However if we are to think through the issue deep enough, we find that there is no apparent reason why we must keep on carrying the baggages and or so to say ghosts of a shattered relationship. If its over its over. Stop seeing that person so you can move on. As “Sand King” always says, “Whats done is done!”.
    If you happen to ask moutaineers, they will answer you one thing…Only morons carry heavy baggages which will be useless in an expedition. Instead, equip yourself with the things you will definitely need along the way.
    Pray, drop, and move on.

    Welcome, Chris. πŸ™‚

    I would like to thank you for your comment & advice. It’s very true what you had said. I’m trying very hard to move on. He doesn’t love me anymore but..my heart is still aching. I’m still crying. My health has been affected. Even though I have wonderful friends who has been extremely supportive.. it’s just so hard to let it all go. Time is what I need. But, how long will it take? All I can do is pray & hope that.. that day will be here soon.

    HUGS!

  6. Riihele Says:

    Hei Jemima.
    It was my search for the ‘suitcases’images that brought me here to your great site. I want to check with you if it’d be possible to use this fab image of the cases in this entry on an entry that I was planning to do either today or tomorrow. Waiting for your reply, Jemima. Take care and do keep well, safe and sound.
    PS. Very very true what you are saying in this entry, btw.

    You’re welcome to use the image. πŸ™‚
    My apologies for the late reply. I haven’t been on line for 2 weeks as I’m still holidaying in Melbourne. πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

