I’m blogging with Anonymity

August 8, 2006

YES! Jemima Kameyo is an anonymous blogger.

Some of my faithful friends – bloggers and non-bloggers alike – had emailed me because they wanted to know why I had chosen to use the name Jemima Kameyo?

Jemima was my late grandmother’s name. It means dove.

A dove symbolizes peace. Hence, like a dove, I believe I can ‘fly’ and hence I am free to blog & write whatever that pleases me with tranquility.

 jk2.jpg

Kameyo is my Japanese name. When my mum was a few months pregnant with me, my dad went fishing with his business friend from Japan. While Dad was sharing the happy news with his friend, they saw a turtle emerged, his friend said that if mum gave birth to a daughter, she must be called Kameyo.

‘Kame’ means turtle and ‘yo’ is a suffix.

jk.jpg

Another definition of ‘Kame’ is earthenware pot or jar.

jk1.jpg

So, be it a turtle or an earthenware pot, I guess it simply means a long life for me. 🙂

 

26 Responses to “I’m blogging with Anonymity”

  1. Nicktay Says:

    You mean jemima issn’t your real name? Its one of my favourite names in the world, party because I know this very special little girl in my church named Jemima 😛

    Wow! Now I also feel special except that I’m no longer little. 😉

    Yes, I’ve decided that if I should have a daughter of my own one day, I will call her Jemima. 😀

  2. Sha Says:

    Jemima is such a pretty name.. Now that I know the meaning, it’s even prettier 🙂

    Ohhh.. I’m so touched. *HUGZ*

    Thanks, Sha. 😀

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    According to some religious text, Jemima is the eldest of the 3 daughters of Job (Keren and Kezia are the other 2), renowned as the most beautiful women of their time. Hmmm…interesting… 😛

    Yep. Jemima (also written Jemimah), was one of the three daughters of Job. Her sisters are named as Keziah and Keren-Happuch.

    It was written in Job’s: “Nowhere in all the land were there found women as beautiful as Job’s daughters, and their father granted them an inheritance along with their brothers.”

    So I guess Jemima is not only just a beautiful name.. hehe #blushes#

  4. Kyels Says:

    I like the name “Jemima” … It really is special.

    Thanks. My grandma was a very special lady, too. 🙂

    Well, even though if we do not blog under our real names; as long as our contents are good and the points can be shared amongst everyone… It’s good enough.

    (:

    That’s so true. Thanks for the reassurance, Kyels. 😀

  5. Gab Says:

    As rare as the gem Jemima. 😀 Suits an angel like you.

    Likewise you’re a gem & an angel, too.

    And way to go for anonymity!! It rawks. 🙂 So keep blogging, looking forward to more posts. And oh you’re blessed with longevity with kameyo as your name 😛

    Yep! Anonymity Rawks! Drop by more often after your finals, ok? 😉

    I’ll live to be as old as Yoda. 😆

  6. moz monster Says:

    At least you’re not named after a river that brings sorrows to millions … that’s what my name is …

    Moz monster??? I thought that means Giant Mosquito. 😆


  7. Turtle Dove picture now on my blog! 🙂

    Thanks very much, Dabs. 😀

  8. Alex Says:

    first heard jemima in… jemima khan? haha.

    Hi, Alex. Welcome to my blog. 🙂

    Hehe.. She was Jemima Goldsmith before she married Imran. Now she’s going out with Hugh Grant, I believe.

    and i heard this word ‘kame’ when i was like 6. u know.. dragonball.. kamehameha… 🙂

    LOL.. I’m sure you have outgrown dragonball by now. 😆

  9. nyonyapenang Says:

    ‘kameyo’ – such a well-thought out name.

    I agree.. Thanks to my dad’s friend. 😀

  10. fashionasia Says:

    oh…turtle dove…
    that is really lovely.

    I think so, too. Thanks & HUGS! 😀

  11. luxferi Says:

    Ah, now I know the history and reason. You know, Kameyo is soooo beautiful. And when you said it also means earthenware pot, you know what comes to mind? Down to earth. 😉

    Ohhh.. You’re the first to interpret it that way. Thanks & Hugs! 😀

  12. Che-Cheh Says:

    Aww so sweet. I’m touched.

    You are a beautiful person. 🙂

    You’re even sweeter to say such nice words. 😀

  13. tonixe Says:

    i m actually …l.o.s.t.

    Don’t worry. 😉

  14. Coffeeholic Says:

    Hey Jemima! I do really like your blog and do enjoy reading inspiring posts from you. Mind I link you?
    By the way, Jemima Kameyo sounds cute to me 😛

    Welcome Coffeeholic. 🙂
    Thanks for your compliments & I don’t mind you linking me.
    Btw, may I have your url?

  15. Coffeeholic Says:

    Oops! Hehe.. anyway, thanks ya 🙂

    No problem. 🙂

  16. Yvy Says:

    Awwww…that’s such a nice way of coming up with a nick – could make it into your kids real name some day too! 🙂

    Hehe.. Thanks but I’m not thinking that far ahead. 😛

  17. Yvy Says:

    haha…u’ll be surprised dear…..

    Hehe.. I will let everyone know when it happens. 😛

  18. Yvy Says:

    oie…whyla my comments always under moderation? 😦

    Very Sorry! Not only yours la. Everybody’s.
    It’s to control those annoying spammers. 😦

  19. Yvy Says:

    cannot be la…i think you have to check out under your options and se – sure can adjust and then not so troublesome…

    OK. Will try. In the meantime, pls bear with it. 😉


  20. What a meaningful name =p

    Welcome, M. 🙂

    Thanks for your kind compliments.

  21. Jemima Jean-Paul Says:

    My name is actually Jemima. It’s nice to see that someone else knows the Hebrew root of my name.

    Hi Jemima,

    Thanks for dropping by. 🙂
    Yep, I bet you have met many people who don’t know it.

  22. gmacomics Says:

    hi there jemimah! reminds of my long have never seen friend named jemimah. maybe its you? just dropping by! see you around!

    Thanks for dropping by, Gmacomics. 🙂

  23. Bengbeng Says:

    i had to read this page to confirm u r not Jemima whom i know 🙂 Anyway, nice blog u have got. 🙂

    Welcome, Bengbeng & thanks for the compliments. 🙂

    I’m sure the Jemima you know would have told you if she has a blog. 😛


  24. Hi Jemima,
    I am blogging in anonimity too. Too many things that are private yet I feel I need to share. Your blog affirms that this is possible. Love it, Keep writing and inspiring

    Luv
    Bulan


  25. hi 🙂 my real name’s jemima.i’m really happy someone knows the meaning of my name..most people don’t even know how to pronounce it (^ . ^) lol. i had to correct them.there was even this one doctor,who has never heard of the name “jemima” =D and, by the way, kameyo is such a beautiful name and i like its meaning.first time i’ve heard of that name(~.~) also,you really inspire me w/what you post =))


Leave a Reply

