Call An Old Friend!

August 10, 2006

oldfriend.jpg 

The best mirror is an old friend.

Friends from times past, especially from childhood, offer a unique pespective on your life. They are associated with memories marked by greater innocence and purity. Lifelong friends are likely to be familiar with our family members, culture, church, school or neighbourhood. Getting back in touch can complete a circle, of sorts – providing a sense of wholeness, meaning, perspective, and personal warmth.

Friendships give us comfort and encouagement to face the future. Old friendships renewed also give the comfort and solace of times past.

Contact an old friend now and get reacquainted. 🙂

7 Responses to “Call An Old Friend!”

  1. moz monster Says:

    =)

    I met up with someone I’ve known for 14 years but never met just a few weeks back !!! I’m was elated !!!

    WOW! I would be elated, too.. for as they say, “It’s better late than never.” I hope that it won’t take another 14 years before you meet up again. 🙂

  2. nyonyapenang Says:

    i’ve not been calling enough. i plead guilty!

    Call now. It’s never too late. 😉


  3. ‘The best mirror is an old friend.’

    Not my old friends, they’re all old and wrinkley. My fat irons my wrinkles out. Not mirror like at all! 🙂

    Hahaha.. your comment had me in stitches again. 😆

  4. Sha Says:

    I don’t make friends easily, but I truly cherish the people I have as friends.

    Likewise. But, I still cherish memories of a certain someone who broke all ties with me & left me all alone.. it will only be a month ago this weekend. The saddest thing is that I can’t even call him to get reacquainted.

    I was so delighted to receive a Friendster invitation from an old school friend whom I had been close with.

    And once we started to chat, it was as if we were never away from each other.

    I’m really happy for you.

    I live for simple pleasures like that 🙂

    We should all live for simple pleasures ‘cos life is too short & it’s up to us to make it meaningful. 🙂

  5. Kyels Says:

    It is true that calling an old friend can rekindle those memories that was created years ago. But sometimes when they are not willing tread the past with us we cannot do anything either.

    That is so true & that’s what makes me sad..

    Friendships are hard to keep. It takes up a lot of time and also effort. But it’s worth it at the end of day.

    (:

    I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

  6. Gab Says:

    mmm..new friends are like silver, old friends are like gold, keep the silver but not forget the gold. but it’s hard to keep in touch, so far and apart. geez..:(

    That’s so true. I even know of some people whose best friends are the ones that got them into trouble. 😦

  7. Che-Cheh Says:

    I contacted an old friend of mine few months ago. We talked twice and then it dwindle away again. 😦

    I’m so sorry to hear that. HUGS!


Leave a Reply

