Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

August 11, 2006

Some of my friends proclaim proudly, “I’m an organic eater. I eat only naturally grown products, no additives.” I reply, “Whoop-de-do, good for you.” Give me a break! It gets a little boring hearing them ask twenty questions of the waiter: “Are you sure this fish is grilled, not fried?” “Use only olive oil, please.” “Have the chef hold the salt.” Then they look at me and ask, “Are you going to eat that red meat?” “I sure am,” I say and chomp down on a great rib eye steak. While I’m enjoying my meal, they’ll lecture me on the dangers of eating too much red meat, not to mention chicken: “Is your chicken well done?”

gresteak.jpg

They carry a small caseย full of vitamin supplements as a part of their health package. “If your food is so healthy, why is the sack of vitamins necessary?” I ask. “You can’t be too fortified,” they say. Then I have to endure the lecture on the value of mind-enhancing herbs and why I should drink red, not white, wine. Red, they say, is better for the heart. Well, no problem there. I do drink both red & white wine. ๐Ÿ˜€

redwine.jpg

Enough! My cholesterol is 105. My blood pressure is 110 over 70. I don’t smoke, and I love anย occasional whiskey – neat. I hope that 25 years from now, they’ll have the same clean bill of health that I amย hoping to have. So I shall continue to enjoy my sins. And if you are into natural foods and supplements, then congratulations. I will try to stay calm when I hear the words “organic”, “natural”, “fortified” and “no additives”.

wearewhatweeat.jpg

We are what we consume, so we will practise moderation. ๐Ÿ˜€

ย Have a great weekend!

17 Responses to “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff”

  1. Gallivanter Says:

    Yes, moderation is the key. There’s no point of being finicky over what one eats, because we will all kick the bucket any way. ๐Ÿ˜› Here’s to more red wine, and red meat! Woohoo!

    Hehe.. Cheers! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Keropok Says:

    No, my friends… you have got it all wrong.

    Eat, drink, be merry.

    Have that banana leaf rice, extra rice, extra curry, whack that Nescafe tarik kao-kao…

    Support crappy clubs like Arsenal. Earn ridicule for life.

    For tomorrow we croak ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOL.. I believe I have a very loyalย Arsenal supporter who reads my blog. I bet he won’t be too impressed by that comment. ๐Ÿ˜†

  3. Kyels Says:

    I do agree with you that whatever we consume everything should be in moderation. Having too much of something kills as well.

    I bet that includes too much of missing & loving someone. hehe #just kidding#

    Heh!

    Have a great weekend!

    Same to you, Kyles. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Wiela Says:

    hi, my 1st time here. Welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

    i noticed this blog is very similar to another blog: http://honeydragon.wordpress.com/

    are you the same author? even the blogroll is similar.ย 

    Really? I must check it out.

  5. moz monster Says:

    So this is where the organic food thing is from !!

    Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The more we worry about things like how many calories we’re consuming, the less we enjoy life. Just be moderate, don’t over do anything, even the good ones, and just be merry and live !!!

    Life’s too short to be all stiff and uptight about.

    Well said! I couldn’t agree more. ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    if want to be totally and absolutely organic, then i suppose you just have to grow and cook your own food.
    haiah, lidat too much trouble for me. so, i practice moderation too.

    I’ll never have the time to grow my own, too. hehe

    Btw, welcome to theย  moderation club. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sha Says:

    You can’t be too anal about something as wonderful as food. We just have to enjoy food albeit in moderation. As long as you eat your portions of fruits and veges, I guess you’ll be fine. hehe.

    Good advice. hehe

  8. luxferi Says:

    Goodness that is a mouth watering steak you have there. Seriously. That looks so yummy, it’s a sin. ๐Ÿ˜›

    The unforgiving kind of sin. hehe

  9. Gab Says:

    *giggles* aiyor, i think im guilty as charged. sorta a bit of a health freak, i don’t do red meat. hehe and i whack my servings of greens with gusto and not forgetting my spirulina tablets. ๐Ÿ˜€ yea crazy, but…once in a while indulge in sinfully delicious stuff is HEAVEN. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know exactly what you mean..ย hehehe

    BTW, Weila sounds familiar. If I remember correctly she had commented in a blogger’s blog before. mmmm..anyway, Weila girl, I’d say Honeydragon and Jemima are similar in terms both are females, but the similarity ends here. Not the least surprising if bloggers share almost similar blogrolls, esp in the blogosphere. Perhaps your blog share such similarity too. Mind sharing your blog here? ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. scorkes Says:

    Wiela,

    Jemima is a personal friend of mine. I can vouch that just because two blogs are similar, it doesn’t mean that the two are written by the same author!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. lx Says:

    jemima i like wot u wrote in kyels’ blog on friendship and blog hopped here.

    Oh really! That’s so sweet of you & Welcome! ๐Ÿ˜€

  12. Che-Cheh Says:

    Oooh I love to eat. Don’t care whether it’s organic, unhealthy blah blah blah…as long as it’s yummy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Haha. But don’t forget the key word is ‘moderation’. ๐Ÿ˜‰


  13. Oooo, you won’t like eating at restaurants with me then. I have so many allergies.

    THen again, Vegetarian Pizza or Vegetarian Lasagne will always do for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It will be my pleasure toย eat vegetarian meals with you. ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Gab Says:

    Dabido: Count me in for Vegetarian Pizza or Lasagne. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thought you have a thing for durian deodorant. ๐Ÿ˜› Dare you to try Durian Pizza. LOL

  15. J Says:

    Hear hear!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    “Eat anything you want but in moderation” sounds like a great philosophy to live by!

    It is & that includes chocolates. ๐Ÿ˜‰


  16. Gab – Durian Pizza. Woot! You’re a genius! With slices of Rambutan! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Alex Says:

    *points up up up* and tat loyal Arsenal supporter is right here ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOL.. ok.. rub it in.. I’m a good loser. Others might give you a piece of their mind but I don’t. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    i dun reli drink.. especially beer. u know how it’s like here.. beer and aussie. haha. low tolerance to alcohol.. i just get em rashes.

    Hmm.. ok. I’ll give you aย treat atย Starbucks, then. ๐Ÿ˜†


Leave a Reply

