Happiness is a Choice

August 16, 2006

Β gonewiththewind.jpg

Scarlett O’Hara, the foremost character in the classic “Gone With The Wind”, believed that only one thing would make her happy – becoming Mrs Ashley Wilkes. When Ashley married another woman, rather than make the most of things, Scarlett threw her happiness away with both hands.

Happiness is an emotion, but it is greatly influenced by the choices I make. IΒ can choose to be optimistic rather than pessimistic, hopeful rather than doubtful. Sure, life will throw me some curve balls, but no one can steal my happiness.

So, I’m turning my back on misery today simply because there’s always something to be happy about. I’m going to embrace that something today.

9 Responses to “Happiness is a Choice”

  1. Paul Says:

    Ah, one of my favourite movies of all time πŸ™‚ Who could possibly forget such a tempestuous character… when she walked into Melanie’s party all swathed in red… whoa.

    Paul

    Welcome to my blog, Paul. πŸ™‚

    Haha..you like your ladies in red or was it just Scarlett O’Hara? πŸ˜‰

  2. Sha Says:

    That’s one title I’ve been wanting to read and watch but never really got to.. hehe.

    You should read the bookΒ or watch the dvd. I’m sure you’ll like it. πŸ˜€

  3. Kyels Says:

    Will try to get this movie. Thanks for sharing!

    No problem, Kyels. πŸ™‚

    Yes, happiness is definitely in our hands. If we throw it away then it is our loss. It’s better to be happy than to be sad. I hope you managed to embrace what you wanted to.

    (:

    I’ve learned that if I pursue happiness, it will elude me. But if I focus on my parents & siblings, the needs of others, my work, meeting new people, and doing the best I can, happiness will find me. πŸ™‚

  4. moz monster Says:

    We are our own destiny, aren’t we?

    We sure are. πŸ˜‰

  5. Che-Cheh Says:

    Hey that’s one of my all time fav movie.
    I read the book after I had watched it. And I didn’t complaint a thing!

    It’s definitely a classic.. a fave among many. πŸ™‚

    I try to be happy all the time.
    If you’re sad, just sing a song. Laugh yourself out loud and you will feel a lot better.

    Good advice. I’ll remember that. Thanks! πŸ˜€

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    make the choice; thenceforth the choice controls the chooser.
    i choose to be happy too!

    Good on you! I’m so happy to hear that. πŸ˜€

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    There is great courage in you…
    We should all be like that…
    There is no one that can snatch happiness or anything from us unless we let them do so…
    There’s just too much happy thoughts that we should be indulged in rather than letting others take them away…
    I remembers the movie but I have not seen it, it’s a rather popular movie I must say.

    So nice of you to drop by, zeroimpact. Welcome! πŸ™‚

    You said it so well. I’ve shed too many tears of late until one morning I woke up & told myself that I must be happy. Those tears wereΒ just from memories shared with a certain someone. He’s gone now & I can’t let him take my happiness away from me. Hence, in order to move on with my life,Β I must be happy. πŸ™‚

    Oh yes, do try & get the movie. You’ll not regret it. πŸ˜‰

  8. Keropok Says:

    You go girl…

    Thanks & HUGZ! πŸ˜€

    Give a damn!!!

    Haha. Frankly, I don’t.. πŸ˜†


  9. ‘Scarlett threw her happiness away with both hands.’

    I hope she got her hands back! πŸ™‚

    Hehe.. πŸ˜†

    ‘I can choose to be optimistic rather than pessimistic’

    I have a sign on the back of my bedroom door that I can read every morning. It says, ‘Today I have Two Choices’. [That’s all it says … but, that’s all it needs to say!] πŸ™‚

    That’s a good sign. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

