Stop & Smell the Coffee

August 18, 2006

What’s on your list for Saturday? Run some errands? Household chores? Groceries shopping? Weekends can be just as busy as workdays – sometimes even more so.

Don’t forget to do something important for yourself this weekend – nothing. That’s what I’ll be doing.

I will take some time to relax and simply enjoy doing nothing. I will give myself permission to take an hour or two off. I will put on a fresh pot of coffee, browse the newspaper, and simply enjoy myself. I will prepare myself for a serious break.

coffee.jpg

Do take note that you don’t have to let your responsibilities slide. The danger is that you’ll do just the opposite, that you’ll become a slave to your schedule. You just have take control of your life by letting it go. As for me, I will take some time just for myself, and relax.

Work is what we do to help us make a living. But living is what we should do to help our work. So live a little. Trade the office wear for some “scuffies”.

Take a break so you won’t break.

Have a great weekend! 🙂

17 Responses to “Stop & Smell the Coffee”

  1. lx Says:

    Yes everyone do something important for yourself that will warm your heart and make another smile. Come on down to the charity bazaar at the KDU college D’sara Utama 😀

    *hey jemima .. i love ur white blog. it’s just so refreshingly clean and striking. Don’t mind I cross-promote the charity event here, yah? ;-)*

    Thanks for the compliments, Lx. You’re most welcome to promote any charity events here. 🙂

    As I said on your blog, I’m proud of you ‘cos you’re doing your bit for charity. I wish you & your college-mates every success. 😀

  2. Sha Says:

    It’s always nice to spend time with yourself 🙂 I enjoy my alone time alot! 😛

    Yes, I love my me time. 😀

  3. fashionasia Says:

    Thanks for the advice. I will too.
    And hopefully do some shopping :> !!

    You’re welcome. 🙂

    In between your shopping, remember to have that cuppa. 😉

  4. nyonyapenang Says:

    work, work and more work. it’s never finished, ya?

    I’m afraid so – my work can never be done. 😦

    so, just take off and indulge. LOL

    Thanks. You, too. 😉

  5. Gallivanter Says:

    Doing nothing is good. Too bad I don’t drink coffee – the closest thing I come to coffee is Starbucks…can I replace coffee with jack daniel’s? 😉

    I love Starbucks & I love Jack Daniel’s.. so no problem at all. Cheers!

  6. ~TheAngel~ Says:

    Hey there, thanks for dropping by my site 🙂
    By the way, hope you have a nice weekened too 😉
    As for me I’m going back to my hometown this weekend!

    Hi, thanks for visiting me, too. Have a safe trip home & enjoy yourself. 😀

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    Its been so long since I even held a paper in my hands…
    Doing nothing is hard… very hard to do
    Now I know how lifeless I have been
    Heh heh heh

    Hahaha.. you’re living too much in the blogosphere. 😉

  8. Kyels Says:

    Yep. That is what I do sometimes. Bum around the house with a cup of freshly brewed coffee and read the online newspaper!

    It’s definitely bliss!

    You’re absolutely right, Kyels. 😉

  9. sharon Says:

    it’s a luxury just to chill! have a great weekend!

    Hi Sharon, Thanks for visiting my blog. 🙂

    I hope you’ll have a great weekend, too. 😀

  10. luxferi Says:

    *shall heed Jemima’s advice and start living already*

    *Jemima nods her head in approval*

    *stares at the pile of work*

    Work? What work?

    *throws a piece of cloth over it*

    Is that what’s under there? *Jemima walks off pretending not to know*

    hehehe!

    LOL 😆

  11. Lex Says:

    hey thanks for visiting my blog 😀

    Thanks for visiting me, too. :p

    btw, I love weekends when I just get to do nothing. Sit down have a cup of coffee and enjoy the stillness of the day 🙂 ahhh lovely!

    Yes, I always try to relax on my weekends without stressing myself.. 😉


  12. I smelt the coffee, but I have a coffee bean stuck up my nose now!!! Waaaaah!

    Anyone know how to get a coffee bean out of a nostril?

    By blowing your nose? No?

    Anyway, being serious for a second
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    ………
    times up, back to being silly. 🙂

    Just kidding.

    Actually, I’m probably going to be looking at material for a course I’m teaching, as well as starting work on my University Assignments. 🙂

    I would like to wish you all the best, Dabs. 😀

  13. Paul Says:

    Have a great weekend! And yeah, it’s time for a break 🙂

    Paul

    Yay! Same to you, Paul. 😀

  14. Lil Says:

    scruffy day is a must!! at least once a week 😉

    I agree. Sometimes I managed to sneak in 2 days – Sat & Sun. hehe. 😉

  15. Lex Says:

    It’s funny that I had one of those doing nothing day today… It was nice, u know just to drive around, still at coffee bean, have a cuppa and just chill… 🙂

    Hmm.. Looks like we have a lot in common, Lex. That was exactly what I did yesterday. 😀

  16. Che-Cheh Says:

    I love Saturday more than Sunday because I have only a day to rest if it’s Sunday. Hehe yeah I know kinda stupid thinking.

    No, it’s not. I think that’s logical thinking. 🙂

  17. Lex Says:

    Wow deja-vu… maybe we should get together sometimes and enjoy another cuppa 😀

    You’re on, Lex and I can sample your delicious cookies. hehe.. 😀


Leave a Reply

