Little Manhattan

August 22, 2006

 littlemanhattan.jpg

When I started my blog, it was never in my intention to write a movie review but Little Manhattan is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. Hence, I want everyone to discover this film. Beautifully made and acted, this is a film for the entire family. It was released in cinemas in September 2005 but I finally got hold of the DVD & watched it last weekend.

littlemanhattan1.jpg

10 year old Gabe, the narrator of this film, is a little athlete and decides to take karate. In the class, he meets Rosemary, and falls in love. She is one year older than he is and (by Gabe’s admission) not the prettiest girl in the class but the third prettiest. He accompanies her to a dress fitting (she’s a flowergirl in a wedding) and when he sees her, that is when he knows he is in love. Gabe comes from a family where his parents are still living together but are contemplating divorce. Things are so bad that they buy their foods independently and put their names on them. Gabe is disillusioned by this all but still believes in romance.

The scenes where he plots his first kiss will hit home for every male watching this film who remembers the awkwardness of trying to make the kiss perfect and memorable. 😆

The film captures the age and subject matter perfectly. All the questions, inner dialogue, and those puzzling things we notice about the opposite sex (and continue to notice as we grow up, I might add).

littlemanhattan2.jpg

There are a lot of wonderful moments in the movie – the perfect date in Central Park, the dinner at the jazz place where he was holding Rosemary’s hand and his palm was sweating profusely, and the moment where he was crying with remorse over the fight with Rosemary.

The young actors, Josh Hutcherson as Gabe and Charlie Ray as Rosemary are two of the most natural and engaging young actors I have seen in recent years.

For anyone that has the faintest memory of being in love for the first time, this is the best of the best. I’d give it a 9/10. It’s worth watching.

Btw, if you feel that there is no such thing as romance anymore, you owe it to yourself to see this film. Your belief will be restored. 😉

I would like to thank Yahoo Movies for the movie poster & production photos.

12 Responses to “Little Manhattan”

  1. Kyels Says:

    Thank you for sharing. I will try to find this movie.

    The review itself made me want to watch it!

    (:

    I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. 😀

  2. Gab Says:

    the storyline’s intriguing, so shweet…perfect for an evening stay-in and watch alone. 😛

    hehe

    Yep! That’s exactly how I watched it. 😀

  3. Paul Says:

    Makes it sound good! Shall definitely try to catch it!

    paul

    You won’t regret it , Paul. 😀

  4. zeroimpact Says:

    I remember I once watch a movie of two kids eloping, they were like 12.
    Romance and love is ever present…
    It’s there waiting for us to embrace it…
    🙂

    Well, this movie really captures the exquisite suffering and joy of falling in love. 🙂

  5. lx Says:

    falling in love for the first time, eh? LOL i can remember the tubes of UHU glue I used to stick my heart back in place … an experience I won’t change .. in hindsight la ;-p

    Hahaha. Are you sure you didn’t use superglue? 😆

  6. sharon Says:

    “Little Manhattan” sounds fantastic! I’m usually a fan of action flicks and war movies, but I do love a heart-warming tale once in a while… you know my favourite as a child was “Anne of Green Gables”! Maybe I have a unconventional idea of romance… but I thought “The Village” had one of the most romantic scene ever! The scene on the porch. Is the movie zeroimpact was refering to “Melody Fair”? Loved that too!

    “Little Manhattan” seems to do no wrong. It made me smile throughout the movie. Btw, I love action & war movies, too.. but I love romance flicks the most . 😀

    Actually, I’m not sure if Zeroimpact was referring to “Melody Fair”. I remembered that it’s a very old movie with all the songs by the Bee Gees. 😉

  7. fashionasia Says:

    Sounds nice…
    The Malaysian version would be Mukshin! :>
    I totally dig such movies…except that i suppose my hubby wont wanna watch it with me!!

    Yes. I’ve read about it on Yasmin Ahmad’s blog. I love her movies like Sepet & Gubra. 🙂

    Well, my suggestion is that if your hubby doesn’t want to watch it, just watch it by yourself as part of your ME time. 😉

  8. moz monster Says:

    Ah .. we share the same tastes in movies … there are mainstream movies, and there are movies which move the heart … I’m just a little saddened we don’t get to watch enough of those here in Malaysia, for one reason or other.

    Right on, Moz. One day, we’ll go watch some movies together. 😀

    I agree. Some of those movies which are screened here are terribly censored. 😦

  9. Sha Says:

    Thanks for recommending such a sweet movie. I’ll definitely check it out the next time I go to the video store. 🙂

    I hope you can find it. The movie rocks! 😆

  10. Alex Says:

    wakaka.. i watched this quite sometime back. wrote a review on it too. but yeah it’s a nice, cute movie. duno where i put it, i think gf’d love this one, no? 🙂

    I’m very sure she would love it. Enjoy yourselves.  😉

  11. Che-Cheh Says:

    Ahhh so sweet..I’m gonna watch it.

    You’ll love it. I’m sure. 😉

  12. nancy Says:

    does anyone know the name of the song that is playing when rosemary and gabe are walking through sheeps meadow (the guys is playing the saxophone and rosemary starts doing a quick dance move. i really appreciate it.

    Have you googled for it? Anyway, will try & find out for you. But, I can’t promise you, ok? 😉


Leave a Reply

