I’m Going to Fly a Kite!

August 25, 2006

I hope that it will be fine & windy this weekend because I’m going to buy a kite, go to the nearest open field, let out the string and let all my cares and worries go up, up, up and away.

kite2.gif

Charles Schulz, the creator of the Peanuts comic series, once noted that the reason he drew images of childhood is because most people can relate to moments when they were carefree and the biggest problem in life was keeping the kite out of the neighbour’s tree.

charliebrown-redkite.jpg

So, forget your adult responsibilities for a few minutes this weekend, go fly a kite and recapture the essence of unfettered happiness.

Remember, you have to look up! 😉

 Have a Great Weekend! 

NB. Eeleen flew a kite last weekend.

24 Responses to “I’m Going to Fly a Kite!”

  1. Kyels Says:

    Yes, we need to be “big kids” sometimes. Forget our responsibilities, burdens, worries … And go have fun!

    (:

    I know.. so I am going to have lots of fun. 😀

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    I am still a kid trapped in this gigantic frame…
    Oh, it will be so much fun…
    Let’s fly kites…
    fly me up there beside the coulds…
    I want to be a kite…

    Ok.. you can be my kite.. hehe 😉

  3. ~TheAngel~ Says:

    I try it last weekend. My first time in it. It’s fun 🙂

    Yes, I read about it. Hence, I’ve plugged you. 😉

  4. lx Says:

    happiness is when the kite gets airborned … frustration is when you keep trying to lift it and it keeps dragging the ground 😀

    Yes, that is indeed very frustrating. 😆

    enjoy the weekend, jemima 😉

    Thanks, Lx. I hope you’ll have a good one, too. 😀

  5. michelle Says:

    “eh you go fly kite lah.”

    HAHAHAHAH

    I was expecting someone to say that. LOL. 😆

    but no worries Jem, we know what you mean. Hehehe 🙂

    I’m glad you do. 😀

  6. Gallivanter Says:

    Go fly a kite during a thunderstorm and you’ll either be famous as Benjamin Franklin or be dead as Benjamin Franklin. Hehehehehe!

    If there is a thunderstorm this weekend, I’m going to snuggle up in bed with a good book or watch a dvd. There will always be another windy day for my kite. 🙂

    Neither would I like to be famous or dead as Ben Franklin. I’m happy just to be ordinary & alive as Jemima. 😀

  7. nyonyapenang Says:

    you bring back memories of childhood….kites, marbles, hopscotch, scooping for guppies in the longkang or just climb up a huge tamarind tree and bond with friends!

    Wow! Thanks for giving me more ideas of what I can do. Even though some readers may find these to be childish but no matter how old we are or will be, there will always be “a child” inside us. 😀

  8. zeroimpact Says:

    Yay…
    I’ll be a kite
    I’ll be a kite
    Fly fly high in the sky!!!

    Hahaha.. remember to avoid falling on tree tops, ok? 😆

  9. sharon Says:

    i feel a little sorry for myself that i’ve never flown a kite when i was a kid… but it’s never too late! i want a pretty pink kite! enjoy your kite this weekend!

    Nope, it’s never too late. A pretty pink kite would be nice. I hope the weather will permit me. I hope you’ll have a great weekend, too. 🙂

  10. Ness Says:

    Your post reminded me of the final scene in ‘Mary Poppins’

    ~Lets gooo fly a kite
    Up to the highest might
    Lets gooo fly a kite
    And ittt soooaaringg

    Up in the atmosphere
    Up where the air is clear

    Oooh lets gooo..fly a kite!~ 😀

    Haha. Thanks for sharing the song. 🙂

    Enjoy your kite-flying weekend! 😉

    I will. Thanks. 😀

  11. Ness Says:

    Whoops. I forgot to put the word ‘send’ in the fourth line. 😀

    Hehe. No problem, Ness. 😉


  12. I looked up, and my computer screen disappeared.

    I went, ‘WOW! It’s true, all my adult responsibilties disappeared!’

    Then I looked down again to write about it, and those darn responsibilities re-appeared! 🙂

    Haha. That’s funny. Thanks! 😆

  13. moz monster Says:

    Have a good kite flying session … =)

    Thanks, Moz. 🙂

    We guys have definately figured it out, haven’t we? When they say men are just grown up boys, I believe there’s truth in that statement.

    Well, women are just grown-up girls. 😀

  14. J Says:

    Hope that you have a great weekend too…
    🙂

    Thanks, J. You, too. 😀

  15. Sha Says:

    I’ve only flown a kite once before. Was not easy to get the kite to fly!!

    Practice makes perfect. hehe

    But once it was up in the air, the feeling was exhilirating 🙂

    It sure is. 😀

  16. Che-Cheh Says:

    Ahhh I flew a few kites before near my neighborhood area when I was little. But I rarely had a many good chance. Only on windy days. Most of the kites were made by myself using plastic and newspaper…and they never flew as high as I wanted it to fly. LOL

    Wow! I must learn from you. I don’t know how to make them. 😉

    *sigh those were the days

    I think I will go fly some kites someday.

    Maybe we can go together.. with Chester, too. 😀

  17. endroo G Says:

    I had Superman and Spiderman kites when I was small. My grandma bought it for me for 50 cent a piece at that time.

    If only you still have them, then you could show them to us. 🙂

    Hmmm..the value of money in those days compared to now. 😦

  18. Alex Says:

    the last time i flew a kite, it was a huge garuda dad bought from Bali.

    That must have been a very beautiful kite. You’re so lucky. 🙂

    Got stuck on a tree, lol.

    Haha

    gawwwd, my blog’s down. someone ddos bloglin.com ..arrrgh

    Yes. I couldn’t log on to your blog since Friday. 😦

  19. endroo G Says:

    If you happen to be in Kepong/Selayang area…. theres a place where they have kite flying marathon every Sunday evening. Hundreds of kites (all sorts of kites) and people watching, jogging, exercise in that place. Kepong Metropolitan Park along MRR2. 😉

    WOW! Thanks for the tip. I will keep that area in mind. 🙂

  20. Gab Says:

    weeeee….fly a kite and fly away all your worries. i’ve never had one. hehe..perhaps one day..one day..;)

    Gab, we’ll go & fly kites together one day. 😀

  21. moz monster Says:

    You.Got.Tagged.

    Huh??? What’s that? Where? How? #scratches her head/mind totally blank#

  22. pelf Says:

    I like Peanuts too! Muahaha =)

    I’m glad to hear that. Btw, welcome to my blog, Pelf. 🙂

  23. art Says:

    Hey wonderful people!

    Anychance of letting me know where this Kepong Selayang place is?

    My only hangout is Bkt Jelutong.

    Would really asppreciate the info.

    Rgds…art

    Hi Art, 

    Metropolitan Park is located north of KL city and is approachable via the Middle Ring Road II, just about 5km from Batu Caves heading towards the Kepong town. The park is on your left.

    Have fun. 😀


Leave a Reply

