Our National Flower – the Hibiscus

August 29, 2006

hbiscus.jpg

Isn’t it beautiful?

This hibiscus is from my own garden at home. I have eight different colours & breeds of hibiscus. My passion for growing hibiscus started in 2005. They are easy to grow and require very little care. So what are you waiting for?

Grow our National Flower or Bunga Raya today.

What about you, Endroo? Do you have any hibiscus growing in your garden? 😉

Moz tagged me with a Pantun Merdeka Meme but I’m not doing it because my Malay language is a hundred percent worst than Sharifah Amani‘s. Please kindly accept my sincere apologies, Moz.

However, for those of you who would like to have a good read & a good laugh at some of the Pantun/Puisi Merdeka Meme, please don’t hesitate to check out the creativity of some of these famous bloggers such as Nyonyapenang, Wingz, Cocka Doodle, Minishorts, Helen & Ah Pek,

NB. If anyone would like to see the photos of the other hibiscus from my garden, please let me know. I will email them to you.

18 Responses to “Our National Flower – the Hibiscus”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    A beautiful flower indeed…
    So beautiful…
    I don’t think I would get one though
    🙂

    It’s Ok. I’m only suggesting. 🙂

  2. Kyels Says:

    I cannot seem to find anymore hibiscus around Kuala Lumpur and my hometown. I hope that they aren’t near to extinction though.

    That was what I noticed last year.. hence I started growing them. 🙂

    Yes, they are beautiful but I’m not good in gardening and I’m living in a monolithic place; no gardens!

    “monolithic”.. Hehe. I like your description. 😉

    But it really is beautiful.

    (:

    Thanks, Kyels. 😀

  3. Kyels Says:

    Hey, you’ve been tagged. Check it out on my site kay?

    *hugs hugs*

    Will check it out later. Very busy. Tonnes of work. Give me time, ok? 😉

    HUGS!

  4. fashionasia Says:

    8 diff breeds?!!! must be really beautiful!! I really wanna see all 8 type because we hardly see them around anymore..I remember we use to have them all around our school compound and seeing them everyday!

    Thanks for your interest. You’ve got mail. 😀

    The other day when I drove past a school, the workers were chopping the hibiscus plants off. They were not even trimming or pruning. They were getting rid of them. 😦

  5. sharon Says:

    that’s really beautiful jemima… could you email me just ONE, your favorite? with your signature on it? 🙂 when you free la… no hurry ok.

    My fave? Hmm.. that’s a difficult choice. I’ll email all of them to you & you can decide which you want you like the most, ok? 🙂

    WOW! You want my signature somemore. Looks like you’re my 1st fan. Haha.. Makes me feel like a celebrity. #Jemima blushes with shyness# 😆

  6. endroo G Says:

    Keindahan alam semulajadi di negara kita merupakan khazanah kepada generasi yang lepas dan juga generasi yang akan datang. Tidak di bumi orang kita dapat melihat bunga yang secantik ini.

    Terima kasih, Encik Endroo. 🙂

    Maaf jika ada kesalahan imbuhan dan susunan ayat. Dah lama tak tulis BM. Hahah.

    Tidak apa sebab Encik Endroo lebih pakar dalam BM daripada Jemima. 😀

    Gee…. feel kinda awkward writing in BM.

    Well, at least you know what & how to write. Come to think of it.. at least I also know how to repond to your comment in basic BM. 😆

  7. nyonyapenang Says:

    i’m envious you have green fingers and cool hands! my mama used to say that i have ‘hot hands’; so whatever i try to grow always die on me. 😦

    I really don’t think I deserve your compliments. Hibiscus is a very hardy plant & would survive without much care. hehe

    WOW! You got “hot hands”. I bet you got a hot bod to go with them, too. LOL 😆

  8. nyonyapenang Says:

    also, thanks for the plug.

    It’s my pleasure. 🙂

  9. Gab Says:

    WOW. That’s a pretty hisbiscus. And you acherly have 8 different coloured hisbiscus? I think it looks pretty. Reminds me of the sunflower I tried to plant, all died on me. *SIGH* Pass along the green fingers magic to me girl! 😉

    Yes. I’ve got 8 of them. 🙂

    Would you like my gardening gloves & tools, too? Hehe 😆


  10. The Dabidoland national flower is a rock. Hmmm, must work on our national emblems a bit! 🙂

    Reminds me of The Flintstones. 😀

    We have hibiscus in our garden.

    Show us. Take a photo of it & post it on your blog. 🙂

  11. Sha Says:

    I have the hibiscus in this shade of pink or beige, and I think we have them in red as well in the back yard. Very lovely flowers 🙂

    Yes, I have a pink one that both Fashionasia & Sharon likes the most. My red hibiscus is the most common breed and it is grown outside the fence. 🙂

  12. Che-Cheh Says:

    Ohh wow so pretty. That color is so beautiful.
    Please email me with the rest of your hibiscus picts.

    I’m glad you like it, too. Will email the pix to you immediately. 😀

  13. Ness Says:

    I’ve always thought hibiscus only came in red (aiseh, like shoes ..sorry..we only have the red pair..Lol.)

    Nope, they don’t. Like my shoes, they come in different colours. 😉

    Ehem, digressing. 😀

    Hehe

    But that is truly beautiful..the combination colours and the big petals are quite serene looking.

    Thanks, Ness. 🙂

    It might just grow on me (pun not intended) 😀

    I hope it does. 😀

  14. endroo G Says:

    So far i’ve seen hibiscus in

    red (of course)
    orange
    beige (also of this post)

    Is there any other colour?

    Dark Pink, Pink, Yellow, White, Purple, etc.. etc..

  15. scorkes Says:

    dun forget the hantubola pantuns.

    not patriotic .. but funny nonetheless! 😛

    Yep, I agree. I’ve just read Anttyk’s.

  16. endroo G Says:

    thanks or the enlightenment.

    You’re welcome. 😀

  17. LM Says:

    come here from nyonya’s place. Nice flower! show us your garden!

    Hi & Welcome! 🙂

    Thanks. I can email you my garden if you like. Hehe 😉

  18. Claire Says:

    Hello,

    This is exactly what I was searching for. Thank you. It’s amazing.

    No problem. 🙂


Leave a Reply

