I’ll let Go of Things that I Can’t Change

September 7, 2006

Do you know people who are worrywarts? They worry about real things – and not-so-real things. They worry about what-ifs. I sometimes think they invent situations to worry about. When they have a worry-free day, they worry that they are not worrying. It may sound crazy, but it’s true.

wwarts.jpg

I have a friend who must have a Ph.D. in worry. When he answers the phone, I can tell by the voice tension what level of worry he’s into. He takes everything personally, even stuff that doesn’t concern him directly. He has a worry for every subject, from his coffee to Forbes’ list of world’s wealthiest millionaires.

forbes.jpg

For example, one day I called him and said, “Hi, what’s up?” As soon as the words left my mouth, I knew I had asked the wrong question. “I don’t know why our schools don’t have enough computers,” he said. He went to expound on the fact that the 21st century demands that all children should be computer literate, and I agreed. When I suggested that he adopt his own Alma Mater and work to raise funds to purchase computers, he had all the excuses. I said, “If you don’t plan to offer solutions to the situation, why worry about it? At least, don’t talk to me about it.” I’ve given up trying to show him the folly of his ways.

I will give a problem – or a worrywart – my best thinking, and then I will let it go.

The truth is I was a worrywart once but I’ve decided that life is too short & beautiful for me to remain as one. Of course, it’s a lot easier said than done. After all, worrying is a part of life.

Have a great day everyone & try not to worry, be happy.

13 Responses to “I’ll let Go of Things that I Can’t Change”

  1. Kyels Says:

    Yes, we tend to think too much and at the end of day we become worrywarts. I don’t deny. And I do worry and think a lot too.

    But it’s true that we should let things go and live life to the fullest.

    (:

    It’s easy to say “Don’t worry” but it’s definitely difficult not to worry. I guess, we just have to try our best not to be worrywarts. 😉

  2. Ness Says:

    I have a few worrywortties friends. Some of them are too toxic for my well being as I sometimes end up worrying myself.

    They are not worth your time & effort.

    I use to worry what people will think of me if i do something or act a certain way. Then at the end of the day, I tire myself from just worrying and I thought, naa, this ain’t worth it.

    That’s right.

    So I stop worrying what others think of me…(well not totally but a progress 😉 )

    I’m glad to know that. 🙂

    I stop myself from thinking of the what-ifs and decided to live life as it comes to me…that is one day at a time 😉

    That’s the only way to live, Ness. 😀

  3. nyonyapenang Says:

    i must confess i’m a worrywart but am learning to ‘let go and let be’ bit by bit.

    Let us learn together, Kak Nyonya. 😀

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    Worry is like Liverpool supporter, it gives you something to do but it doesn’t get you anywhere. 🙂

    Hahaha.. that’s so funny & so true. 😆

  5. sharon Says:

    it’s a thin line between being too laidback and too worrisome… sometimes i end up just shutting down… for eg.

    with some of my med student colleagues, i feel so stressed out because to me they constantly worry about getting the best grades and how they fair in terms of position in their study groups… when or i want was just to be able to manage my patients in the ward, and make sure that i don’t freeze in the face of life-threatening emergencies… and the things they complaint about… sometimes i felt like pulling out my hair!

    I’m very sure you’re going to fair better than them in the wards ‘cos you will genuinely be concerned for your patients whereas they’re only interested in what’s on paper.

    and there’s another group… my sister’s friend from church whom i used to hang with… but they are too laid back for my liking, to the point of being rather reckless and unreliable… rarely punctual, laaate nights… and i realized that they found me a little uptight…

    Yep.. I know those types.. 😦

    so i was kinda in a dilemma one time… but now i know there’s really no need to fit in, just be myself, have lots of common sense…

    That’s right, Sharon. 😉

    thanks jemima for this post!

    You’re welcome. 😀

  6. LM Says:

    Some worry about:

    1. what to wear (nice or not huh?)
    2. which accessories to put on? (this one matching or not huh?)
    3. whether the tummy will jut out with this tight clothes
    4. whether the bus will be late and therefore have to walk and sweat and appear not 100% fresh for a meeting
    5. whether that fool that sneezed will transmit bird flu
    6. whether the food just eaten will cause 1 inch of extra fats around the waist.
    7. whether the guests thinks you have been a gracious host
    8. will pass the exams… (recall got 2 questions done wrongly)
    9. whether can get into the dean’s list.
    10. whether there will be another tomorrow….

    Hahaha.. Thanks for sharing. As I said, some people actually worry ‘cos they are not worrying. 😉

  7. Lex Says:

    I agree with Daniel… but now I think Chelski also need to worry leehhh… it’s quite an open season.. hhehehe..

    Hahaha.. Yes Chelski, too. 😆

    dun worry too much.. things will be alrite.. :Dcheersss

    Thanks & Hugs! 🙂

  8. Che-Cheh Says:

    I shut my mind from thinking about workloads matter if I’m not working. Worry is no good! It makes you grow old faster…hehehe

    Hehe.. no need to remind me. 😆

    Just Laugh Out Loud and Smile Always. 🙂 🙂 😀 😀

    I will. 😀

  9. zeroimpact Says:

    Worrying has become a part of life that is difficult to shed
    No doubt we all try our best not to worry, some worry out self, some bout others.
    There won’t be much fun too without worrying, I guess moderation is still the key in all the things we do in life…
    Worry moderately, while having fun doing so

    That’s true.. we should practise moderation in everything in life.. including worrying. 😉

  10. Keropok Says:

    Worry farts are more like it!

    They need the emotional flatulence, else they end up with emotional constipation, I guess 🙂

    Welcome home, my friend. 😀

    Hehe.. I never thought of it that way. 😉

  11. luxferi Says:

    Yes, I’ve heard someone tell me that before, “If you can do nothing about it, why worry?” something like that. Worrying (not to the extreme) doesn’t kill – stress does. Stress for being trapped in a job you hate. Stress for trying to pay the bills on time. Etc etc…

    Yes, Stress is a killer.

    oops… I’d digressed. You have a point: life is too short to worry about stuff – though you’ve got to wonder, how do happy-go-lucky people do it?

    I guess we’ll know the answer when we become happy-go-lucky like them. 😉

  12. Sha Says:

    Like I once said in my blog: Worrying is like a rocking chair – it gives you something to do but gets you nowhere 🙂

    Well said, Sha. 😀

  13. Paul Says:

    Just remember that famous line of quotes… see, even i can’t recall it but it has something to do with things you can’t change.

    Wait lemme check…

    Be granted the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and to have the wisdom to know the difference…

    Paul

    Thanks for sharing the Serenity Prayer, Paul. 🙂


Leave a Reply

