Dieting is a Lifelong Journey

September 8, 2006

Fashionasia‘s post on trying to lose weight set me thinking about the choices we have nowadays for a successful diet plan.

dieting.gif

A diet doesn’t last for two weeks or two months. It isn’t just about getting into that new dress or that new pair of pants for a coming reunion dinner. You know, the one where you’ll meet those old buddies you envisioned as being tiny as a twig – only to discover they’ve added a few “rings around the trunk” as well!

woman-scale.jpg

We’re on a diet our whole life. Every bite we take is part of our daily diet – our necessaryΒ intake of food. So the diet we choose has to be the one that will last – one that will keep us healthy for the long haul.

diet3.jpg

Dieting is a series of daily choices that ultimately will be measured on how much we weigh and, in some cases, how long we live. What we decide about our dietary options today will directly affect our dietary requirements five, ten, or twenty years from now. In other words, brownies today, bulges tomorrow!

diet1.jpg

We shouldn’t try to cram a lifetime of good eating into one month. We should choose eating habits that will last as long as we do.

“Tough diets never last, but tough dieters do.”

11 Responses to “Dieting is a Lifelong Journey”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    I’ve never thought of dieting until it was too late, now I have to eat moderately but still enjoying all the good stuff.
    I cannot resist good stuff
    πŸ™‚

    As long as you remember to eatΒ the good stuff in moderation, too. πŸ˜‰

  2. Che-Cheh Says:

    Here’s a secret.
    Breakfast – heavy meal
    Lunch – moderate meal
    Dinner – light meal (usually I take 1/4 plate of rice but with lotsa vegies/meats)

    Yes, eat like a king for breakfast, like a prince for lunch, and like a pauper for dinner. It works for me. πŸ˜€

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    Suggest a balanced diet, i.e. a bar of chocolate in each hand. πŸ˜‰

    Homer would have a beer in each hand. πŸ˜†

  4. lx Says:

    Truth be told, I don’t diet … I just work my socks off when it comes to exercising. That usually does the trick πŸ˜‰

    Yes,Β  exercise helps.

    It’s all about conditioning your body with the sort of food you put in and how fast you can burn it off. I for one don’t take breakfast … haven’t done so for the longest time … but will on occasion have a snack!

    I never used to eat breakfast but now I do – unless I overslept. Hehe.

    Just live, eat and be merry … the trick is really what you put into your body in terms of the food groups πŸ˜‰

    That’s right. πŸ˜‰

  5. Kyels Says:

    Only diet when it’s necessary. It’s all in one’s mind; psychologically.

    That’s true.

    It beats me whenever someone who isn’t fat wants to diet. It happens all the time with girls; I’ve seen far too many.

    I know the ones you mean – just skin & bones.

    But I guess the best is to eat moderately.

    (:

    I agree. πŸ™‚

  6. fashionasia Says:

    hehe…like i said….easier said than done!
    the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak….kekeke
    Day 3!! no KFC yet! πŸ™‚

    Hahaha.. Don’t forget that losing weight is a matter of mind over platter. πŸ˜‰

  7. nyonyapenang Says:

    proper diet flies out of the window whenever i’m in penang. πŸ˜‰

    Hahaha.. I can understand that, πŸ˜†

  8. ~TheAngel~ Says:

    Haha, on diet huh?
    Maybe I should go for one as well πŸ˜‰

    Good Luck! πŸ™‚

  9. MisSmall Says:

    Breakfast is the most important meal in a day. I know of a person who lost 10kg over 3 months simply by starting to have breakfast and cutting down on sugar.

    Welcome, MisSmall. πŸ™‚

    I agree.. hence, I’ve been eating my breakfast daily. WOW! That’s a lot of weight loss. πŸ™‚

  10. Lex Says:

    Well, for ladies rite.. I’ve noticed that once you kick into the gear of dieting… it just gets going man.. somehow like me, I avoid rice at all cost and I find apple very comforting πŸ™‚

    I know someone who detox her body by eating nothing but apples for 3 days.

  11. LM Says:

    no need to be such a hawk to watch diet lah.. the thing to note is, whatever you eat, you need to put in double the amount of exercise!

    Hehe.. That’s true. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

