Seek Out a Mentor

September 11, 2006

A mentoring relationship is one in which someone who has been through similar life experiences can be an empathetic shoulder to lean on and an encouraging coach to help you navigate life’s challenges.

Generally speaking, experience comes with age, and wisdom comes from experience.

No one can encourage me like someone who’s been there.

The inspiration for this post comes from watching the U.S. Open 2006 Ladies Final.

sharapova.jpg

Photo courtesy of Getty Images

Maria Sharapova in her winning speech paid tribute to Billie Jean King, the former star player and pioneer for women’s tennis.

“First and foremost, I would like to thank Billie Jean King for being such an amazing woman. Without her we would not be standing here today. What she’s done for our sport and what she’s done for women is absolutely incredible, and I’ve looked up to her since I was a little girl.”

michael-schumacher.jpg

 Happy Retirement to Michael Schumacher.

Seriously, would you make Schumacher your mentor?

From BBC Sport:

Michael Schumacher will head into retirement at the end of this season as the most successful Grand Prix driver of all time, but whether he will be regarded as anything like the greatest is another matter altogether.

But greatness is about more than ability and trophies. It is also about character and integrity, and that is where Schumacher’s claim falls down.

Please read this related article: Schumacher’s tainted legacy

15 Responses to “Seek Out a Mentor”

  1. LM Says:

    wah, jemima watches tennis! I admit I lost interest after the giantesses of the game, william sisters stopped playing. It was fun watching them vs the little white challenger aka Martina Hingis.

  2. nyonyapenang Says:

    Maria spoke like a true winner. Bravo!

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    Like it or not, Schumacher will always be F1’s best driver. A legend. The stats speak for themselves. 🙂


  4. OOooo, I saw both of these on the midday news! 🙂

    Whether Michael would be a good mentor is debatable. Even though his done his fair share of ‘questionable’ things, would he pass these on to someone else he is mentoring, or would he teach his padwans to be ethical?

    Nice to hear Billy Jean King get honoured by Maria.

  5. sharon Says:

    isn’t sharapova something? and so young some more… hope she never let fame and success get over her head.

    and yes, nothing can beat experience!

  6. Kyels Says:

    Schumacher will always be a legacy in Formula One driving. No one can beat his legacy in this sport, but perhaps the young ones in the future.

    And for Masha, she really is good and I believe she will be the next rising star. I love the way she plays; full of energy, never giving up hope.

    Indeed, she deserved the trophy.

    (:

  7. flowsnow Says:

    well said. I totally agree with you. Good mentors are hard to find.

  8. michelle Says:

    Schuey IS good, we can all admit. But maybe his attitude is not really tolerable from some people’s point of views.

    I feel that a good mentor is a person who is a role model by hard work and effort, not just fame and glory(and has good attitude and aptitude as well). I have a lot of respect for people who are knowledgable and yet humble, not boastful or being a know-it-all. A person who leads with a positive image and preferrably, with a great sense of humour. 😀

  9. Lex Says:

    I wasn’t really a big fan of Schuey but he’s da man!

  10. zeroimpact Says:

    Well, I’m not really into both of the sports, or any sports…
    But then again, it’s not easy to be a mentor, lest being taken as a mentor…
    🙂

  11. jemima Says:

    LM: I play tennis, too. 🙂

    nyonyapenang: She did. I was most impressed. 🙂

    Gallivanter: Most ppl would remember him as the most controversial F1 driver.

    Dabido: Let’s hope Schumi will only pass on the good stuff to his mentee. Maria’s credit to BJ King made her a classy champion. 😉

    sharon: Yes, experience is everything. 🙂

    Kyels: I hope Schumi wins the 2006 championship & hence, he’ll retire in glory. 🙂
    Yes, I also think that Maria truly deserves the championship this time. 😉

    flowsnow: Thanks & welcome. 😀

    michelle: Well said. I totally agree with your point of view. 🙂

    Lex: I’m not even a fan but I still think he deserves the credit to be remembered as one of the greatest F1 Champions.

    zeroimpact: It’s not easy being a mentee, either. 😉

  12. Che-Cheh Says:

    Actually I’m not really fond of Maria. Ok I better keep quiet.

    Hehe.. I actually like Justine, too. It doesn’t really worry me, which of the two had won. As I said to nyonyapenang & Dabido, I was most impressed that she paid homage to BJ King. 🙂

    As for Schumi, he will be a legend.

    Hehe.. he will definitely never be forgotten. 😀

  13. endroo G Says:

    Things to ponder:

    If people like Schumacher, Wayne Rainey, Mike Doohan, Valentino Rossi were to be mentors, then you’ll hear Mat Rempits say in their dying breath (should they meet a fatal accident).. “I will go happily as I have performed my best to further enhance what my mentors have taught. Luck just not on my side and God have just said it’s time for me. Thanks to my mentors for what they’ve done.” /\__/\__/\____________________

    Thanks, Endroo. 😉

    Btw, Maria Sharapova are the only reason I watch tennis. Before this, it was Anna Kournikova. Long before Anna, it was Steffi Graff. Haha.

    Well, watch out for more Tennis SYTs.. hehe

  14. MisSmall Says:

    Ditto, Che-cheh. I’m not a big fan of Maria Sharapova too. 😛

    I, however, have always been a loyal supporter of Ferrari, and hence my biased opinion about Schuey. He’s no doubt an icon in Formula One and regardless of what some might have to say about him, he will always be remembered as one of the best drivers the world’s ever seen.

    WOW! Another Ferrari fan. Thanks for your comment, MisSmall. 🙂

  15. Lil Says:

    nope, no can do with schuey as mentor… he’s too ruthless for my liking… i admire him for his skills, but not for his tactics…

    I think the majority of F1 fans has the same opinion as you.


Leave a Reply

