Put Things Back Where You Got Them

September 15, 2006

Who can calculate the time wasted looking for misplaced keys, tickets, eyeglasses, or an appliance warranty?

warranty.jpg

Not to mention trying to find that elusive other shoe or earring.

shoe.jpg

Returning something to its rightful place can turn out to be an amazing investment when you think of it that way.

Save yourself from the stress and frustration of searching for what you need. Designate a place for each and every item, and send it home each time you use it. You will be amazed at how this one little change can bring peace to your life. You can then use that energy for more important tasks.

catsleep.jpg

Note: Some people in my office can never put things back where they got them. Hence, this rant.

11 Responses to “Put Things Back Where You Got Them”

  1. Sha Says:

    I know how annoying it can be.. I keep my desk at work as neat as I can possibly get, and clear everything when I am going off.. It’s the only way to get things sorted so that I don’t have to waste time searching for things 🙂

    I envy your colleagues. You are a gem to work with. 😀

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    I feel your frustrations… though I myself am one of them
    However I normally misplace my own stuff more than others

    I don’t mind if it’s their own stuff.

    Education is just not working the way it should when it comes to human nature

    Yep, it isn’t.

  3. LM Says:

    for some, its the ‘organised’ mess that would enable them to find what they stored.

    That’s true. However, it’s not their mess that I’m ranting about. It’s when they don’t put certain hard-copy files back where they belong.

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    The only way to prevent this is to have as little stuff as possible. 😉

    Haha.. I should be like Homer, instead of ranting about this, I should have a beer. 😆

  5. J Says:

    So true!

    .. but if you have bad habits, they’re kinda hard to break lah…
    *guilty grin*

    I know. 😉

    Luckily I am only careless/ messy with my own stuff – if it’s not mine, I will usually be very careful with it.
    🙂

    Hehe.. me, too. 😉

  6. Kyels Says:

    It is annoying that when someone used something and never put it back into its original place. I’ve been through that and it annoyed the hell out of me. Damn!

    Exactly my sentiments.

    But I guess we can’t change people in a day. It’s a habit to them, perhaps.

    That’s true.

  7. sharon Says:

    yes, thanks for this little wisdom as i’m about to embark into working world!

    Hey! I know you. You’ll never do that. Look at your earrings collection – so neat & properly kept. 😉

  8. Ness Says:

    I only have a tendency to misplace my own things. If they belong to others, I take extra extra careful with it.

    Hehe.. you’re just like me. 😉

    My boyfriend said that he wouldn’t want to have children with me because he fears that I will misplace them as well.

    He’s a meanie. Lol.

    LOL. Tell him, you’ll misplace him instead of your children. 😆

    Have a good weekend, Jemima! 😀

    Thanks. You, too. 😀


  9. That explains why girls always say to me, ‘Dabido Go Home!’ at the end of each date. It’s so they know where to find me next time! 🙂

    Hahaha.. that’s funny. 😆

    [And I always thought they didn’t like me!] 🙂

    Come on, Dab. Everybody likes you. 😀

  10. nyonyapenang Says:

    hahaha…your colleagues follow this rule:
    “LEAVE things where you last used them”

    Yep, they sure do. 😦

  11. azhan Says:

    the title sounds like its coming from Monster Inc. and i love that toaster!

    Welcome, Azhan. 🙂

    Guess what? I’ve never watched Monster Inc. Yep, the toaster’s great. 😉


Leave a Reply

