Finding Rest in a Weary World

September 24, 2006

On the seventh day, God rested. Genesis is a reminder of the ancient rhythms of work and rest, creation and renewal. But modern humanity presses on to a different rhythm. The machine age encouraged people to work overtime. Now the computer age demands that you be available around the clock. There is constant pressure to keep going without stopping. You need to rediscover a Sabbath rest.

al_f_workinggirl.jpg

Sabbath is a time to rest and be with God, to enjoy the delights of being human. Rest, play, and enjoy being instead of doing. Rest from your labors and find renewal for your spirit.

Note: I am mentally & physically exhausted and I need a rest. I must remember that I am a human being, not a human doing. I must remember to set aside regular time each week for rest, recreation, and prayer.

Painting: This is one of my fave black & white paintings, ”Working Girl” by Aldo Luongo. It portrays what I felt like after each working day during the past few weeks.

11 Responses to “Finding Rest in a Weary World”

  1. lx Says:

    Women in knee high skirt and shirt with heels and hair tied up always look all so sexy ;-p
    Rest well, sweets … enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    Hehe.. if only I do feel sexy instead of exhaustion. 😉
    Thanks, Lx. I slept almost the whole day.

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    Ah yes, always remember to rest and play
    I worked around the clock for days before
    I know how it feels
    Now just rest easy…
    Hope you will have a good rest to ease your exhaustion
    Hugs

    I’ve done a 24hr stint before, too. It’s really crazy. 😦
    I did catch up on my much-needed sleep today. Thanks & HUGS!

  3. Sha Says:

    *hugs* have a good rest, you deserve it 🙂

    Thanks for being so understanding, Sha. 😀

  4. jhay Says:

    You’re not alone. I’ve been so busy this past week and ever had time to get enough sleep and rest let alone update my blog.
    Rest well, for we all deserve it! 😀

    Welcome, Jhay. 🙂
    Indeed we do. 😀

  5. Kyels Says:

    I hope you’d feel better soon. Do rest well, okay?
    (:
    *hugs*

    Thanks & HUGS, Kyels. 😀

  6. LM Says:

    But the problem is, I don’t just wana rest on 1 day! I want the whole week! 😛

    Don’t we all? But, the problem is – it’s just not possible unless I wanna be unemployed. 😦


  7. ‘You need to rediscover a Sabbath rest.’
    I don’t have time to rediscover things! I have work to do! 🙂
    work work work!
    bork bork bork! 🙂

    Work! Work! Work! That’s what I’ll be chanting tomorrow, too. 😉

  8. Lex Says:

    Ahh we have more and more in common… hugs dear.. you deserve every minute of rest… and when are we starbucking?

    You also deserve lots of rest, Lex. HUGS! 🙂
    When I can manage to get a weekend free from work – which is very soon I hope.

  9. Lex Says:

    YAY!!!! me is very happy *dances off like a madman*

    Hahaha… 😆

  10. moz monster Says:

    Chill out … take it easy … rest is required all the time. Just listen to your body – it will protest when put thru too much …

    Wise advice, Moz. 😀
    Thanks & HUGS!

  11. mayelis Says:

    I like christmas because we ave a lot of christas gifts


Leave a Reply

