Breast Cancer Awareness Month

October 1, 2006

 oct1_jk1.gif

Jemima’s Journal will be supporting this very important campaign for the whole month of October.

You will find little reminders with each post even though the posts may not be related to the much dreaded disease.

It has been reported that one in nine women will develop breast cancer. More than 42,000 cases are diagnosed each year, mostly in women over 50.

As actress Nicole Kidman said in London on Friday, 29th September when she launched a breast cancer awareness campaign,  her mother’s cancer had affected her “in a way I will never forget and it has certainly made me someone who wants to help eradicate this disease”.

oct1a_jk.gif

To all the Guys, please share this valuable information with all the beloved women in your life – mums, aunts, wives, girlfriends, female colleagues, anyone and everyone.

Note: I lost a beloved aunt to breast cancer.

To find out more about breast cancer visit –

Cancer Research UK here

Breast Cancer Care here

Cancerbackup here

Macmillan Cancer Support here

10 Responses to “Breast Cancer Awareness Month”

  1. Kyels Says:

    We all should support this awareness; be it guys or girls.
    (:
    It’s for a good cause!

    That’s right, my friend. 😀

  2. azhan Says:

    i do support this as my aunt passed away last december, while i was in Egypt. I’m with you for this campaign! =)

    Thanks, Azhan. 🙂

  3. zeroimpact Says:

    I support this act too
    It’s to educate and to ensure we are all aware
    We should all help in any way we can
    🙂

    Ditto, my friend. 🙂

  4. Sha Says:

    Thanks for showcasing this important issue on ur blog.. What do I do to join in? 🙂

    Maybe you can post on how this awareness is being promoted in Singapore. Hence, your Singaporean readers & their family members & friends will be more informed. 😀

    Othewise, you can create something with your beadwork in the shape of the pink ribbon & then you can wear it around until the end of Oct. 😀
    But, don’t forget to post photos of your creation(s). 😉

    Btw, I read something about this issue in Media Corp News yesterday on http://www.channelnewsasia.com/. 🙂


  5. I’ve alreayd check my big man boobs … looks like I have no lumps. So, any one else want me to check them?
    What? You want to slap my face? OMGoodness, what did I say? 🙂

    Sha – you can buy some products of companies supportin Breast Cancer research.
    In Australia, I know there are PINK Tim Tams and Mount Franklin water [which is owned by Coke] is also raising money [with pink bottle caps on their bottles]. 🙂
    My mother bought Pink Tim Tams … but alas, they’re gone. I’ve just gone through six bottles of Mount Franklin with the pink bottle caps!
    Plus, you can donate directly to the Breast Cancer Foundation if you chose to.

    Haha.. 😆
    Btw, thanks for sharing the valuable info, Dab. 😀

  6. Gallivanter Says:

    Count me in as well. My mom had a small lump removed early last year, stage 1. It was a tough experience for my family.

    I’ve another aunty who had a lump removed a few years ago. I know exactly how it feels, Dan but we have to be strong & give them our love, care, understanding & moral support.
    HUGS!

  7. moz monster Says:

    I have friends who have, at very young age, being diagnosed with breast cancer. So, I totally appreciate your campaign, and in my own little ways, I’ll be supporting it !!!

    That will be great, Moz. Thanks & HUGS! 😀

  8. Che-Cheh Says:

    Yeah the no.1 killer disease.
    I’ll be doing my regular checkup and of course supporting breast cancer month.

    I’ve just had mine done 10 days ago.
    Thanks for your support. HUGS! 😀

  9. nyonyapenang Says:

    my support too.
    just had my mammo last month.

    Thanks & Hugs, Kak Nyonya. 😀


  10. […] Twelve months ago, Jemima’s Journal supported Breast Cancer Awareness Month. […]


Leave a Reply

