Expand your Vocabulary

October 9, 2006

breastcancer.jpg Instead of watching DVDs, my friends and I opted to play Scrabble last Saturday night. It has been a while since we played any board games and it was fun.

Words can open our minds. New words and unfamiliar concepts can expand the way we perceive the world. An unfamiliar word can add a new dimension to our thinking.

bcancer3.gif

 When we expand our vocabulary, we give our minds something to think about and our souls something to chew on. One delightful way to discover new words is to explore untranslatable words from other languages.

For instance, the Japanese word shibui speaks of the kind of beauty only time can reveal. It is a reminder of the beauty of an aged face, a much-needed concept in a society that worships youthful perfection.

52716562_4686f5f23e_m.jpg

“They Have A Word For It: A Lighthearted Lexicon of Untranslatable Words and Phrases” by Howard Rheingold offers a fun introduction to unfamiliar words.

Have a Great Week, my Friends!

13 Responses to “Expand your Vocabulary”

  1. Che-Cheh Says:

    Ahh I’m very good at board games like snakes and ladders, othello, Monopoly, etc
    hahahaha

    I love Monopoly, too. 🙂

    Have a great week too.

    Same to you, Che-Cheh. 😀

  2. LM Says:

    scrabbles? oh dear…zzzZ LOL!

    What about Boggle? No? I guess you prefer to play Mahjong. 😆

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    I love scrabble. When I was in Korea, my best friend and I played scrabble almost everyday! It was fun! 🙂

    Yes, it’s a great game to improve our vocabulary. 😀

  4. moz monster Says:

    I used to read dictionaries to get to sleep. Not anymore … =)

    Hahaha.. So, what do you read these days? 🙂

  5. azhan Says:

    scrabbles is fun!

    It is. 😀

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    can someone teach me how to play ‘cheki’?

    Sorry not me. Please inform Kak Nyonya on her blog if YOU can help. 🙂

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    I love the game
    I love games…
    Have a great week ahead and take care
    🙂

    You, too my friend. Thanks & HUGS! 🙂


  8. I played Scrabble against my mother and yongest brother on the weekend too.

    We normally play a few games of it, but this weekend we only played one game.

    My brother was over 50 points ahead towards the end, and everyone thought he’d won. But, two rounds later, I ran out of letters, finished the game, and after adding and subtracting the letters left in my mother’s and brother’s hand, I won by five points. 🙂

    Lucky you. 🙂

    I think they hate playing against me. I always seem to be able to hit the 200 mark easily. 🙂

    I doubt it. I’m sure they learn a few new words every time they play with you. 😉

  9. Gab Says:

    scrabble? the last i played was during F2.
    and that was ages ago.
    teach me hw to play scrabbles ya…:P

    Wah! That’s ancient history. Sure, no problem, we’ll have a game one day, Gab. 😀

  10. merv Says:

    Scrabble! I love that gme but suck at it because my vocab is sooo limited. I admit, I don’t really bother expanding it 😛

    I think most of us has very limited vocab but we can only try & improve ourselves. Playing Scrabble is just one way of doing that. 😀

  11. Ness Says:

    When Hardy and I were co-habitting last year, we use to play it every night.

    Its quite civil and very educational.

    He uses Filipino words and I use Bruneian words.

    Told ya its very educational. LOL.

    That sounds interesting even though this is the first time I heard of a bilingual Scrabble game other than in English. By the way, who won? 😉

  12. Ness Says:

    Neither actually because we would dispute that his words are not real and my words are not real. LOL.

    We do it for laughs and make up words along the way. On the times that we actually play scrabble in English, either one cheats by checking the online scrabble helper when the other goes away to get a snack or use the loo.

    I think we pretty much make up our own rules. LOL.

    Well, the main thing is that both of you have lots of fun. 😀

  13. Kyels Says:

    I think I need to expand my Vocab too. Lol!

    LOL 😆


Leave a Reply

