Pay As You Go

October 12, 2006

 bcribbon.jpg  I was reading the May 2003 Edition of Reader’s Digest which had an article entitled “Win Your War Against Debt.” In the middle of the article, there was a two-page advertisement for a popular anti-depressant! The irony of the placement of this ad may have not been intentional, but it conveyed a truth – debt can be depressing. Almost nothing zaps your hope like a stack of unpaid bills marked “past due”.

pinkribbonbags.jpg

Some debt is unavoidable, but most indebtedness is self-inflicted. And if you get in too deep, paying off the debt can seem hopeless. A pay-as-you-go policy is the best way to get out of debt. And the joy of a debt-free life cannot be calculated.

Happiness Cannot Be Purchased!

Note: Like Che-Cheh, I’m also debt-free. 😀

12 Responses to “Pay As You Go”

  1. moz monster Says:

    I’m so jealous of you. Unlike you, I have a car and a house to pay for, so I won’t be debt free for a while yet.

    Don’t be jealous, my friend. I’m sure this debt-free feeling won’t last long. I’m thinking of a future ‘investment’ soon. 😉

  2. Che-Cheh Says:

    Wohoooooo! Come now…who wanna join our “Debt-free’ team?

    Haha! It’s a great feeling, isn’t it? 😀

  3. ian Says:

    While monetary debts bring depression, I wonder what the debts in the form of favours bring… Mere gratitude and sometimes even shame when we fail to reciprocate?

    IMHO, we should try to be under obligation to no one – the only obligation we should have is to love one another. 🙂

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    Most debts are unavoidable, like home loans and car loans. Self-incurred debts (credit cards) on the other hand…… 😛

    We should try our best to refrain from using credit cards when we go shopping. 😉

  5. Sha Says:

    I’m debt-free too.. Well, I have a credit card but I hardly use it – and I hate borrowing from pple.

    Welcome to the “Debt-Free” team, Sha. 🙂

    I would not borrow from ppl, too. If I really want something, I’ll save up until I have enough to buy it. 😀

  6. LM Says:

    I want to be the sultan! go buy house, car just use cash! 🙂

    I want you to be the sultan, too. Then, you’ll be able to shower me with lavish gifts. *just kidding* 😆

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    I am always in debt…
    In debt with all my friends such as you
    I am indebted for your just being here for me
    Indebted for your just sharing your words and thoughts
    Indebted for your just being you…
    I’m in so much debt I doubt I can repay all of them
    🙂
    But I do try each day to do so in the best manner I can
    And happiness cannot be bought definitely… it is indebted…

    I’m as much indebted to you, my dear friend. Let’s cancel our debts for each other & both of us will be deliriously happy. 😀

    HUGS!

  8. Kyels Says:

    Happiness definitely cannot be purchased. If one can purchase it, then there’s no more meaning to happiness.

    Well said, Kyels. HUGS! 😀


  9. All debt is avoidable. Just never ever buy anything you can’t afford, and never buy anything you don’t need, unless you have some money you don’t need. 🙂

    Good advice, my friend, but I wish I do have some money that I don’t need. 😉

  10. Lex Says:

    Cis… I was reminded of my old shopping spree… probably the only one I had bleh. I think I’m a man Jem. Seriously…

    Oii! I know of some men who shops more than women. 😆

  11. azhan Says:

    even for a school kid, i have debt :s and i’m really bad in handling my money.. sigh

    Oh dear! You better start learning to spend within your budget.

    As Dabido said “.. Just never ever buy anything you can’t afford, and never buy anything you don’t need..”

    Good Luck, Azhan. 😉

  12. Lex Says:

    Is by any chance his name is same as my socio lecturer? LMAO!!!!!

    LOL. That’s for you to find out. 😆


Leave a Reply

