Give & Receive More Hugs

October 13, 2006

76985554_3381breastcancerlogo_3381.jpg  Two nights ago, Keropok asked me if I wanted a hug. I told him that I want plenty of HUGS. After all, a hug is a gourmet meal.

Hugs are powerful – they can take the hurt out of a child’s scraped knee, heal a long-standing alienation, soothe a troubled soul, comfort the grieving heart, and put a smile on the face of almost any person who gives or receives one.

382082.jpg

Hugs are an expression of love without words. They speak for themselves, saying, “I care,” “I accept you,” “I value you,” “I’ve missed you,” “I like to be with you,” “I’m here for you.”

hugscure.jpg

Hugs are necessary for emotional growth and well being. In fact, some researchers have concluded that children need as many hugs a day as they need glasses of milk. And marriage counsellors often prescribe that spouses should hug at least twice a day.

hugs_c.jpg

Whom do you plan to hug today?

17 Responses to “Give & Receive More Hugs”

  1. Ness Says:

    My bestfriend and I have this term for ‘big hugs’: BUGS. LOL.

    She made it up because she’s lazy to type those two words on MSN everytime she has to dash suddenly.

    From me to you, LOTS OF BUGS, Jemima!!!

    Its big hugs, not those creepy crawlies okay? LOL.

    LOL. Your best friend is very creative. 😉

    Thanks very much, Ness. I’ve LOTS OF BUGS for you, too. 😀

  2. Lil Says:

    i love hugs and i give hugs, it’s the right way to go! and i think i get pretty good ration of hugs on regular basis from my friends, so it’s all good… 🙂

    Same here, Lil. 🙂

    HUGS for you. 😀

  3. Che-Cheh Says:

    In real life, I think the only living ‘being’ that I often hug is my dog. LOL

    LOL. I would hug Chester everyday without fail, if he’s my dog. 🙂

    Come now Jem, I’ll give you a ‘doggy hug’ hehehe

    Thanks, Che-Cheh. *HUGS back* 😀

  4. moz monster Says:

    Here’s one for you:-

    HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUG !!!!

    And that’s how you do a hug !!!

    Thanks, Moz. 😀

    HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGSSSSSS  for you, too !!!! 😆

  5. Gallivanter Says:

    Can one hug oneself? LOL!

    Of course, one can hug oneself. I do that all the time at yoga. 😀

    Here’s a weekend hug from me to you – *HUGS*. Now that’ll be RM6,666. Contact me for the bank details.

    Oii! I’m supposed to be debt-free la. 😆

    Thanks very much for your HUGS, Dan.

    HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGSSSSSS for you, too !!!! 😀

  6. zeroimpact Says:

    My hugs are for you to claim
    😛
    Hhmmmmm
    I think I want to hug the world today
    Everyone, anyone, including you
    🙂

    I’ll definitely claim it. Just make sure it’s a big, nice & warm HUG! 😉

    Thanks & HUGS for you, my dearest friend. 😀

  7. Vern Says:

    i’ve been deprived of hugs lately! 😦 Miss my family and friends back home.

    Poor Vern! I know exactly how you feel. 😦

    i think i’ll go hug my bolster now…

    Here’s some HUGS just for you. You’re always welcome to come back for more. 😉

  8. Lex Says:

    I hug you 🙂

    Thanks, Lex. My HUGS for you, too. 😀

  9. luxferi Says:

    Hugs.
    Bugs.
    Huggies.

    A lovely word by many names. I love hugs too – Malaysians should hug more. *hugs you*

    It’s not just a lovely word but the lovely warm caring feeling that makes me love hugs. 🙂

    Here’s my HUGS for you, too. 😀

  10. Ashish C. Says:

    It’s also called Jadoo ki Zhappi (which is inturn got from the hindi flick Munnabhai MBBS). Personally I love to HUG people (although people are afraid of it.)

    Hey! Thanks for teaching me to say “Jadoo ki Zhappi”.

    LOL. Are you sure that they are afraid of hugs & not you? 😆

    Incidentally it can be a source of pain to like a bear HUG. (Another of my favourites for obvious reasons!)

    LOL. Now you’re giving me the impression that you’re a sadist. 😆

    Anyway I prefer good ole food as a sense of affection. 😀 I think it’s in the system…..

    Well, food you shall have. *Serves food* 😉

  11. Sha Says:

    *BIG HUG*

    Hugs are the best! 😉

    I’m glad you like them,too.

    My HUGS for you, Sha. 😀

  12. azhan Says:

    jemima, HUGS 😉

    My HUGS for you, too, Azhan. 😀

    poor Vern, HUGS to Vern as well.. 🙂

    GROUP HUGS! 😀

    YAY! GROUP HUGS! 😀

  13. merv Says:

    I would give out more hugs but nobody I know wants one from me anyway. So oh well haha.. =P

    I do want them. 😉

    My HUGS for you, Merv. 😀

  14. Fashionasia Says:

    plenty of hugs frm me to go around!!
    common…group hug?!!!
    *HUGSSS*

    YAY! More GROUP HUGS!!!

    Thanks, Fashionasia. Here’s a special HUG just for you. 😀

  15. endroo G Says:

    how i longed for a hug… from that person. Yeah… that person.

    Ohhh! Poor Endroo! You mean that person along the long & winding road?

    My HUGS for you, my friend. 😀

  16. Kyels Says:

    HUGS!

    Thanks & HUGS for you, too. 😀


  17. […] Last Friday, Gallivanter asked me: “Can one hug oneself?“. My answer was YES. I told him that I hug myself all the time at yoga. […]


Leave a Reply

