The Crab & His Mother

October 18, 2006

cafebreast.jpg

I got this little story in my email yesterday.

A mother crab and her son went scurrying over the sand. The mother chastised her child: “Stop walking sideways! It’s much more becoming to stroll straightforward.”

breast-cancer-ribbon-m.jpg

And the young crab replied: “I will, Mother dear, just as soon as I see how. Show me the straight way, and I’ll walk in it behind you.”

Words are important, but there is nothing like the power of example.

10 Responses to “The Crab & His Mother”

  1. lx Says:

    funny … if we look at it, we’ll realise there’s a bit of irony to this.

    Everyone has a reason why they can’t do things but wouldn’t the world become a better place if we could just start “paying forward”? πŸ˜‰

    Interesting. I supposedΒ others will interpret it differently. Anyway, we shall see.. πŸ˜‰

    Btw, it’s good to have you back. HUGS! πŸ˜€

  2. Kyels Says:

    Yes, the power of example. We all need examples sometimes so that we could follow them and make sure we’re doing good.

    (:

    Yes, we hope to follow our parents, teachers, bosses, friends.. for the better. πŸ™‚

  3. tihtahpah Says:

    This is kinda funny, kept imagining a little crab talking to the mother crab.

    Hahaha.. this story would be great in animation. πŸ˜‰

    It’s a case of the apple doesnt fall far from the tree.

    That’s true. πŸ™‚

  4. zeroimpact Says:

    Examples are the best…
    We all learn with example and anything beyond that would be at a slower pace
    I guess we should all try to change and it shall be the examples for the younger generation to learn
    You are one example that I’d like to learn from

    Me??? Seriously, I don’t think I’ll beΒ a good example for anyone.

    But, thanks for the compliments. πŸ™‚

  5. Gallivanter Says:

    Yes, and if all advises come with examples, the world would be a better place, because there aren’t many people who practice what they preach. πŸ˜‰

    That goes without saying, Dan. πŸ˜‰

  6. Ashish C. Says:

    Words are important, but there is nothing like the power of example.

    Thats an important point. Very important. Like for instance you don’t show a kid by telling him how to east an ice-cream, you set the example by eating it yourself! πŸ˜€

    Haha.. Honestly, I would share it with him. πŸ˜‰

  7. ian Says:

    I used to make sure that I am not contadicting myself when I preach to others. But somehow along the way I began to forget how I fare as an example and ended up getting ‘yeah, speak for yourself’ from others…

    Well, it’s not easy to be a good example. But, somehow I think you have proved yourself to be one by achieving the highest cumulative GPA inΒ your degree & obtaining that big fat cheque. πŸ˜‰

    Good examples are a rarity nowadays…

    I agree..

  8. Vern Says:

    As they say…”Talk the talk, and walk the walk..”

    This is getting really scarce amongst us people nowadays – even the leaders of developed countries. They’ll be promoting world peace on one side and developing weapons of mass destuction on the other. Bah!

    That’s so true. 😦

  9. Vern Says:

    By the way, may I link you to my site? πŸ™‚

    Of course, you may, Vern.

    I’ll link you to mine, too. πŸ˜€

  10. Ness Says:

    “Bagaikan ketam mengajar anaknya berjalan betul”

    Or something like that. My malay is rusty.

    So is mine. πŸ˜‰

    This story reminded me of a friend back in secondary school. We had a class picture taken one morning and she stood up and yell “Okay EVERYONE, do NOT lean your head on one side because it looks ugly”

    Right.

    Picture got developed and guess who leaned on one side?

    Clue: it wasn’t me.

    Hahaha.. Mak Ketam. πŸ˜†


Leave a Reply

