The Colour of Friendship

October 19, 2006

deepavali.jpg

Once upon a time the colours of the world started to quarrel. All claimed that they were the best. The most important. The most useful. The favourite.

Green said: “Clearly I am the most important. I am the sign of life and of hope. I was chosen for grass, trees and leaves. Without me, all animals would die. Look over the countryside and you will see that I am in the majority.”

breast-cancer-400.jpg

Blue interrupted: “You only think about the earth, but consider the sky and the sea. It is the water that is the basis of life and drawn up by the clouds from the deep sea. The sky gives space and peace and serenity. Without my peace, you would all be nothing.”

bcpin.gif

Yellow chuckled: “You are all so serious. I bring laughter, gaiety, and warmth into the world. The sun is yellow, the moon is yellow, the stars are yellow. Every time you look at a sunflower, the whole world starts to smile. Without me there would be no fun.

firstcut.jpg

Orange started next to blow her trumpet: “I am the colour of health and strength. I may be scarce, but I am precious for I serve the needs of human life. I carry the most important vitamins. Think of carrots, pumpkins, oranges, mangoes, and papayas. I don’t hang around all the time, but when I fill the sky at sunrise or sunset, my beauty is so striking that no one gives another thought to any of you.”

breast_cancer_awareness_month.jpg

Red could stand it no longer and shouted out: “I am the ruler of all of you. I am blood – life’s blood! I am the colour of danger and of bravery. I am willing to fight for a cause. I bring fire into the blood. Without me, the earth would be as empty as the moon. I am the colour of passion and of love, the red rose, the poinsettia and the poppy.”

breastcancerak.jpg

Purple rose up to his full height: He was very tall and spoke with great pomp: “I am the colour of royalty and power. Kings, chiefs and bishops have always chosen me for I am the sign of authority and wisdom. People do not question me! They listen and obey.”

breast_cancer.jpg

Finally Indigo spoke, much more quietly than all the others, but with just as much determination: “Think of me. I am the colour of silence. You hardly notice me, but without me you all become superficial. I represent thought and reflection, twilight and deep water. You need me for balance and contrast, for prayer and inner peace.”

breast2.gif

And so all the colours went on boasting, each convinced of his or her own superiority. Their quarrelling became louder and louder. Suddenly there was a startling flash of bright lightning and thunder rolled and boomed. Rain started to pour down relentlessly. The colours crouched down in fear, drawing close to one another for comfort.

bcpin21.jpg

In the midst of the clamour, the rain began to speak: “You foolish colours, fighting amongst yourselves, each trying to dominate the rest. Don’t you know that you were each made for a special purpose, unique and different? Join hands with one another and come to me.”

Doing as they were told, the colours united and joined hands.

awareness_bracelet_cancer.jpg

The rain continued: “From now on, when it rains, each of you will stretch across the sky in a great bow of colour as a reminder that you can all live in peace. The rainbow is a sign of hope for tomorrow.”

dsp_swarovski_breast_cancer_angel_pin.jpg

And so, whenever a good rain washes the world, and a rainbow appears in the sky, let us remember to appreciate one another.

hariraya.gif

Please find time to read “Learning from differences” in Musings with Marina Mahathir (Published in Star Two, dated 18 October 2006)

You will be able to read it at a later date on http://musingwithmarinamahathir.blogspot.com/

Note: I thought it is most apt for me to share with everyone  this story about love in humanity for the double festive and joyous celebration. It was emailed to me by a very good friend. I do not know the actual source of the story.

25 Responses to “The Colour of Friendship”

  1. Kyels Says:

    Great post. Well, friendship certain does add colors into our lives.

    (:

    Thanks for your friendship, Kyels. You’ve definitely added colours into my life. 😀

  2. Gallivanter Says:

    One day, RED shall dominate the earth! 🙂

    Haha.. You wish! 😉

  3. zeroimpact Says:

    Yes
    Let us unite as the rainbow and bring unity to all
    The rainbow is beautiful
    Let us rejoice in this seasonal holiday
    Have a great celebration and holidays
    🙂

    Thanks & HUGS, my friend. 😀

  4. Vern Says:

    I love this post! If only everyone else could think that way…if they could just settle on their differences and use it to everyone’s advantage.. Now wouldn’t that be nice?

    Of course, it would. But, the truth is the world today is torn by so much strife and suffering. 😦

    I’m glad you love the post. HUGS! 😉

  5. Ness Says:

    During my pre-school time donkey years ago, we had an end of year concert where I was one of the rainbow girls and a fairy (not at the same time of course!)

    As a fairy, I brought everything to life after the rain (in the concert 😀 ) and your post remind me of that. 🙂

    Sweet childhood memories. Thanks Jemima 🙂 I am in need of a boost up job. *HUGS*

    I’m so glad to know that you’re able to relive & share with us your sweet childhood memories from this post.

    Raya’s just a few days away. I hope you’ll feel better by then.

    Take care & HUGS! 😀


  6. I once had a friend techni-colour vomit on me. I now realise it was the the barf of friendship! 🙂

    Hahaha.. That’s funny. 😆

    Btw, welcome back. I miss your funny comments. 😀

  7. Ashish C. Says:

    From now on, when it rains, each of you will stretch across the sky in a great bow of colour as a reminder that you can all live in peace. The rainbow is a sign of hope for tomorrow.”

    And they told me rainbows were formed because I was good that day. Bah!

    There are rainbows everyday. It’s up to you to find them. 😉

    My favourite colors red with green a distant second.
    How do colors play holi?
    Throwing colors at each other! *snigger*

    *Throws colours back*  😆

  8. Ashish C. Says:

    Oh and yeah Happy Diwali to yeh too! Didn’t see the graphic at first since it was still loading! 🙂

    No problem. I hope you’ll have a great celebration. 😀

  9. merv Says:

    Speaking of rainbows, haven’t seen one in ages… Stoopid haze =(

    Hence, we’ll appreciate the first rainbow that can be seen after the haze – even more. 😉

    But yea, will appreciate me mates more hehe

    Hehe.. I’m sure they have always been appreciated. 😀

  10. Che-Cheh Says:

    This is a nice post. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    I’m glad you like it, too. Thanks & HUGS, my dearest friend. 😀

  11. Ashish C. Says:

    No problem. I hope you’ll have a great celebration. 😀

    Thank you. I generally don’t do the firework thingy since I’m afraid of them. But I’ll have a great Diwali time since it’s like Christmas for us.:-)

    Btw, You’ve been Tagged! (Make sure the title resembles a movie!)

    Sorry Ashish, I’d have to untag myself. It’s nothing personal – I’ve just returned from a 10-day break. Lots of work awaits me now. 😦

  12. LM Says:

    rainbows, mountains, sunshine and mist.

    That is what I’ll live for.

    Me, too. Btw, welcome back. 🙂

    I miss your comments when you were away. 😦

  13. Ashish C. Says:

    No problemo! 🙂 You can do it at your pleasure! 🙂

    I’m not going to promise you. Hope you understand & please accept my apologies. 😉

    Thanks & HUGS!

  14. moz monster Says:

    Ah … the rainbow … I still feel that white is the color of friendship … after all … that’s what the rainbow is, right? A combination of ’em all rainbow colors.

    That’s right. 😀

    Thanks & HUGS!

  15. Lex Says:

    Dan: Sadly, the other two sh*tty teams are also in red.. so, you still want the red or the yellow? hehhe

    Hey, have a good holiday season! Cheers!

    Thanks & HUGS, Lex. 😀

  16. Sha Says:

    I’ve read this story before – a simple story with such a strong msg 🙂

    Thanks & HUGS, Sha. 🙂

  17. azhan Says:

    Happy holiday!

    Selamat Hari Raya, Azhan. 🙂

  18. luxferi Says:

    I love that… this is the first time I saw this little story. 🙂 Happy Deepavali and Selamat Hari Raya, Jem! *winks*

    I’m glad to know that you love the story. 😀

    I hope you had a great holiday, too. 😉

  19. bodicea Says:

    Nice. I feel that the story should mention the colour White too.

    White = 7 colours of the rainbow

    Maybe the writer chose to refer the unification of all the colours as a rainbow – rather than just mentioning white. That’s just my 2 sens. 😉

    Thanks & HUGS!

  20. Keropok Says:

    Hey there, thanks for stopping by. I like purple best, personally…

    Wow! I don’t think I know any men who likes purple. 😉

    Hope you had a good Deepa-Raya. Pack in the pounds, pack in the pounds… watch us pack in the pounds!!!

    LOL. I had a great soul vacation. 😀

    Btw, Rooney’s hat-trick was fantastic. 😉

  21. Lex Says:

    where art thoy oh Jemima? When you coming back ahh?

    Here I am. 😆

  22. endroo G Says:

    Happy Deepavali !!!! Selamat Hari Raya !!!!!

    Sama-sama. 😀

    No internet connection for the past 1 week. !@#$%&$

    Hehe.. I hardly went on-line. I was having a much-needed “ME”- time. 😉 


  23. […] credit: Jemima’s Journal Tags: […]


  24. […] gambar ini dipinjem dari Jemima’s Journal […]

  25. Melissa Says:

    What a great story about uniting together
    may a rainbow shine in your life forever

    Welcome, Melissa. 🙂

    I’m glad you like the story & thank you for your well-wishes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

