Curl Up with a Good Book

October 31, 2006

 support_pinkribbon.gif 

Curling up with a good book is a favourite past time ever since my childhood.

cg_f_sonnets.jpg

Reading stretches our soul by offering new ideas and experiences. Having acres of time to immerse ourselves in a rousing adventure story or hours to indulge in a passion for understanding a favourite subject creates a mini-vacation in a busy life.

alfstorylight.jpg

We don’t have to wait for a vacation to have time for a good book. Even if we only have a half-hour, we can still savor a taste of the luxury of getting lost in a good book. 

sweetheartpinkchair.jpg

 Everywhere I have sought rest and not found it, except sitting in comfortable armchair with a book.

Top Painting: “Sonnets” by Carrie Graber

Bottom Painting: ”Story Light” by Aldo Luongo.  

11 Responses to “Curl Up with a Good Book”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    The Imaginations that goes wild when having a book is intense and satisfying…
    I remember holding a book and reading it non stop for days, ignoring even sleep
    🙂

    Yep, I did that before, too. Hehe.. 😉

    Have a good week ahead of you… and take care even with the work load…

    Thanks & HUGS, my friend. 😀

  2. Lil Says:

    i always allow at least 30 minutes before bed for some quality time with my book du jour, more if i can’t put it down because it’s so good!

    I know the exact feeling, Lil.  😀

    HUGS!

  3. azhan Says:

    oh books! any nice titles to suggest? i’m sort of beginner in reading novels. somehow i’m attracted to chic lit because its fun unlike the ordinary fiction. weird isn’t it?

    Nope, that’s not weird. I know of some guys who reads more chic lit than I do. Hehe.. 😉

    Nice titles? Can’t think of any new ones right now. I’ve been re-reading my old English Literature books. Currently reading “Persuasion” by Jane Austen.

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    I can speak of my own benchmark for gauging how good a book is. How intense was the impetus did it produce? Was it written merely to galvanize? Only to make moolah? Or was it written to inspire?

    Hey Dan, I think you’ll write a good book review. 😀

    Still on the lookout for a good book, damn that Dan Brown for heightening my standards! LOL!

    Haha.. 😆

  5. Che-Cheh Says:

    Ahh yes books are my best friends. :))

    They’re great companions. 😉

    Btw, how are you enjoying “PS. I love you”?

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    have not been reading for a while already. must, must, must get back to it. 😉

    Yep, reading is a great past-time, Kak. 😀

  7. moz monster Says:

    I only wish I have the time to read a book from cover to cover, like the good old days …

    Hey! 30 minutes of reading a day can be very fruitful. That’s how much time I set aside to read – regardless of how busy I am. 😉

  8. merv Says:

    Ahh… Books, can’t live without them! Best ever invention humans have created next to toilet paper hehe

    Haha.. I never thought anyone would make such a comparison. 😆

  9. Fashionasia Says:

    hope you had good rest and enjoy your 10 days holiday!!!
    welcome back girl!

    I did have a good rest. Thanks & HUGS, FA. 😀

  10. Vern Says:

    Reading opens the door to another world. A world of fantasies, of truth, or anything you want it to be. The perfect escape? A book. 🙂

    Well said, Vern. 😀

  11. Kyels Says:

    I love reading and once I start reading, I will not be able to stop!

    Hehe!

    XD

    Now, that’s a real bookworm! Hehe.. 😆


Leave a Reply

