Elegance

December 20, 2006

 pc120028.jpg

On the eve of my departure from Melbourne, I came home from my final shopping to find “The Audrey Hepburn Collection” Boxset in my bedroom.

Yippee! It’s my very first Christmas present for 2006.

pc120031.jpg

The boxset contains 5 DVDs, a compact mirror & 5 collectable Audrey Hepburn postcards.

pc120037.jpg

The 5 DVD movies are: “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, “Paris when it Sizzles”, “Funny Face”, “Sabrina” and my favourite “Roman Holiday”.

The elegant Audrey Hepburn has always been one of my favourite actress ever since I was still a student in Melbourne where I used to watch the re-runs of her movies on television.

Audrey Hepburn read the following poem by Sam Levenson to her sons, Sean & Luca on Christmas Eve 1992. Since it is Christmas, I thought that it is most appropriate for me to share this beautiful poem with all of you.

For attractive lips, speak words of kindness. 
For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people. 
For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry. 
For beautiful hair, let a child run his fingers through it once a day. 
For poise, walk with the knowledge you’ll never walk alone …

People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed and redeemed and redeemed and redeemed. Never throw out anybody. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you’ll find one at the end of your arm. As you grow older you will discover that you have two hands. One for helping yourself, the other for helping others.

merrychristmas.jpg

16 Responses to “Elegance”

  1. Joycelyn Says:

    wow,it looks so nice from outside to inside too.Hope your enjoy your movie:)

    Hi Joycelyn,
    I hope you’re feeling much better. 🙂

    It is very nice.
    I will enjoy the whole collection.

    Thanks & HUGS! 😀

  2. moz monster Says:

    It’s such a lovely gift !!!! I’m so jealous …

    *hugs*

    Aiyoh! Please don’t feel that way… 😉

    HUGS! 🙂

  3. ian Says:

    It’s very nice indeed… Good on you!

    I’m glad you think so. 😉

    HUGS! 😀

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    Have yourself a merry little Christmas… 🙂

    Have a Blessed Christmas, Dan. 🙂

    HUGS!

  5. Lil Says:

    oh pity there’s no “charade” in the box but the selection is still great – have lots of fun watching them and wishing you a wonderful christmas ahead! 🙂

    Hehe.. we all have our fave Audrey Hepburn’s movies. I’m very glad that mine is in the boxset.

    Have a Blessed Christmas, Lil.

    HUGS! 🙂

  6. Sha Says:

    That’s a beautiful poem.. Enjoy ur boxset! *hugs* christmas season is really in the air 🙂

    Indeed it is. 🙂
    Merry Christmas, Sha.

    HUGS!

  7. meekiee Says:

    🙂 Have a blessed Christmas. May our Lord’s face continue to shine on you and shower you with His abundant blessings! *HUGS*

    Thanks so much for your Christmas blessings, Meekiee.

    HUGS! 🙂

  8. merv Says:

    Eh, that’s a real pretty boxset. Much better than the Lord of the Rings one hahah

    Haha.. Would you like to watch the movies with me? 😉

  9. Lex Says:

    OMG! I loved Breakfast at Tiffanys… Enjoy woman… Ms. Hepburn definitely reminds me of all thing elegant. Wasnt she?

    Have a good Christmas! hugs

    She definitely represents all things elegant.

    Happy Christmas, Lex. 🙂

    HUGS!

  10. Che-Cheh Says:

    It’s a lovely gift.

    *pssst who gave you that special present ar?

    Merry Christmas Jem!
    *hugs always

    Haha.. that’s for me to know. 😉

    Happy Christmas, Che-Cheh.

    HUGS! 🙂

  11. kenJJ Says:

    Merry Christmas, Jemima. And I must say that you got a lovely present there.

    P.S. I’m also a fan of Audrey Hepburn too. 😉

    Welcome KenJJ. 🙂
    Yes, I’m very lucky to get such a lovely pressie.
    Glad to know another Audrey Hepburn’s fan.

    Have a Blessed Christmas! 🙂

  12. LM Says:

    breakfast at Tiffany’s.

    beautiful poem.

    Merry Christmas Jemima!

    It is a very beautiful poem. You can listen to Gregory Peck reciting it on Audrey’s website.

    Have a Blessed Christmas, LM!

    HUGS! 🙂

  13. azhan Says:

    ohmigawd i want one too! how much? i want to order now!

    Can’t help you with the info u asked. It’s a Christmas pressie from Melbourne.

  14. lx Says:

    And you said sparks didn’t fly … LOL Always loved Audrey Hepburn!

    Huh? What are you talking about? *blurrrr..*

    Yippee! Now I know another Audrey’s fan. 🙂

  15. angel Says:

    OMG!!! This is soooooooo cool!!!
    And I’m straining my eyes to see the compact mirror! Hehe…

    And the packaging is so … so… so Tiffany’s! 😉
    But aiyahhh, why wasn’t the compact mirror some jewelry from Tiffany’s, huh? :p

    Err… Merry Belated Christmas… or Have An Early One! Haha… Thanks for sharing 😉

    Hehe.. if it’s any bigger, it wouldn’t be a compact mirror. 😛

    If they include an item from Tiffany in the package.. it would costs a bomb & I’m sure not many ppl could afford to buy it.

    LOL.. Regardless of whether it’s early or late, this is definitely the 1st time I got a Christmas greeting in the middle of the year. 😆

    Thanks for dropping by & Happy Weekend, Angel. 🙂


  16. […] This post is inspired from re-watching a few of my Audrey Hepburn Collection. […]


Leave a Reply

