Listen

December 30, 2006

Just listen.

Listen. When other people are talking, let them express their thoughts, their opinions, and their feelings, especially their feelings. Don’t just let them talk; listen to what they are saying. Pay attention. Try to understand.

Listen. You don’t have to agree. As a matter of fact, whether you agree or not should be beside the point. Don’t express your opinions or feelings while someone else is expressing his or hers. Do you have a problem with that? Do you feel you need to express your opinion, that you must make your feelings known? When others are speaking, you won’t be heard anyway, and you’ll just lose points for trying.

listen.jpg

Listen without waiting for an opportunity to give your side, or pounce on the other person, or correct his or her mistakes. The other person’s reasoning and information is surely full of mistakes and distortions. So what? So is yours.

Listen in sincere silence. It won’t kill you. You don’t need to prove your point. Just listen. Everyone thinks a good listener is smart.

Listen. You don’t need to persuade the other person, just understand. If you don’t, ask, “Could you explain that?” or “What do you really mean?” But don’t give your opinion while the person is talking. Just let him or her talk.

illlisten.jpg

The good listener hears the unspoken thought. Listen for it. When the other person is finished, mention that inner thought. The other person will know you heard and understood.

Then the situation will become quiet because the other person will be listening to your hearing. All the pressure will fade and you can get on with life.

Listen. There is nothing quite like being heard.

I listen to the space between the words others speak. I live in silence where knowing dwells. I make room for life by creating stillness.

if_you_listen.jpg 

Personal Note:  Just when I needed someone to listen…… you were there. Thank you for listening, babe.. HUGS!

11 Responses to “Listen”

  1. Uncle Lee Says:

    Hi Jemima, Your Blog facinates me as I have returned…AGAIN! Jemima, you are a romantic! Somehow coming to your blog and pages why do I think of elegant candlelight dinners and roses and moonlights?
    It is a privilage to be a friend with you even though its ‘strangers in the night’. Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Live the questions now.
    Perhaps you will find them gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.
    You have a nice day, Jemima. UL.

    Hi Uncle Lee, Thanks again for visiting my blog.

    You’re right.. I’m a very romantic person & it doesn’t mean that I’m more special or better than anyone else.

    I’m very honored that you have considered me as your friend. All friends are strangers when they first met. 😉

    Thanks for your very kind & wise advice. Yep.. there will always be a better tomorrow. 😉

    Thanks, Thanks, Thanks & Thanks again, Uncle Lee.

  2. endroo G Says:

    I’m 1st !!

    But sometime its hard to bear with listening to craps.

    No la.. you’re 2nd.. hehe

    LOL.. people who never listen to themselves talk craps.. 😉

  3. Che-Cheh Says:

    I’m learning to listen to my heart more and it’s been good. 😉

    That’s fantastic, Che-Cheh. 🙂

  4. azhan Says:

    i listen a lot but with bad eye contact. but listening to calm others down is really fine thing to do. sigh, bad internet kills me.

    Happy New Year in advance =)

    Hmmm.. you’re another guy that I know who doesn’t look at people in the eye. *shakes head*

    Hehe.. I’ve been pretty lucky with my internet access.. no major interruptions. *touch wood* 😉

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  5. luxferi Says:

    *nods* I think I will listen more from now on. I used to listen a lot… then… hmmm… why not go back to it now? 😉

    Hehe.. yep, why not? 😉

  6. Vern Says:

    Our ears are for listening, but so are our hearts. 🙂

    Yep.. they sure are. 🙂

  7. nyonyapenang Says:

    sometimes, people HEAR but did not LISTEN.

    **sayangzzz**

    Tell me about it… 😦

    HUGS!

  8. zeroimpact Says:

    Listening is what I can only offer
    As you listen you learn
    As you listen you fell
    As you listen you experience
    As you listen you indulge
    I may not be the best listener, but I will be around
    Take care and let the new year brings you the best life can give to you
    Happy New Year
    Hugs!

    Welcome back, Matt.
    I beg to differ.. I think you’ve always been a wonderful virtual ‘listener to whatever I have to say’. 😉

    Thanks for your well wishes.
    Happy New Year & HUGS! 🙂

  9. bodicea Says:

    listening does teach you more than speaking.

    but i believe in a balance between speaking and listening for good communication skills.

    I agree with you.. but the problem is that society is full of talkers, and yet few people really bother to listen.. & even fewer listen with their hearts involved.

  10. Sha Says:

    Everybody needs a listening ear from time to time, but to eavesdrop would just be abusing the gift of being able to listen.

    *hugs*

    Hope your year has been well hun.

    2006 will always be remembered as an eventful year in my life – both positive & negative.

    Happy New Year & HUGS! 🙂

  11. ian Says:

    Well said, Jemima…

    Listening what others’ hearts say is way harder than speaking our own minds.

    I have never been so deaf before….

    Thanks, Ian.

    We just need to focus totally on what the person who is talking to us is saying.. instead of thinking about what we want to say next. In that way, we are able to listen to their hearts which could be crying out with joy or pain or even when they are sharing their hopes & dreams.

    Nah!!! As far as I’m concerned.. you’ve never been deaf with me. 😉

    Happy New Year & HUGS! 🙂


Leave a Reply

