Talking it Over-and Out

January 3, 2007

Talking to a friend about anger can be very healing. I always try to find a friend who can be very healing and understanding – not just someone who will try to “egg you on” or “fix” things instantly. Sometimes we just need a good listener to open ourselves up to.

Opening up to someone can be frightening. Letting someone into your world requires that you let your guard down. But remember, talking about your pain is not a sign of weakness but a sign of strength.

al_f_tropicalbeauty.jpg

The simple truth is that if you are experiencing difficulties with significant people in your life, chances  are that you will feel better if you talk to someone you trust.

– Hans Strupp –

Painting: ”Tropical Beauty” by Aldo Luongo.  

16 Responses to “Talking it Over-and Out”

  1. ilene ong Says:

    Jemima, you know, I’m a good listener! Jokes aside! My colleagues at work will attest that. They would come with their stories (or shall I say complaints most of the time) and then leave. Sometimes I feel like I’m the “priest” in that confession room in Church! My colleagues used to tease me that I ought to place a card on my desk which reads “Confession counter”! ha!

    “Bless me ‘Father’ Ilene, for I have sinned….” hehe

    Seriously, good listeners like yourself are hard to find – especially in our busy world where usually people don’t have time for others.

  2. susangpyp Says:

    I love the graphics on your site. They are lovely and complement the posts nicely. I am graphic-less on my blog but I appreciate those who have nice things on theirs. Thanks.

    Hi Susan… 🙂

    Your blog may be graphic-less but your motivational writings & materials are an eye-opener which can touch your readers within.

    Thanks.

  3. tihtahpah Says:

    i think being a listener is like being a ‘giver’…you give someone a chance to vent it out..it’s always better to be a giver than a taker 🙂

    I agree with you. 😉

    Have a great day, Tihtahpah. 🙂

  4. Lil Says:

    being a listener does bring you closer to your friends, and friends who listened in return, that makes them special 😉

    ps: i can see you’re really into aldo luongo – isn’t he just wonderful?

    Yes, I’ve some special friends who listens to me & I, in turn, listens to them.. & we do have a “special bonding” between us. 🙂

    I really love his works. 🙂

  5. Uncle Lee Says:

    Hi Jemima, Like a Mohawk Native Chief will say, “You speak words come from heart”.
    Everyone hears what you say. Friends listen to
    what you say. Best friends listen to what you
    don’t say.
    Best regards, UL.

    Thanks for sharing, Uncle Lee. That’s very nice & very true. 🙂

  6. Keropok Says:

    Happy New Year to you, my friend… I hope 2007 answers some of what you hope and wish for.

    Good advice on listening. I’m always trying to ‘fix’ stuff, when the misus speaks to me (drives her nuts!)

    I’m gonna take some advice from you. Cheers!

    Happy New Year, Keropok. 🙂
    Let’s hope that 2007 brings all of us peace, joy & good health.
    Try not to make your better half marah-marah, ya? Hehe..

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    I will and may not prompt myself a good listener to you which you have to decide yourself
    You may have my ears if you want to
    🙂
    Do not be frightened as when you open up to a person, it means that you trust them enough to open up to them
    Trust in yourself and believe in your judgement
    You are strong and the strength that I see in you is apparent
    Cheers
    Hugs!

    Thanks, Matt. I appreciate your advice & your willingness to lend me thy ears. I know where to find you when I need them. 😉
    My strength comes from knowing that I have some special friends out there that I can trust & what is more important.. is that they trust me, too.

    HUGS!

  8. Joycelyn Says:

    Jemima,i agreed but it’s not easy to get such a person in real life.some people whom we think we can trust but at last they betray us too.unfortunately sometimes these people dont even notice they had betrayed someone until someone confronted them.

    Hence, as the saying goes “Life wasn’t meant to be easy…”


  9. ‘Talking to a friend about anger can be very healing.’

    I oonce yelled at a friend angrily for talking … is it similar? 🙂

    Haha.. Trust you to come up with this one, Dabs. 🙂

  10. merv Says:

    well… i suppose opening up in today’s society can be scary especially since most of us live very hermit like lives now-a-days haha

    Haha.. Whatever you say, Lord Merv of the Hermits! 😆

  11. Sha Says:

    Thanks for that advice, that’s what I just did. Hugs!

    You’re welcome, Sha. 😉

    HUGS!

  12. nyonyapenang Says:

    if we don’t acknowledge the problem, there’ll be no solution.
    **sayangzz**

    There’s no doubt about that, Kak.

    HUGS!

  13. luxferi Says:

    You know what I find disappointing? It’s the fact that you spill everything out, poured your heart and soul into your words, wishing and hoping they’ll understand… and they don’t.

    Worse still… they try to talk “over” you, by giving you unwanted advices and speeches of, “Never mind la… it’s no big deal la…”

    Hate it!

    Yup, they are the ones I had referred to as those ‘..who will try to “egg you on” or “fix” things instantly’ 😦

  14. azhan Says:

    happy late new year! its not too late rite?

    Nope, it’s not… it’s always better late than never. 😉

    Happy New Year!

  15. Kyels Says:

    All of us need listeners — sometimes. It does help and one of the best therapies that we can find.

    Yep… sometimes – that’s the key-word. 😉

  16. endroo G Says:

    will try to listen up.

    Jemima: 🙂


Leave a Reply

