The Dance

January 6, 2007

al_f_tango_passion.jpg 

Looking back on the memory of
The dance we shared ‘neath the stars above
For a moment all the world was right
How could I have known that you’d ever say goodbye

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end, the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance
I could have missed the pain
But I’d have had to miss the dance

Holding you, I held everything
For a moment wasn’t I a king
But if I’d only known how the king would fall
Hey who’s to say? you know I might have changed it all

And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance
I could have missed the pain
But I’d have had to miss the dance

Yes my life, it’s better left to chance
I could have missed the pain
But I’d have had to miss the dance

There’s no point dwelling on what might or could have been. You just have to go forward.                                                                     – Jack Nicholson –

Click here to listen to the song.

Painting: “Tango En Passion” by Aldo Luongo
8 Responses to “The Dance”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    There is truth in it
    Yearning for the past we may be
    But it will not make a difference
    Looking back at the sweet times
    Smile and be content
    However, no matter how much we yearn for the past
    The future is there for us to look forward to
    Looking forward is the only thing that keeps those memories fond
    And walking down a road full of surprises
    That may bring more fond memories when we look back in a later time
    Hugs!

    Thank you, Matt.
    Once again, your words touches my within.
    One day… if we ever have a chance, I shall dance with you.. hehe

    HUGS!

  2. nyonyapenang Says:

    don’t look back in regrets; look forward in anticipation.
    have a good weekend, jemima.

    Thank you for your advice, Kak.
    Do enjoy your weekend, too. 🙂

  3. Paul Says:

    That’s a lovely painting! And the song matches… sigh.

    Yup.. I love them both..

    Thanks, Paul.

  4. Vern Says:

    I’ve been looking back a lot nowadays.

    I don’t know why, but I can’t seem to shake it off.

    It’s good to look back once in a while.. as long as it doesn’t makes us feel down.. but sometimes it is very difficult not to be melancholic.

  5. Mayang Says:

    regrets will eventually become lessons in life at some point…

    Welcome, Mayang. 🙂

    I agree.. I’m learning every day..

  6. Kyels Says:

    We all yearn for the past … We want things to go back to what it used to be before, even … But somehow as we course along life, we realise that we’ll never be able to go back to the past, not once, not twice … It’ll have to be the past.

    Everything takes two to tango. Everything.

    I agree, Kyels..
    The past cannot be changed but the future is in our hands.

  7. Lil Says:

    now, i yearn to dance with J.. 🙂

    Hehe.. no one is stopping you, my dear… 😉

  8. Lil Says:

    ah but the distance is… never mind, i’ll see him soon enough 😉

    That’s great, Lil. 🙂


Leave a Reply

