Always Keep Confidences

January 17, 2007

Secrets can be wonderful and therapeutic . They can bring us great joy and emotional release. They can strengthen the bond between people and allow you to share in the happiness of others. Sharing of confidences can also mean that people trust you enough to make themselves vulnerable. When that happens, there is great virtue in keeping the confidence.

cg_justthetwoofus.jpg

Protecting the secrets others confide in you is an expression of love. It is a guarding of relationship and a privileged responsibility. Its reward is a good night’s sleep, strengthened character, and constant friendship. So, keep your friends’ secrets safe.

I pray for my friends who have shared their secret burdens with me and I find that my hope for them gives me a hope for my own life as well.

Painting: “Just The Two Of Us” by Carrie Graber 

11 Responses to “Always Keep Confidences”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    Just the two of us reminds me of a song
    Cherish and treasure those near to us
    For the trust and confidence they have in us
    In return trust them with all your heart as it will be the best things that can be shared
    You and your friens are lucky to be able to share so much with trust, faith and confidence
    May it grow as you travel along the path of life
    🙂
    Hugs!

    Yes.. Will Smith sang it.. the original was by Bill Withers. 🙂
    There’s a version by Eminem, too.

    My friends & I.. we’re very lucky to have such bonding..
    dirty secrets included… hehe 😛
    & we love each other very much..

    Hugs, Matt.

  2. Gallivanter Says:

    “If you reveal your secrets to the wind you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees.” Just wanted to share that with ya! 🙂

    Ditto!!!

    Thanks, Dan. 🙂

  3. tihtahpah Says:

    all i can think of is that Just The Two Of Us song by that Austin Powers and Mini Me! ehhehehee

    I’ve never watched Austin Powers.. 😛

    Thanks for sharing.

  4. Tine Says:

    “All secrets are deep. All secrets become dark. That’s in the nature of secrets” – Cory Doctorow

    Aaaahh … 😉

    Nice quote, I like..

    Thanks, Tine. 🙂

  5. lx Says:

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, Jemima … treat yourself to Austin Powers 😉

    Sorry I missed your bday … I have just been absolutely swarmed these days. Can’t wait for January to go.

    Lotsa Hugs!

    Hahaha..Thank you, Lx. HUGS! 😀

    Duh! I don’t want January to go…
    All the best… 🙂

  6. Gab Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Jemima. Sorry I missed it. 🙂

    This is one very heart-warming post. It’s hard to find true friends who won’t spill secrets. I’ve encountered so many. I’d rather write it down into my personal diary or lean on the tree and let the wind blow away my worries than confide in my friends. Life’s full of trickery.

    Thank you, Gab & no apologies, please.. 🙂

    I understand how you feel.. it’s just that I’ve been very lucky to have a few friends whom I can TRUST with my secrets… & you’re one of them. 😉

  7. serendipity Says:

    And I pray that people will continue to seek comfort in you for you have proved to be a trustworthy friend.

    I will always make a point to keep secrets even though i am a very talkative person =PP

    Thank you for your prayer.. it means a lot to me.. 🙂

    I talk a lot, too. Ask Ian & Merv.. but their secrets will follow me to my grave.. 😛

  8. nyonyapenang Says:

    errr…if it’s shared, then it’s no longer a secret.

    Kak Nyonya memang pandai.. 🙂

    HUGS!

  9. merv Says:

    I don’t protect secrets. I just forget them 20 seconds later hahaha 😛

    Hahaha.. 20 secs? I thought it only takes you 10.. 😆

  10. endroo G Says:

    it depends what type of secret. Life-threatening secret must be kept at all cost. But secret that may do more help more when exposed is better be told to everyone.

    Hmmm.. do you have any secrets to tell me? 😉

  11. Kyels Says:

    Yes, keeping secrets; it’s hard but often times I find myself keeping a lot of people’s secrets and they are always buried within me and no one knows about it …

    (:

    I know.. that’s why I trust you with mine.. hehe 😉


Leave a Reply

