An Attitude of Gratitude

January 29, 2007

Β gratitude.jpg

No one is an island.

From the day you were born until the day you die, you are dependent upon the help of others in countless ways.

Who taught you to tie your shoes and button your shirt?

Who stuck with you until you mastered long division or learned to read?

Who encouraged you and helped you land your first job?

Who taught you to love selflessly or encouraged you to use your talents to make a difference in the world?

As I grow older, my need for others becomes more acute. My attitude should grow in like measure. This blog is 6-month old today and today is a good day to thank you all for inspiring me to blog.

Terima Kasih!

11 Responses to “An Attitude of Gratitude”

  1. nyonyapenang Says:

    build a bridge to the island. πŸ™‚

    Hehe.. okie, Kak. πŸ™‚

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    True that no one is an island, well at least most of us I believe
    We do hang on to those that we need for guidance and love which they show to us
    Life’s but a time to learn to appreciate and show gratitude to those that was there, everytime when we needed them

    Thanks, Matt. I have always appreciated your guidance.

  3. Che-Cheh Says:

    Happy 6 mths old blogger…hehe you’re a 6mths old blogger also wat right?

    Hope you have a great week ya!

    Haha.. I’m still a baby. πŸ˜†

    Che-Cheh, I hope you have a great week, too. πŸ™‚

  4. Uncle Lee Says:

    Hi Jemima, thank you for inviting me over. Its my pleasure. Love your new posting as I can see some morning sun’s rays peeping in. And like a morning Glory about to bloom…..

    A simple friend identifies himself when he calls.
    A real friend doesn’t have to.

    A simple friend opens a conversation with a full news bulletin on his life.
    A real friend says, “What’s new with you?”
    A simple friend thinks the problems you whine about are recent.
    A real friend says, “You’ve been whining about the same thing for 14 years. Get off your duff and do something about it.”
    A simple friend has never seen you cry.
    A real friend has shoulders soggy from your tears.
    A simple friend doesn’t know your parents’ first names.
    A real friend has their phone numbers in his address book.
    A simple friend brings a bottle of wine to your party.
    A real friend comes early to help you cook and stays late to help you clean.

    A simple friend hates it when you call after he has gone to bed.
    A real friend asks you why you took so long to call.
    A simple friend seeks to talk with you about your problems.
    A real friend seeks to help you with your problems.
    A simple friend wonders about your romantic history.
    A real friend could blackmail you with it.
    A simple friend, when visiting, acts like a guest.
    A real friend opens your refrigerator and helps himself.
    A simple friend thinks the friendship is over when you have an argument.
    A real friend knows that it’s not a friendship until after you’ve had a fight.
    A simple friend expects you to always be there for them.
    A real friend expects to always be there for you!
    Keep your curtains open, Jemima….
    My very best regards to you, UL.
    ps, keep the innitialed handkerchiefs.

    Hi Uncle Lee, I thank you for having so much confidence in me. πŸ™‚
    Thank you for another lovely piece.
    I’m sure my friends likes it, too.
    I’ll remember to keep them. πŸ˜‰
    HUGS!

  5. Sha Says:

    We are who we are because of the people around us. We should never forget those who have helped us in times of need, and we should also not bite the hand that fed us.

    I agree with you, Sha. πŸ™‚
    Thanks & HUGS!

  6. meekiee Says:

    we all need each other! πŸ˜€

    Hugs!

    Indeed we do. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!

  7. Tine Says:

    Wah … 6 months ady … good, good!

    Keep up the good work, and keep those inspiring posts comin’ πŸ˜‰

    With your support, I believe that I can, Tine. πŸ˜›


  8. If I go swimming I get mistaken for an island … or a whale … that’s probably why I don’t go swimming any more. I can’t handle all those kids climbing on my belly and jumping off into the water. πŸ™‚

    Hahaha.. πŸ˜†

  9. sengkor Says:

    it’s true that we need one another..

    happy 6th months! more 6 months to come πŸ˜€

    Thank you, Sengkor. πŸ˜€
    HUGS!

  10. Wennn Says:

    Happy 6th month old… U will soon realize it pass very quickly lor!! Me too my blog very fast I also lost count how many months liao..

    Hehe.. I won’t lost count ‘cos I started this journal on 29th July & that date is my parents’ wedding anniversary. πŸ™‚

  11. Kyels Says:

    Happy 6th Month!

    Thanks & HUGS! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

