What do I want for St.Valentine’s Day?

January 31, 2007

St. Valentine’s Day is just two weeks away. I don’t want any flowers, dinners or chocolates. So, what do I want from each and everyone of you… my loved ones & friends?

I want emotional closeness. I want sharing. I want a beautiful bridge between us that is always there, always open, always secure and always ours.

I want communication. I want words that speak our language. I want touches that say more than words can mean. I want to talk things over, whether they are little or large. I want to be more in touch with you than I have ever been before.

I want the things we do to turn into some of the nicest memories anyone of us could ever ask for.

I want friendship. I want love. I want gentleness. I want strength. I want as much happiness as tomorrow can promise to anyone.

I want to be home to you. I want you to be home to me.

And I want the smile that is in my heart to always reflect so beautifully in the eyes I most love to see.

cg_expectations.jpg

I had found someone. And even though, the thing I want to do most is to let him know how very much I love him.. I couldn’t because he can never love me in return.

Painting: “Expectations” by Carrie Graber

Read Merv’s “A Sigh Worthy Day”

24 Responses to “What do I want for St.Valentine’s Day?”

  1. nyonyapenang Says:

    we are here for each other. 🙂
    to quote you, “I HAD found someone.” Jemima, I shall wait to hear you use the present tense.
    **sayangzz**

    Thank you for being here, Kak. 🙂
    One day, I will.. & you’ll get a text message from me that reads : “Kak, I have……….” 😛

    HUGS!

  2. moz monster Says:

    Come here … *hugs* …

    *speechless* …

    I can’t offer you much more than that … hope he will be able to love you in return someday.

    Thanks, Moz. 🙂
    HUGS!

  3. silent princess Says:

    The fact is, you have NOT found that someone, Ms. Jemima. Because you already know that he can never love you in return.

    I’m sorry to have to say this but your blog seem to ‘want’ to attract sympathies most of the time. Why so? Why do you dwell on the sad or down moments, day in, day out? Enough is enough. Snap out of it if you will, Jemima. If you don’t, you’ll be missing out on life, which I’m very sure, that’s the last thing you would want to do, would you?

  4. nyonyapenang Says:

    I’ll be here, Jemima, I’ll be here.
    **sayangzzz**

    I know, Kak, I know.
    Terima kasih & SAYANGZZZ! 🙂

  5. Uncle Lee Says:

    Hi Jemima, I like that picture and suddenly a poem came to my mind which I’m sure you know. Beautiful Dreamer. Beautiful dreamer, wake unto me,
    Starlight and dewdrops are waiting for thee;
    Sounds of the rude world heard in the day,
    Lull’d by the moonlight have all pass’d away!
    Beautiful dreamer, queen of my song,
    List while I woo thee with soft melody;
    Gone are the cares of life’s busy throng.
    Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!
    Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!
    Beautiful dreamer, out on the sea,
    Mermaids are chaunting the wild lorelie;
    Over the streamlet vapors are borne,
    Waiting to fade at the bright coming morn.
    Beautiful dreamer, beam on my heart,
    E’en as the morn on the streamlet and sea;
    Then will all clouds of sorrow depart,
    Beautiful dreamer, awake unto me!

    Jemima,….now your curtains are slightly drawn, I’m sure your Prince charming on his white stallion will be coming soon with a bouquet of Red roses for you.
    Keep your chin up, young lady. Best regards, UL.

    Uncle Lee, Thank you & much appreciation for the beautiful poem & reassurances.
    Yes, I’m holding my chin up.. 🙂
    HUGS!

  6. silent princess Says:

    How unfortunate that you have chosen not to publish my comment although I have half expected that. Why are you not able to take in the good AND the bad? Isn’t that what life is? Life cannot only consist of the GOOD, Ms. Jemima, and YOU cannot always live in life’s shadow, live behind those “sweet & kind” words. When will you realize that? When? Sigh!

    Life always has its ups and downs and fair share of shadows and we all are who we choose to be.

    Cheers! 🙂

  7. Tine Says:

    That’s a beautiful post, Jem.

    I want all that too. Not just on Valentine’s Day, a day of commercial profits and such, but everyday of the year, for the rest of my life. That’s worth so much more than a bouquet of flowers that die so easily.

    A quote comes to mind – “If you love something let it go free. If it doesn’t come back, you never had it. If it comes back, love it forever.” It took me a very long time to fully understand and accept that, because it’s so very difficult to let someone you love so much go.

    My dear girl, above all else, love yourself. Never let YOURSELF go. Love will come when you least expect it. And you will treasure it like gold.

    *hug*

    Tine, I was inspired to write this after I commented on Merv’s post yesterday.

    If you had read it, I commented that Valentine’s Day is everyday & it’s love for our family & friends ‘cos they are the ones who picked us up when we’re down & bring us down when we get too full of ourselves.

    Thank you for your kind words, advice & reassurances, my friend.
    Yes, I’m learning everyday.. still got lotz to learn..

    HUGS! 🙂

  8. ianfluenza Says:

    I had…… pita bread for lunch!!!

    Hehe..err.. what’s for dinner??? 😛

  9. Jo Says:

    Hi 😉 Jemima, no use in holding on to something impossible. Let go and one day, you will find someone that would appreciate you as who you are…everything will be fine soon.

    Welcome Jo. 🙂
    Thanks for your kind words & reassurances.

  10. Sha Says:

    Valentines’ Day is also known as friendship day in some circles.. Of course you have my friendship *HUGS*

    Likewise Sha, I’m glad to be your friend.
    HUGS!

  11. LM Says:

    lotsa love jem! but why he cannot love u?

    Thanks, LM.
    ‘Cos he loves someone else.

  12. penang-mui Says:

    jemima, this entry is so beautifully written 🙂

    Welcome, Penang-mui.
    I’m glad you like it.

  13. Che-Cheh Says:

    I’m comingggggg to hug you 😀
    Cheers my dear friend.

    Hehe.. Thanks, my dear.
    BIG HUGS!

  14. lx Says:

    “had”?? think of it this way, Jemima … u found each other and made a difference in each other’s lives albeit unreciprocated 😉 The fact is that this experience evoked feelings of love from within you … feelings you possibly unconsciously suppressed for a while.

    Welcome back, Lx.
    You do know me really well, my friend. 😛

  15. Gallivanter Says:

    It happens to all of us, finding someone and not loved in return. It’s all very much the process of life. Sometimes, just sometimes, you just have to take that risk, and tell the person. And if he doesn’t respond the way you want him to, at least you know, and you can move on, and start breathing again. Better to try and fail right? *HUGS*

    Or I could fly over to where you are and be your messenger. Don’t worry, I won’t carry any weapons with me. LOL.

    Hehe.. Dan, thanks for the offer but your service isn’t necessary ‘cos he had already told me that he loves another..

    Btw, he’s where you are.. not where I am. 😉

    HUGS!

  16. azhan Says:

    i have nothing, but just an early hug for Valentine. =)

    Thanks, Azhan.
    HUGS!

  17. serendipity Says:

    you speak of the things that i want very much too.

    although we only know each other through cyberspace, you’ll always have a cyberfriend in me all the time. =)

    Great minds think alike.. 😉

    We may only be cyberfriends now but our blogs are gonna be stepping stones of better things to come. 🙂
    Thanks & HUGS!

  18. zeroimpact Says:

    Life is full of expectations
    We are full of expectations be it consciously or subconsciously
    🙂
    Materials will vanish, time spent together will be cherished forever and ever
    Hugs!

    Yes, Matt.
    I’ll cherished our time together for all eternity.
    HUGS!

  19. jazzee Says:

    Kinda stumbled into here.

    Live and let live, one isn’t kind to one’s self by holding on to “what was or what could have been”. If he can’t love you in return, I don’t see the point of wasting your time hankering for that relationship. Yes, easier said than done, but you owe it to yourself to be “free” from the clutches of unrequited love, so to speak.

    Do read this if you have a few seconds to spare.

    http://www.articlepeak.com/vault/religion/This-Week.htm

    Welcome, Jazzee.

    Thanks for your comment & for the link. 🙂

  20. meekiee Says:

    :)i’m speechless … dunno what to say…
    but here my hugs for you.

    Thanks, Meekiee.
    HUGS back!

  21. Lil Says:

    jem, the matters of heart is never easy nor straightforward… we win some, we lost some…

    my heart belongs to someone right now but i think i need to move on soon, but not before i talk to him… our situation is just, well, complicated…

    no matter how, closure is important… be at peace with yourself 😉

    Thank you for your reassurances & advice, Lil.
    All the best in your relationship.
    HUGS!

  22. endroo G Says:

    Jem, maybe we can plan a trip to where you’re hiding. Or you can come over to our hiding place. No?! And.. its time to try the

    Happy Be-early V Day. Six days before V Day, is more special day.

    Easier said than done, la.. 😛
    By the way, I’m lost.. why is 6 days before V Day more special?
    Did I miss something?

  23. endroo G Says:

    Hahaha. just mumbling about the 6 days. Anyway, you can go find out if you want.

    *blurrr*

  24. endroo G Says:

    forget it. merry thaipusam.

    Duh! Where I come from.. we don’t celebrate that.. la. 😉


Leave a Reply

