Look People in the Eye

February 3, 2007

Making eye contact helps you communicate with others. It helps you become more fully aware of other people and shows that you are giving them your full attention.

indeye.jpg

Try this the next time you are out running errands. Make a game of being aware of every person who helps you. Look each person in the eye. You are making an extra effort when you make eye contact, and people respond to that extra attention. You may be pleasantly surprised at what a difference this attention makes.

into-eye.jpg

When you look at people, look at them as if you were seeing them with God’s eyes.

Please, don’t let this feeling end,
It’s ev’rything I am,
Ev’rything I wanna be;
I can see what’s mine now,
Finding out what’s true,
Since I’ve found you
Lookin’ through the eyes of love

Now I can take the time,
I can see my life
As it comes on shining now;
Reachin’ out to touch you,
I can feel so much,
Since I’ve found you
Lookin’ through the eyes of love.

And now I do believe,
That even in a storm, we’ll find some light;
Knowin’ you’re beside me,
I’m alright.

Please, don’t let this feelin’ end,
It might not come again;
And I want to remember
How it feels to touch you;
How I feel so much,
Since I’ve found you
Lookin’ through the eyes of love.

– Melissa Manchester, Looking Through The Eyes Of Love –

Click hereΒ to listen to the song.

9 Responses to “Look People in the Eye”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    When I look in your eyes
    I see the reflections
    I see the life
    I see the soul
    I see myself
    When I look in your eyes
    Life becomes surreal
    Time stood still
    Mesmerized is this soul
    Looking in your eyes

    Matthew, you always leave me the nicest comments.
    You really touch my heart today.
    HUGS!

  2. Tine Says:

    Oooh I love, love, LOVE that song! :p

    Looking at one’s eyes when communicating reflects one’s honesty and sincerity. Shifty eyes = shady intentions. Just make sure you don’t go cross-eyed after that, hehe πŸ˜‰

    Cross-eyed.. Nah! Can’t be that bad. Hehe..

    Tine, I do know some ppl who still can’t look into my eyes when I speak to them.. πŸ˜›

    I LOVE the song, too. πŸ˜‰

  3. Kyels Says:

    It’s always best to talk to people with eye contact. It will show that you take their words seriously and that you respect what they are about to tell you or telling you.

    I agree, Kyels. πŸ™‚

  4. moz monster Says:

    Too much eye contact ain’t good. Our corporate training tells us that about 2 seconds is about right, unless you’re in love.

    When at work, too much eye contact, especially in a meeting, is not good. We are taught how to do eye contact sweeps, etc. – how to make enough eye contacts without making people think you have ulterior motives on them :p

    But, there are ppl who will not even look at you in the face when they talk.. they are simply too scared of making any eye contact. πŸ˜›

  5. Lil Says:

    according to various european tales, if you make a toast without making eye contact, then you’ll be doomed to having bad sex for 7 years! yikes!

    YIKES!!! I must remember that.. πŸ˜†

  6. Jo Says:

    Someone said that the eyes is the entrance to our heart..

    I believe so, too.. πŸ™‚

  7. endroo G Says:

    … and also entrance to our soul.

    Yes, Endroo. πŸ™‚

  8. suituapui Says:

    Trouble is when people in love look through rose-tinted glasses. As they say, “Love is blind,” but when the haze clears, more often than not, reality bites!!! I would go over Dione Warwick’s “Don’t make me over”:
    “Accept me for what I am…accept me for the things that I do!…..”

    Ouch!!! That hurts, Suituapui. πŸ˜†
    In response to your song, I would sing Billy Joel’s “Just the way you are.” πŸ˜›

  9. tihtahpah Says:

    i think eyes is the most important mode of attraction and communication πŸ˜‰

    I think so, too. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

