The Arts

February 4, 2007

This post is inspired from my conversation with Ian last week regarding how everyone has a different interpretation on a painting.

jk_art.jpg

A woman once took her young son to an art exhibit, unsure of exactly of how he might respond to the imposing gallery, the crowd of adults, the silence of the great halls, and the pieces on display that defied comprehension. As they stood facing a modern painting, which may have been hung upside down for all the mother could tell, her son spoke up, “I like this one. It’s how I feel sometimes.”

Art, music and dramatic performance speak to each person in different and sometimes unexpected ways, but they are always deep and wonderful. The artistic expressions of your culture convey the message that you are not alone in your feelings or isolated in your experiences.

ju_onmymind.jpg

Please kindly leave your interpretation of this painting “On My Mind” by Julianna in the comment box. Thanks.

13 Responses to “The Arts”

  1. Kyels Says:

    She seems sad to me; contemplating and feeling sad over what she has done, maybe.

    Or perhaps, she had bad dreams hence she is hugging herself …

    But what I see in this painting is — sadness.

    Thanks, my friend.
    We shall wait & see how the others would interpret it. 🙂

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    Errr
    Arts speaks to everyone differently
    I see mindless wandering
    Longing for someone
    Missing someone
    Yearning for someone
    Hugs!

    I agree, Matt. Arts definitely speaks differently to everyone.
    Thanks for your interpretation. 🙂
    HUGS!

  3. endroo G Says:

    I thought she was raped ?!

    Well, that’s your interpretation, Endroo.
    Thanks! 🙂

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    She’s missing someone…waking up, and he’s not there…

    Thanks, Dan. 🙂

  5. ianfluenza Says:

    See Jemima? Even endroo G shares the same interpretation as I do. LOL!!!

    Yalor, you guys are birds of the same feathers…hehe 😛

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    we are never alone. 🙂

    Terima kasih, Kak. 🙂

  7. Tine Says:

    Well, a few interpretations of what she might be thinking:
    1. “oh my god, what did I do last night? Where the #$%@ are my clothes? Why am I naked?!”
    2. “I hate waking up alone”
    3. “He left me in the middle of the night … again”

    Like you said, many interpretations to art. OR, I could just have a filthy mind, hehe 😉

    Hehe.. No problem, Tine. A filthy mind is still a mind. 😛

  8. moz monster Says:

    This painting appears sad to me … she’s clearly not in a positive mood, probably contemplating ?

    Thank you for your interpretation, Moz. 🙂

  9. suituapui Says:

    Rows and flows of angel hair
    And ice cream castles in the air
    And feather canyons evrywhere
    Ive looked at clouds that way
    But now they only block the sun
    They rain and snow on evryone
    So many things I would have done
    But clouds got in my way
    I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now
    From up and down, and still somehow
    It’s cloud illusions I recall
    I really don’t know clouds at all

    Moons and Junes and ferris wheels
    The dizzy dancing way you feel
    As every fairy tale comes real
    I’ve looked at love that way
    But now it’s just another show
    You leave ’em laughing when you go
    And if you care, don’t let them know
    Don’t give yourself away
    I’ve looked at love from both sides now
    From give and take, and still somehow
    It’s love’s illusions I recall
    I really don’t know love at all

    Tears and fears and feeling proud
    To say ‘I love you’ right out loud
    Dreams and schemes and circus crowds
    I’ve looked at life that way
    But now old friends are acting strange
    They shake their heads, they say I’ve changed
    Well, something’s lost, but something’s gained
    In living every day
    I’ve looked at life from both sides now
    From win and lose and still somehow
    It’s life’s illusions I recall
    I really don’t know life at all

    P.S.: Her face looks sad! She’s going to spend another lonely nite alone???

    WOW! Suituapui, I would love to visit an art gallery with you.
    You must be able to relate every painting with a song. 😛
    Anyway, thanks for your interpretation & for serenading me again.. hehe

  10. Sha Says:

    I love analysing paintings, sculptures, movies etc.

    It’s the open-endedness that always draws me to these things, I love it!

    So, what is your interpretation of this painting? Care to share? 🙂

  11. Jo Says:

    Someone who has lost her direction, with sorrow buried deep in her..

    Thank you, Jo. 🙂

  12. lx Says:

    Will you be my Valentine? 😉

    Gosh! Lx, your interpretation of the painting is definitely unique.. hehe 😛

  13. tihtahpah Says:

    the tousled hair and limp hands hugging the cloth (doesnt even look like a blanket) doesnt it suggest that she was raped or something. She looks scorned and ashamed.The surroundings suggest a gloomy dark place.

    Thank you, Tihtahpah. 🙂


Leave a Reply

