The ABC’s of a Good Relationship

February 5, 2007

Always listen with your heart. Hear more than just what is being said.

Believe in yourselves. Be understanding and accepting. No two people are alike; see each other’s point of view.

Communicate. (As much as we’d like them to be, our partners aren’t mind readers.) Open up and don’t be afraid to show your true feelings. Create an atmosphere where feelings are accepted and talked about.

Don’t judge. Accept the other for who they are – the unique individual you fell in love with.

Expect happiness. Have fun. Allow humor to get you through some of life’s stresses.

Fear nothing. Trust in each other and the love you share. Together, you can do anything.

Give of yourself: your time, your energy, your affection.

Help whenever you can by listening, caring, and doing.

Initiate affection, laughter, fun, and play.

Just be yourself. Don’t ever pretend to be what you aren’t.

cg_momentarydistraction.jpg

Kiss and make up. Don’t hold a grudge. Forgive and forget.

LoveΒ unconditionally, patiently, passionately, hopefully, and enduringly.

If you can do all these, you don’t need the rest of the alphabet! πŸ˜›

Source: Unknown. It was forwarded to me viaΒ email.

Painting: β€œMomentary Distraction” by Carrie Graber

12 Responses to “The ABC’s of a Good Relationship”

  1. zeroimpact Says:

    I like the painting
    πŸ™‚
    It’s not easy to do
    But I’ll try my best
    Hugs!

    I’m glad, Matt. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!

  2. Kyels Says:

    I do agree. But it’s hard …

    (:

    Nothing in life is easy, my friend. πŸ˜‰

  3. Uncle Lee Says:

    Hi Jemima, hmmm, I can see your curtains still hardly letting any sunlight in? Don’t live in the past, Jemima, time to move on, but keep the beautiful memories in a treasure box (like I still do.
    Shadows on a Rose bud will never allow a full bloom. UL.

    The curtains are not fully drawn due to certain unforeseen circumstances.
    No worries, Uncle Lee.
    I am fine. πŸ™‚

  4. Jo Says:

    I like the meaning behind the alphabets here..but understanding and doing them are totally two different things.. Take alot of courage to do it.

    Jo, I believe that we’re all courageous people when it comes to love. πŸ™‚

  5. tihtahpah Says:

    I think JUST BE YOURSELF says it all…. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Tihtahpah. πŸ™‚

  6. Gallivanter Says:

    Fear nothing. Indeed, reminds me of this quote, “there is nothing to fear but fear itself.”

    Good quote, Dan. Thanks. πŸ™‚

  7. suituapui Says:

    It must be hard being an angel
    when the devil in your heart
    won’t set you free.
    It must be hard being an angel
    when the world has let you down
    Imperfection all around.

    Hey, look at me!
    Nobody’s perfect all of the time
    Nobody’s perfect; we are what we are
    There’s no perfect reason and no perfect rhyme
    though most of the time,
    that’s what we’re looking for…

    Ohhh.. The Living Years by Mike & The Mechanics.
    That’s one of my fave songs, too.
    Thanks, Suituapui. πŸ™‚

  8. sengkor Says:

    this can be wonderful, only if both understands the ABC..

    That’s very true, Sengkor. πŸ™‚

  9. Tine Says:

    Yeah … these sure aren’t easy to do, especially the forgiving and forgetting bit. It’s difficult to follow a set of rules in any relationship – family, friends or lovers. With experience, we’ll learn πŸ™‚

    We learn everyday, Tine.
    That’s life. πŸ™‚

  10. suituapui Says:

    “Nobody’s perfect” lah, jem! “The Living Years” is about father-son relationship, not to wait till it’s too late to say “I love you”. Guess that’s about relationships too…!

    Hahaha.. Suituapui, just because I’m single.. I think most would regard that I am sharing this post with ‘a lover’. Besides, I must admit..the painting doesn’t help. hehe.. πŸ˜›

    Anyway, I believe that since life is short, we should not wait too long to say those 3 little beautiful words to all our family members, loved ones & friends.. before it is too late. πŸ™‚

    Thanks, Suituapui. I really appreciate your comments. πŸ˜€

  11. Che-Cheh Says:

    If I can follow at least one of the alphabet, it would be a miracle. hahaha

    I’ll just be myself.

    You have.. you have. πŸ™‚
    It’s J.

  12. Ashish C. Says:

    Mommy mommy, teacher Jemima says that if you know A-L then you don’t need the rest! bwahaha!

    Should teach my little cousin, he’s just beginning to start school and maybe he’ll tell his teacher if you know these, you don’t need the rest! πŸ˜›

    I love L! πŸ˜€

    Hahaha.. Very funny, Ashish. πŸ˜†
    I’m glad you like L.


Leave a Reply

