Sadness needs its Time

February 9, 2007

 cgdreamerssilhouette.jpg

“Into each life some rain must fall. Some days must be dark and dreary.”

Longfellow, The Rainy Day –

We live in a culture of quick fixes, that frequently makes use of the phrase, “Get over it!”

Sadness is seen as something against the natural order, as something that, if present in our life, we need to fix right away, get rid of.

But sadness is a part of life.

And whereas it is not healthy to wallow in sadness, and allow it to overtake us, it is nevertheless good to acknowledge the sadness, to express how it affects us.

Knowing that some days will be dark, and paying attention to that darkness, can help us be more attuned to the presence of light.

Dear God,

Help me to know that feeling sad is a part of life. Please be present to me in my sadness, and allow me to learn from its presence in my life without it taking over my life.

Amen.

Note: I’m feeling much better now, my friends. It takes time but I’ll get there.

Related Posts: Unbreak My Heart  &  Pain

Painting: “Dreamer’s Silhouette” by Carrie Graber

17 Responses to “Sadness needs its Time”

  1. jo Says:

    Jem, it is alright to be sad but you have to know when to get out of it ya.. like you said, dont let it take over your life. *hug*

    I will remember. Thanks. Hugs.

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    Sadness is always a part of life and it’s how we deal with it that matters
    Through sadness, we find friends and strength to carry on to know that we have the strength to overcome everything with the help of friends
    However if we do not take that little step in helping ourselves then we will never be able to stand strong.
    Take care
    Hugs!

    I’ve taken that step to stand on my own, Matt.
    Hugs!

  3. suituapui Says:

    When you get caught in the rain with nowhere to run
    When you’re distraught and in pain without anyone
    When you keep crying out to be saved
    But nobody comes and you feel so far away
    That you just can’t find your way home
    You can get there alone
    It’s okay, once you say
    I can make it through the rain
    I can stand up once again on my own
    And I know that I’m strong enough to mend
    And every time I feel afraid I hold tighter to my faith
    And I live one more day and I make it through the rain
    And if you keep falling down don’t you dare give in
    You will arise safe and sound, so keep pressing on
    steadfastly
    And you’ll find what you need to prevail
    What you say is
    I can make it through the rain
    I can stand up once again on my own
    And I know that I’m strong enough to mend
    And every time I feel afraid I hold tighter to my faith
    And I live one more day and I make it through the rain

    And when the rain blows, as shadows grow close,
    don’t be afraid
    There’s nothing you can’t face
    And should they tell you you’ll never pull through
    Don’t hesitate, stand tall and say

    I can make it through the rain
    I can stand up once again on my own
    And I know that I’m strong enough to mend
    And every time I feel afraid I hold tighter to my faith
    And I live one more day and I make it through the rain

    I can make it through the rain
    And I live once again
    And I live one more day
    And I can make it through the rain
    (Yes you can)
    You will make it through the rain

    I have this song somewhere, Suituapui.
    I must look for it & listen to it again.
    Yes, I can & I will make it through the rain.
    Hugs.

  4. Gallivanter Says:

    Nobody deserves your tears, but whoever deserves them shall not make you cry. 😉

    Thanks, my friend.

  5. Sha Says:

    *hugs* Feel better soon, hun 🙂

    I’m getting there. Thanks. Hugs.

  6. Uncle Lee Says:

    Sad to see you closed back your curtains. UL.

    I couldn’t help it, Uncle Lee.
    It was totally unforeseen.
    I will open them up again.
    Give me time.

  7. ianfluenza Says:

    You’re right. We’re all living in an era of quick-fixes.

    And having known the fact that we need to live with the trends for survival purposes, we have to remind ourselves to be adaptable and not remain stagnant for too long. We’re humans after all. We can be described as fragile souls, or at the same time as creatures more superior than mere animals for we have the ability to change ourselves to adapt and blend in with our environment.

    And I agree that perhaps the subtle evolution might moving a little too fast. Let’s all try our best to do what we are capable of. 🙂

    I agree with you, Ian.
    Thanks for the reminder. I appreciate it very much.
    Hugs.

  8. Kyels Says:

    Always remember that when the days are dreary and dark; there will be rainbow at the end of day.

    (:

    We make mistakes and learn from them. Sadness will only make us stronger, not wither.

    That’s true, Kyels.
    Thanks.

  9. Che-Cheh Says:

    Take your time but don’t take too long.

    I won’t be long, my friend.

  10. jazzee Says:

    Agree that sadness needs its time, akin to time needed for grieving. However, one must also know when to say enough is enough, this sadness is completely zapping my energy, and that this perennial feeling is just not going to cut it. I am sure you can channel this energy somewhere else. So it’s up to you really Jemima…cos sometimes it’s a fine line between giving it time, and dwelling in it….Don’t feed the beast..as they say in GA, but in a totally different context. As an aside, Meredith now meets the vet….I’ve got it downloaded to Season 3 ep 14, so I’m feasting. Try and watch Weeds, a grown up sitcom, will never be shown here due to language and crudity, it’s a Showtime production.

    Ya.. as you said I need to channel my energy elsewhere. Hence, would you like to be my punching-bag??? Hehe… Just kidding, k.

    I really appreciate your comment & advice. Thank you.

    I’m so envious that you’re already watching Season 3. I’m still in Season 2. 😦
    I will try Weeds. It sounds good. Thanks for the recommendation.

  11. Ashish C. Says:

    If it wasn’t for sadness we wouldn’t have known the sweetness of Happiness. Sadness makes us yearn for Happiness. Like Jo says, we must know when to get out of it. Take care Jems. 🙂

    You’re right, Ashish.
    Thanks.

  12. Tine Says:

    Lord,

    Help Jemima through this time of pain and sadness. Only You know exactly what she’s going through, and how she feels right now. Let her not lose faith in You, but continue to seek You. Let not the sadness swallow her whole, but in it, find You.

    Amen.

    Amen.

    Thanks for your prayer, Tine. HUGS!

  13. LX Says:

    The sun is there … we just don’t see it yet 😉 You’ll be ok … have faith sweets!

    I will, LX. Thanks. HUGS!

  14. jo Says:

    Jem, what is that song’s name?

    Through the rain by Mariah Carey.

  15. Keropok Says:

    Take your time to grieve, no matter what others say. If it is pain you feel – for whatever reason – then its there and you can’t possibly ignore it or get over it the very moment someone says “get over it”.

    So my sensible hope for you is get rest, be in a good place, stay safe and avoid the following:

    1. drugs,
    2. alcohol, and
    3. bad advice.

    Take your time, my friend. The world awaits you when you decide to get back.

    Thank you, Keropok. You have never failed to read my needs.
    No worries.. I won’t seek comfort from any vices.
    HUGS!

  16. moz monster Says:

    I took about 6 years to get out of a limbo of my own …

    I don’t wish you the same duration to heal … but yeah, I understand well what you mean.

    You’ll know when you’re ready again. And you will be ok again one day.

    Thanks, Moz.
    Yes, I’ll know when I’m OK again.

  17. meekiee Says:

    Dear Jemima,

    Take your time to grieve. Sadness is inevitable, no matter how strong a person is. A wound is a wound and it takes time to heal. I don’t want to sound hypocrite to you. When you got injured and you only focus on the wound; you feel the pain even more and you might miss out other things that worth your attention in the realm.

    Surround yourself with the right people and avoid any negative or even worldly advices. No matter what happens, family members will always there for you to back you up.

    I pray you will take this time to draw yourself closer to God to experience His kindness, His grace and His love for ya. He will turn your mourning into dancing. Amen!

    *HUGS* sis!

    Thank you for your godly advice, Meekiee. Hugs.


Leave a Reply

