Forgive

February 15, 2007

cg_solitude.jpg

It’s time.

What is the point of keeping your hurt alive? To justify your anger?

That is not a good place to live – a mind that is filled with hate, and you are frozen in hatred when you don’t forgive.

You don’t want to forgive? You probably have good reasons, a long list of good reasons. Without arguing with the fact that you were hurt, why is it that you are the one who is still suffering?

Forgiving is letting go of your hurt.

If you are holding onto your pain because you want to show the person who hurt you how much damage he or she caused you, or if you act in a self-defeating way, always courting failure, allowing success to slip through your life, displaying your hurt by playing the role of a damaged person, perhaps you are making a big mistake.

If the person who hurt you could be influenced by your suffering to feel guilt and remorse and make amends to you, he or she would most likely be the kind of person who never would have hurt you in the first place.

Life always gets complicated when you conceal your hurt and wait for people to come and apologize. Your withheld hurt turns into anger and makes you victimize yourself.

If you expect others to make repairs, you are always disappointed.

You need to forgive as much as you deserve to be forgiven.

You need to forgive if ever you are to love again.

I release my hurt. I allow the past to fade.

I am here. My pain is gone.

Painting: “Solitude” by Carrie Graber

8 Responses to “Forgive”

  1. Kyels Says:

    It is always good to forgive and to try to forget.

    (:

    The old adage: “Forgive & Forget”.
    I’ve forgiven him but I don’t think I can ever forget him.

  2. Jo Says:

    Jem, glad to hear that. 😉

    OK..

  3. suituapui Says:

    You could have a change of heart, if you would only change your mind
    Instead of slamming down the phone, girl, for the hundredth time
    I got your number on my wall, but I ain’t gonna make that call
    When divided, we stand baby, united, we fall

    Got the time got a chance gonna make it
    Got my hands on your heart gonna take it
    All I know I can’t fight this flame
    You could have a change of heart, if you would only change your mind
    Cause I’m crazy ’bout you baby, time after time

    I don’t wanna fight no more, I don’t know what we’re fighting for
    When we treat each other baby, like an act of war
    I could tell a million lies and it would come as no surprise
    When the truth is like a stranger, hits you right between the eyes

    There’s a time and a place and a reason
    And I know I got a love to believe in
    All I know got to win this time

    Without you
    One night alone
    Is like a year without you, baby
    Do you have a heart of stone?
    Without you,
    Can’t stop the hurt inside
    When love and hate collide

    Hmmm.. Suituapui, you caught me this time.
    The lyrics are very familiar but I can’t seem to recall the title nor the singer.
    Care to refresh my memory? 🙂

  4. tihtahpah Says:

    hard to be forgiving…. 🙂

    It’s the only way I can let go, ttpah. 🙂

  5. Gallivanter Says:

    Jemima, suituapui quoted Def Leppard’s When Love & Hate Collide. I sung that for a graduation night. 😉

    Thanks for the info, Dan.
    Hope to hear you sing it one of these days, my friend. 😉

  6. zeroimpact Says:

    Forgiving is one thing
    Forgeting is another
    Being forgiven is different
    Forgiving oneself is another
    You are strong
    Thanks
    Hugs!

    Hugs!

  7. Sha Says:

    It’s hard to forgive, and even harder to seek forgiveness. But it’s something we all have to do in order to move on! *hugs*

    Yes, it is. Hugs!

  8. Keropok Says:

    Glad you’re back. Let’s see that old JK fire once again!

    Thanks, my friend. 🙂
    Hugs!


Leave a Reply

