Moving to Forgetfulness

February 22, 2007

We all know the old adage, “Forgive and forget”. We also know that nothing is that simple, but certainly the motivation to forgive and reconcile involves something more: the desire to put the past in the past.

How open are we to forget past transgressions? Do we still hang on, nursing our wounds even when forgiveness has been sought and granted?

Likewise, we do not wish to fall victim to what we might call “doormat syndrome”. That is conveying the belief to others that we are easy marks, that we can be treated in any way whatsoever and always “forgive and forget”.

Actions have consequences, but candid and forgiving hearts yield consequences as well.

jk_ff.jpg

9 Responses to “Moving to Forgetfulness”

  1. sengkor Says:

    i think to forget, we need to move on.. or to move on, we need to forget.. err.. same?

    *smiles*

    Sometimes.. I wonder, too. šŸ˜›

  2. Gallivanter Says:

    I think it’s silly if one doesn’t forgive nor forget, but I believe the naive forgive AND forget. The wise however, only forgives… šŸ˜‰

    Hmmm… in that case, am I wise or am I naive? šŸ˜†

  3. zeroimpact Says:

    To forget is hard to do
    Always easier said and well, most of the time we are the one that do not want to forget
    However the best is not to forget, but to relook back at it and be able to smile and understand why it happened or just be content that it happened

    Matthew, I will never forget all that we have shared for as long as I am still breathing.

  4. LX Says:

    forgiving is a virtue, forgetting is a cause šŸ˜‰

    i like the picture btw.

    hope ur having fun, jem. I’m down with a bout of flu šŸ˜¦

    *smiles*

    Went clubbing with some good pals 2 nites ago. Had lotz to drink but that didn’t help me to erase any bitter memories.

    I hope that you’ll recover & feel much better soon, LX.

    HUGS!!!

  5. LM Says:

    At least we can forgive. To be able to forget is a higher ability that we imperfect humans cannot achieve now.

    *smiles*

    Thanks for your comment, LM.


  6. Forgive. Never forget, but use it to learn from past mistakes.
    Also, it allows us to be wary or those who would harm us.

    Which is why I never date elephants, as they never forget! And if I do date an elephant, I’ll make sure I never make a mistake! šŸ™‚

    Thanks for the advice, Dabs.
    I’m a very forgiving person but I must warn you.. I’ve been told that I’ve a mind of an elephant ‘cos I never forget. Hehe.. šŸ˜›

  7. Iss Says:

    You know what?? In any relationship (no matter what kind) are two people involved. Some times it’s not only a matter of forgiving someone. Some times it’s a matter of forgiving ourselves too.

    That’s true. Thanks for your comment, Iss. šŸ™‚

  8. ianfluenza Says:

    The girl’s boobs are not proportionate.

    Hahaha.. you’re really a “ni” man hor. Even cartoon.. you also noticed. šŸ˜‰

  9. Joycelyn Says:

    no one will ever forget i guess.
    u can easily forgive a person when he is your love one who is important to u.
    forgive is not for anyone but for ourselves….it takes less effort to forgive than to hate someone.but i know,it’s not easy as u will recall the hurt tat u gained.try not to focus on the hurt..anyway,give yourself some time n i know u will be able to do it cos u r a smart one.
    hope to see a happier u…cheer up!

    I have forgiven him.. & myself, too.
    Our happiness & pain will remain within me forever.

    Thanks, Joycelyn.


Leave a Reply

