Take Responsibility

February 27, 2007

If things turn out badly, you’ll probably be blamed, so take responsibility now and make events go the way you want.

When you don’t take responsibility, you give up control to others. Others never have your real interests at heart because they really don’t know you. And if they did, why should they do what you won’t do for yourself? Make your interests known to yourself and take action.

Take responsibility for everything that you have done and for everything you have avoided doing. It’s the first step toward being free.

jk_respon1.jpg

The greatest gift you can give children is to let them take responsibility for themselves.

Whenever you take responsibility for other people, you limit their growth. They may be grateful initially, but the more responsibility you take, the more they will resent you.

Take responsibility for knowing how you feel, what you need, and what you want. Unless you do, yes and no are meaningless words.

Take responsibility for everything that has happened to you, that shaped you, whether you caused it or not.

You’re responsible for suffering.

You’re responsible for living happily ever after.

The responsibility that you accept ceases to be a burden.

You may not be responsible for what happened to you, but you are responsible for what you feel about it and how you reacted toward it.

I am responsible for everything in my life.

I am responsible for what I was.

I am responsible for what I will become.

jk_respon.jpg

10 Responses to “Take Responsibility”

  1. tihtahpah Says:

    see..we have to be responsible for something at any point in our lives…as we get older we’re more and more responsible for more things. I actually tend to want to have a moment and be irresponsible once in a while. 🙂 life’s too tough as it is.

    I agree that life’s tough & that we should let our hair down & we can be irresponsible once in a blue moon as long as we don’t go overboard. 😉

  2. Shez Says:

    Agreed.
    But people often run from it, which is sad.
    I like the last picture. How true.

    No matter how far they run, it will always catch up with them.
    Yes, I also think that the last picture is very true. 🙂

  3. suituapui Says:

    She used to be my only enemy and never let me free,
    Catching me in places that I know I shouldn’t be,
    Every other day I crossed the line, I didn’t mean to be so bad,
    I never thought you would become the friend I never had,
    Back then I didn’t know why, why you were misunderstood,
    So now I see through your eyes, all that you did was love,
    Mama I love you, Mama I care,
    Mama I love you, Mama my friend,
    My friend
    I didn’t want to hear it then but I’m not ashamed to say it now,
    Every little thing you said and did was right for me,
    I had a lot of time to think about, about the way I used to be,
    Never had a sense of my RESPONSIBILITY
    Back then I didn’t know why, why you were misunderstood,
    So now I see through your eyes, all that you did was love,
    Mama I love you, Mama I care,
    Mama I love you, Mama my friend,
    My friend
    But now I’m sure I know why, why you were misunderstood,
    So now I see through your eyes, all I can give you is love,
    Mama I love you, Mama I care,
    Mama I love you, Mama my friend,
    My friend
    Mama I love you, Mama I care,
    Mama I love you, Mama my friend,
    My friend

    Suituapui, what a coincidence! 🙂
    I left the lyrics of this same song at Kenny Sia’s yesterday. 😛

  4. Che-Cheh Says:

    Responsibility..tough word. sigh

    It is indeed.

  5. Sha Says:

    Yup being responsible for your actions gives a sense of maturity, as opposed to blaming everyone else but yourself 🙂

    *smiles*

  6. moz monster Says:

    I see it more as controlling what I am in control of, and accepting and working with the cards I’m dealt with when things are beyond my control.

    In terms of responsibility, I feel that I am responsible for making the best out of every situation I am in … =)

    WOW! You’re a very responsible guy. 😀

  7. ianfluenza Says:

    Response-ability…. Stephen R. Covey ey? Hehe!

    Your GURU.. hehe 😉

  8. Kyels Says:

    Yes, we all ought to take responsibility of our words and actions.

    *smiles*

  9. nyonyapenang Says:

    responsibility and accountability goes hand in hand. 🙂

    Yes, Kak Nyonya. 🙂

  10. zeroimpact Says:

    Responsibilities are part and parcel of life
    We have to take it up in life, no doubt about it
    Everyone is selfish
    No one isn’t
    We are all responsible to ourselves and if that is true with everyone then things will be so much easier

    We can live better lives, too.


Leave a Reply

