Mind Your Own Business

March 5, 2007

People who stick their noses in other people’s business don’t have much going on in their lives.

It’s not your business to know who is having an affair, a nervous breakdown, going bankrupt, or getting divorced.

Insecure people are always looking at what other people are doing. They become so afraid someone is about to overtake them that they stop concentrating on their own goals.

Unless you’re directly involved, what other people are doing or thinking isn’t your business.

But in case you want to know, others, like you, are sifting through confusing facts, trying to sort truth from distortion and figure out what to do next. Other people feel lost much of the time and worry, trying to cover their mistakes.

If you could know what others were thinking and react to it, your life would become crazy. Believe this.

It’s not your business to figure out if other people are doing better or worse than you. Besides, how can you really tell what you are comparing yourself with?

What good is it to pride yourself on being more productive than a loafer or better than some incompetent braggart?

Worse, you begin to doubt yourself when you believe others are ahead of you, and if you believe you are ahead of others you may become complacent and lose your momentum.

If you do mind other people’s business, sooner or later you’re going to act on your curiosity and say or do something intrusive that you’re bound to regret.

And while you are minding other people’s business, who’s minding yours?

shutmouth.jpg

16 Responses to “Mind Your Own Business”

  1. tihtahpah Says:

    i tend to stay out of people’s business and make others stay out of mine. Irrelevant people that is. Friends with good intentions are also partially entertained.

    Likewise, Ttpah.

    This post is written ‘cos there are a few ppl whom I’ve never even met or spoken to – yet they want to know everything I do or do not do.

  2. Kyels Says:

    I don’t stick my noses into people’s business. That is plain rude.

    I’m glad to know that, Kyels. πŸ™‚

  3. Gallivanter Says:

    *CLAP CLAP CLAP* Nice entry…loads of kay-poh-chis out there!

    Definitely, Dan.

  4. Tine Says:

    Oh gosh, tell me about it. It’s like, “err I don’t even know you, why the need to know so much about me?!”

    Anyhoos … I try to stay out of people’s business as much as I can. I’ve got enough on my hands to worry about, lest jaga-ing other ppl’s tepi kain :p

    That’s exactly my point, Tine. πŸ™‚

  5. moz monster Says:

    Sometimes curiosity do get the better of us. But I think we should be really mindful that people deserve privacy and should be treated with respect.

    Thanks for sharing my sentiments, Moz.

  6. Keropok Says:

    I f***ing hat busybodies!!!

    Yay, United won. Liverpool were bloody unlucky tho.

    Yep! Congrats to ManUtd. πŸ™‚

  7. LM Says:

    Some people just got too much time on their hands.

    That’s true, LM.

  8. C. Doodle Says:

    *Cocka calculating fingers…*
    Wah! It must be that time of the month again….

    *tiptoed out*

    CIS!!! πŸ˜›


  9. Now, tell me more about this rumour I heard that you were writing about gossip this week! Oh wait, that was this post! D’oh! πŸ™‚

    Hehe.. πŸ™‚

  10. Lex Says:

    We all have stalkers in our lives… there’s always someone else talking about you and me and that ah beng! haha

    That someone would be Ah Lian, no? πŸ˜›

  11. merv Says:

    People also stick their noses into other people’s business to run away from their own hehe

    Hehe.. I know that is something you wouldn’t do, matey. πŸ˜›

  12. LX Says:

    Now who’s been ruffling your feathers up? πŸ˜‰

    As the malays would say “jangan jaga tepi kain orang” Don’t worry too much about their kind, what goes around, comes around.

    Trust me, you dun want to know, LX. πŸ™‚

  13. Shez Says:

    “Jangan jaga tepi kain orang”. True enough.
    I guess they’re just having too much time in hands? Usually people like this have something against us. Jealousy, grudge and whatnots. They tend to stalk everything we did. Insecure, just like you’ve said.

    I’m in the situation where I have eyes on me waiting for me to fall. They cheer up when I’m down, and they try to beat me down when I’m all up and happy.

    We have people like these around us, friend. All we have to do is watch our steps, move forward and ignore them. Sooner or later they’ll know they’re acting stupid. :]

    Well said, Shez. πŸ™‚

  14. zeroimpact Says:

    I guess there’s always people like that around
    Don’t think too much about them and just be yourself and do what you are comfortable with
    I guess people should think of themselves before they think of others
    Hugs!

    Matt, what happens on the side is not my concern. I continue to look ahead & I believe in me.
    Hugs!

  15. Sha Says:

    It’s always best to keep to your own business, lest you be dragged in other pple’s problems πŸ™‚

    I, for one, got enough problems of my own. Hence, I’ve no intentions of being involved in other ppl’s. πŸ™‚

  16. Che-Cheh Says:

    I’m a lil bit kpc (kepochi)…how la? πŸ˜›

    No KPCs will ever admit that they are one la.. πŸ˜›


Leave a Reply

