Be a Friend

March 10, 2007

jk_beingafriend.jpg

Friends share the same vulnerability.

People often become friends when they suffer through a difficult situation together.

People become friends because they share the same losses, the same desperation… and the same precariousness.

Friends often share the same risk, for fear bonds people together. This is not difficult to understand. A person is either closed or open in the face of danger.

When fear is great, most people are transparent.

You make friends with the people whose emotional reaction you can understand, whose empathy seems genuine.

If you are unsure of yourself, you may reject the friends you made during times of adversity because they remind you of your own weakness or terror.

Recognize that your friendships celebrate your vulnerability and are proof of your humanness.

In a true friendship there is no need to hide. Nor any place to hide, either.

I care about my friend’s feelings. I take the time to listen.

I hear myself within my friend. I allow my friend to hear me.

****************************************************

Happy 21st Birthday Kyels!!! 

jk_21.jpg

I thank you for your love and friendship.You have faithfully been there in times of happiness and in times of sorrow and tears. You are a friend who is precious and dear.

May all your birthday wishes come true!

4 Responses to “Be a Friend”

  1. axinia Says:

    Such a lovely post! – very fine detalies you have noticed, Jemima!

    You amy like my artile on male-female friendship
    http://shaktipower.wordpress.com/2007/02/14/does-male-female-friendship-exist/

    or on friendship between women: http://shaktipower.wordpress.com/2007/01/17/female-friendship/

    Love, axinia

    Welcome, Axinia.

    Thanks for sharing your posts with me. I will read them. 🙂

  2. Kyels Says:

    Thanks for the wishes babe!

    *hugs*

    No problem, Kyels. Hope you’ll have a nice celebration.

    HUGS!

  3. zeroimpact Says:

    Happy birthday Kyels
    🙂


Leave a Reply

