Quiet Time

April 8, 2007

Everyone needs a quiet time away from work and busyness of the week. Most of the society used to go along with this notion. Stores and other commercial enterprises closed, and sports games, business conventions, and other events weren’t scheduled on Sundays or Public Holidays.

al_f_jobhunting.jpg

Not so anymore. No wonder we feel busier and busier. Social expectations have us on the move 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

I’m exhausted. I had a long & busy week.

This coming week isn’t going to be any lighter.

Painting: ”Job Hunting” by Aldo Luongo 

13 Responses to “Quiet Time”

  1. moz monster Says:

    Take a rest. Sneak away for a massage. Treat yourself to a nice meal. You’ll find little things that rejuvenates yourself, I’m sure … =)

    Thanks for the “pick-me-ups” suggestions, Moz.
    I’ll try my best. 🙂

  2. alison Says:

    don’t forget to drink lotsa water! do i sound like a makcik already? 😛 take care you!

    Thanks, Nek.. I mean Alison. 😛 *just kidding*
    I will take care, my friend. 🙂

  3. Kyels Says:

    I need my quiet time too … Take care.

    (:

    You take care, too.. Kyels. 🙂

  4. Wennnn Says:

    Happy easter to U Jemima….

    Happy Easter, Wennnn 🙂

  5. tihtahpah Says:

    probably that’s why i’m trying to squeeze as many holiday trips as possible. live and let live. there’s more to life than work!

    Tell me about it… *sigh*

  6. Tine Says:

    Yeah, I’d suggest a nice massage, and a facial, and a mani-pedi for the whole day. Shiok, man! 😛 Guaranteed to make you feel a lot better.

    Take care, girl.

    Thanks for the suggestion, Tine. 🙂
    Will try & fit in the works this weekend. 😛

  7. LX Says:

    i hv an awful stitch on my shoulder which is just ailing me right now! I wish i can just laze in bed and relax for the rest of the week till I leave for Cannes. if u know a good masseuse, lemme know 😉 meantime, take it easy too.

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!! Cannes!!!!!!!!!!!
    LX, bring me along.. plssssssssssssssssss 😛

  8. Che-Cheh Says:

    You need another holiday 😛

    Definitely!!!

  9. Lil Says:

    operate by auto pilot? that’s me right now… oh jem, i really wish you will find happy days soon!

    Thanks for your kind wish, Lil. 🙂
    I assure you that I really wish for happiness now.. more than anything else.


  10. Actually, when I lived in Sydney which has shops open 24 hours a day [and I mean some Supermarkets etc], it was a lot easier than Perth, where shops are shut on Sudnays etc.

    I used to be able to shop at 1 or 2 AM when I got home from work [yes, I worked long days], where as now, if you don’t have time to go shopping [due to working back], you basically have to go with out or go looking for some small shop somewhere that charges an arm and a leg for what you want. OWWW!

    So much easier when everything is open when you have time.

    Thanks for sharing your own experience & opinion, Dabs. 🙂
    *HUGS*

  11. jazzee Says:

    Sometimes I do wonder how the big city folks fit everything into their day, or how they even manage to really breathe. Maybe it’s akin to being carried by the tide, you just can’t stop on your own accord, although I believe we all have our own inbuilt brakes. See, we actually come assembled with lots of tools, but oft times forget we even have them!
    So, apply your brakes. I think we are personally responsible for our own well being, even if it means having to say NO. Have a great life…cos each and everyone of us aspire that for ourselves, and it’s up to us to make that happen.

    Thanks for reminding me about my brakes, Jazzee. 🙂
    After all, life is like driving a car but no one is born an expert driver. 😉

  12. merv Says:

    >Social expectations have us on the move 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

    You can say that again mate!

    OK, matey. I’ll say that again.. 😉

    “Social expectations have us on the move 24 hours a day, seven days a week.” 😆

  13. Sha Says:

    If there’s anything I know best, it is to spend time by myself 🙂

    Good on you, Sha. 🙂


Leave a Reply

