Know Yourself

April 9, 2007

I wrote this in early January for my good friend, Ian. However, I need to reflect on it for now.

cg_nuancesoflight.jpg

You are the sum total of everything you did, thought, said, dreamed, avoided, embraced, abandoned, disputed, suffered, felt, expressed, withheld, promised, lost, gained, owned, borrowed, inherited, stole, needed, and loved.

There is no avoiding yourself.

You are all the good.

All the bad.

The times spent in joyous rapture.

The days of mourning and lamentation.

You are your soul.

Your body is just a vessel – abused by self-deception and wearing the telling marks of indifferent upkeep, reflecting your resistance to accepting and knowing yourself.

What use is it to dispute what everyone else knows?

What is to be gained by denying what you know in your heart?

You are as good as you are and your faults are plenty.

Come, accept yourself.

The day is young and there is time yet to play.

I am all of me. Nothing is missing.

Painting: “Nuances of Light” by Carrie Graber

9 Responses to “Know Yourself”

  1. ianfluenza Says:

    But it can’t hurt to add more goodies to it… 🙂

    It sure can’t… 😛

    Thanks, Ian. 🙂

  2. Kyels Says:

    Of course you are yourself.

    (:

    HUGS!

    So are you, Kyels. 🙂

    *HUGS back*

  3. tihtahpah Says:

    it’s terrible sometimes when you meet people who just cannot accept themselves..because small flaws. IMperfections is what makes a person beautiful and unique.

    Thanks, Ttpah. 🙂
    Nobody’s perfect. Hence, everyone is beautiful & unique.

  4. Sha Says:

    There is no one else to be but ourselves. Trying to be someone else would just be an insult to our beings 🙂

    Well said, Sha. 🙂

  5. Gallivanter Says:

    I am all of me, though the only thing missing is being related to Homer! 😛

    Hehehe.. 😛

  6. beetrice Says:

    I loved this one… 🙂

    Thanks, Beetrice. 🙂

  7. zeroimpact Says:

    No one can run from themselves
    Just be yourself and you will be yourself

    I am being myself… always have & always will be.
    Thanks, Mattz. 🙂

  8. jazzee Says:

    In all other days, my favorite line would be the summation “I am all of me, nothing is missing”. Today however, a cloud of poignancy hangs over the sentence. I just visited a very good friend who recently underwent a major surgery which involved the removal of her whole large intestine, including the rectum.
    Today (note to self – and everyday hereafter!), I am grateful for all that I am, all that I have. For my friend, she is still whole, because her soul/spirit remains whole. She will be in perfect health because she will think perfect thoughts.
    When I told my 13 yr old son about the surgery, he just casually said…”oh, the small intestine is more important than the large intestine anyway, because……….” – out from the mouths of babes! I think that’s positive thinking for you. LOL.
    I can only come up with “We are all perfect in our own ways”.
    Have a great life, today and always.

    You’re a great mother. You’ve instilled such a great positive attitude in your son. I like that. 😀
    As for your friend, I also believe that she will recover fast & well ‘coz of her perfect thoughts. 🙂

    Once again, thanks for sharing, Jazzee.
    I really do appreciate all your comments, opinions & sharings.

  9. jazzee Says:

    Thank you for that compliment. I should also add that his father is also responsible for that attitude, which we hope will be a part of him always.
    Anyways, my comments and opinions are just that. For what its worth, I hope it helps a little. We are all constantly evolving to being better beings. It’s not always easy as negativity is always around us, and it appears so much faster than positivity, so it’s constant work, really. Some days we’re better, some days, not so, but I think if we “soldier” on, we will have more good days than bad ones, and the bad ones just become little potholes/dents along the way.

    Thanks again, Jazzee.
    With such positive outlook, you should start a blog *I’m assuming that you don’t have one as you never left me your url*… & I am very sure that you will write some wonderful & inspiring & motivational posts for ppl like me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

