Solitude

April 11, 2007

As a vessel takes shape on a potter’s wheel, the potter applies pressure to both the inside and the outside of the pot as it spins. Without the inside pressure, the pot would collapse inward. Without the outside pressure, the pot would not retain      any shape.

jk_ceramicswheel.jpg

People also need strength from the inside to withstand the everyday pressures exerted from the outside. When we spend regular time in quiet solitude, we      receive strength to withstand the pressures of life. Then we are better able to respond to crises with confidence.

Solitude strengthens and renews the soul…

as food and sleep strengthen and renew the body.

8 Responses to “Solitude”

  1. Kyels Says:

    We all need solitude, once in a while to clear things up in our minds.

    (:

    I’m glad you share the same sentiments, Kyels. 🙂

  2. zeroimpact Says:

    Solitude does not come easy, but with effort
    🙂
    Lots of it
    It helps in many many ways that you may not have imagined

    Nothing comes easy. Everything comes with effort.
    I do know it helps, Mattz.

  3. alison Says:

    yea, helps us find ourselves again. always good to go back to heart… and put a smiley there 🙂

    I want lotz of smileys in my heart, Alison. 🙂

  4. moz monster Says:

    It’s great to have some alone time once in a while. Everyone needs a holiday from everyone else, you know.

    Yep, I know, Moz.. & you’re very lucky to have your working hokiday in Sri Lanka. 😛

  5. Sha Says:

    The experiences we go through help shape us into what we are also 🙂

    They do, Sha. 🙂

  6. jazzee Says:

    The potter’s wheel..now that brings me all the way back to “Ghost” (Demi Moore & Patrick Swayze?). I swear I watch too many movies! 🙂
    If you’re interested, there’s a beautiful hymn called “The Potter’s Hand” sung by Rebecca St James, if you can find it. If you can’t find it, pls email me, and I’ll try and send it to you, via attachment or something. Silence sometimes accompanies solitude.

    “Silence strengthens the spirit and takes us to a world where peace reigns” – Bridget Menezes

    PS: Again, thank you for the compliment. You are correct in assuming that I do not have a blog. I’m happy just reading, and contributing my 2 cents, whenever I have something to say, or have a thought. Some days, I am totally shallow! 🙂

    Thanks again for the recommendation & the beautiful quote, Jazzee.
    I will try & find the hymn & I will let you know.
    You’re most welcome to leave your 2 cents or less here anytime. 😉

  7. kenzielee Says:

    I -really- like this. You are always so clever!

    I’m glad you like it, Kenzie.
    I’m not clever.. I just do what all bloggers do.. write. 😀


  8. Too much solitude makes you go potty? 🙂

    Hehehe.. 😛


Leave a Reply

