A Letter to Myself

April 27, 2007

cgmemories.jpg

Dear Jemima,

Just in case you were not sure of what you are supposed to do, this is a reminder.

Save yourself. That’s the reason for your being here. That’s why you have feelings – to save yourself.

Your fear warns you of danger. Your hurt tells you to get out of the line of fire. Your anger energizes your defenses. But sometimes you ignore them.

You stay in situations where you feel threatened because you put other people’s feelings first. You bury your hurt because you doubt yourself and are afraid that you will suffer even more if you speak out. You turn your anger against yourself because you are unwilling to take a stand.

You were placed inside you to save yourself. Don’t wait for help. Help yourself. Don’t cry to be rescued. Climb to safety. You don’t need to make a case.

Just trust your feelings and follow them.

                                                                               Jemima

Painting: “Memories” by Carrie Graber

17 Responses to “A Letter to Myself”

  1. Wennnn Says:

    Hmmmm Jemima, since U know all this why aren’t U doin it???U also make Wennn a bit confused liao??? But never mind as long as U know how to take care of urself and dun get urself hurt then is all fine… OKie.. Love U… Hug Hug…

    My sincere apologies, Wennnn. I didn’t mean to confuse you.
    Some things are just beyond explanation.
    I know that I will be fine & I love you, too.
    Thank you.
    *HUGS*

  2. Tine Says:

    All the best, Jem, and have a good weekend 🙂
    *hug*

    Thank you, Tine. 🙂
    I wish you a happy weekend, too. *hugs*

  3. Kyels Says:

    Always follow your heart.

    [:

    Indeed, Kyels. 🙂
    *hugs*

  4. moz monster Says:

    Be strong. We’re all around if you need help.

    I will & I know… Thank you, Moz. *hugs*

  5. endroo G Says:

    Listen to your heart
    when he’s calling for you.
    Listen to your heart
    there’s nothing else you can do.
    I don’t know where you’re going
    and I don’t know why,
    but listen to your heart
    before you tell him goodbye.

    Endroo, Thank you for the song. 🙂
    I appreciate it. *HUGS*

  6. nyonyapenang Says:

    Just to add, Jemima….”Everything Begins With ME.”
    Take care. 🙂

    Thanks, Kak. I will remember that & I will take care, too.
    *Hugs* 🙂

  7. alison Says:

    ask for guidance from your higher self, then be still and listen to your heart. there’s always sommething to learn in any given situation, and trsut that it is all for your growth to become a better, stronger, wiser and beautiful person. you ARE morphing into a beautiful being through these experiences.

    *teary smiles*
    Alison, your kind words & praises touches my whole.
    Thanks, my friend.. I can’t thank you enough for your encouragement.
    *HUGS*


  8. I tried savin myself once, but the bank didn’t accept Dabidos as a legal currency!! Doesn’t seem fair!

    Hehe..
    Thanks, Dabs. 🙂

  9. misti Says:

    yes, Jemima, climb out of the hole before it’s too late.
    i give you some rope i saved from my last climb. hugs.

    Thanks, Misti. *Hugs*
    *starts climbing*

  10. Lil Says:

    hey jem, often times thing look bleak and we get the moment where we feel everything is beyond our control and spinning out of our hands… nonetheless, all is not lost… focus on the good and the rest will fall into place, even if a little more time is required…

    *hugs*

    Thanks for the advice, Lil.
    *hugs back*

  11. zewt Says:

    when one no longer puts others before oneself… that’s when self love comes in… only with self love… one can love others…

    *smiles*
    Thanks, Zewt. Much appreciated.

  12. fashionasia Says:

    dont know where to leave the comments…but dont be gone for long!! have a good break jemima.

    Thanks, my dear friend.
    The short break was just ok but the tightness is still around. *sigh*

  13. Ann Sakura Says:

    Hi Jemima,

    This is my first time here and I enjoy it thoroughly. I love your posts and please do continue to drop some lines when you come back from your trip. Take good care of yourself, huh? Just make sure you pamper yourself a lot and have some good fun … (okay, you can have my share too :))

    Gotta go before my baby’s cries turn into dino’s roar (do they do this??? I’m not too sure…). Anyway, I’ll drop by another time.

    Hugs,
    Ann

    Welcome, Ann. 🙂
    Hopefully, I’ll be able to post more soon.
    Anyway, there’s plenty in the archives from the last 9 months, i.e., if you care to read that far back. 😛
    So, little bambino has a dino-roar. Regardless, I’m sure that you love him to bits.

    HUGS!

  14. Ann Sakura Says:

    Hi Jemima,

    Dunno why my previous comment is nowhere to be found… anyway, just wanna leave a short note to say “hi” and you take good care of yourself, huh? You’d have left for the trip by now… still, I wish you safe trip and here are my belated HUGS for you. 🙂

    Ann, all the comments on my blog are under moderation until I released them. The main reason is to control the spammers. 😦
    I’m back from my short trip.
    I’m feeling slightly better although the tightness in my chest wouldn’t leave.
    Thanks again for your well-wishes. 🙂

    HUGS are always welcomed here – belated or otherwise. 😉

  15. Ann Sakura Says:

    Glad that you’re back. I’m also relieved to know that the trip has helped. 🙂

    I suppose sometimes we just need to get away from the same old place and its crowds to find a little breathing space. There are days when I just want to check-in to a hotel and sleep for as long as I wish… leaving the world behind me. Why hotel? I can’t go too far away now that I’m bolted down by my lil baby gal. hehehe… 😉

    Oh well, gotta run as the dino’s waking up… Take care!

    Ann, I know someone who does that. She takes a few days break (every 5 weeks) & just sleep, eat, sleep, eat.. in the hotel.

    You should blog more about your bambino, Ann. 😉

  16. stev Says:

    a very good letter indeed I must say

    it’s a very good question to say & note to ourselves growing up & i would say that line of thinking really is matured when we stop caring more about others & put ourselves first *

    personally took me a while to get to that stage as well

    * in all good sense of course

    Thanks, Stev.

    In reality, it’s easier said than done.
    I’m still trying my very best.

  17. faa Says:

    to look back at what you’ve written long long ago before i found your blog, i feel relieved because i know that i am not alone facing this emotional turmoil. you’ve been there before and it seems like you’ve pulled yourself altogether. i hope to do the same. it just that that-heart wrenching feels is so stubborn to go away and leave me alone, where it keep on tugging to the hem of my heart.

    that’s why as i said before, reading your blog is one of my way to cure myself, some sort of theraphy for me.

    anyway, i just want you to know that you have inspired so many people and one of these days, God will send you that ‘someone special’ into your life.

    just believe in that. and so do i..

    Thank you for your very kind words, Faa.

    Inspired many people? I sincerely doubt it. A selective few, maybe.
    But, I’m glad that my old posts are of some help to you.

    Anyway, I’ve got more important problems in my life at the moment than to worry if someone special is ever gonna turn up. Whatever I’ve been through & whatever the future holds for me.. it’s all God’s will.

    That heart-wrenching feeling, it will remain if you let it. I learned it the hard way. Best to let it go.
    Take care.


Leave a Reply

