Doing what I please

May 28, 2007

The only explanation I ever need for doing what I want is: “I want to.”

The only explanation I ever need for not doing what I don’t want to do is: “I don’t want to.”

The people who love me will understand.

The people who do not will not.

I do not need to convince anyone of anything. Actually, I can’t convince people who want to control me of anything.

I state my preferences directly and openly.

Think of this for a moment. The people who oppose my decision are only stating their opinion, their preferences. Why is their opinion about my life more important than my opinion about my own?

I wouldn’t object if others did what they wanted to do. I might not like it or agree, but I recognize other people are free to live their lives any way they like. Just like me! It’s only fair.

I memorize these two explanations: “I want to” and “I don’t want to”.

I don’t need excuses to be myself.

jk_mustdo.jpg

15 Responses to “Doing what I please”

  1. Lex Says:

    That’s so true. Sometimes we don’t have to explain anything at all, cause we know ourselves better than anyone rite?

    Rite, ‘coz that’s a good enough reason, Lex. 😉

  2. LB Says:

    And I say Good For You! Happy Hug for you!

    Thanks & Hugs, LB. 🙂

  3. _butt Says:

    well said jemima!

    and may I add this favourite quote of mine from Dr Seus himself.. “Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

    Thanks, _butt. 🙂
    As for the quote, check out this link:
    https://jemima.wordpress.com/2007/05/06/the-nearness-is-all/

  4. _butt Says:

    should be Dr Seuss.. lol

  5. moz monster Says:

    Yup … I agree with this.

    Sometimes, we do things to please others, but it really isn’t what we want to do.

    I’m glad I have the freedom to do what I want to do most of the time !

    Thanks, Moz. 🙂
    We must bear in mind that not everyone has that freedom…

  6. Che-Cheh Says:

    What if mom’s the one opposing it? Dilemma man!

    Che-Cheh, I’m sure there are some situations when it is possible to overcome her views.
    As I said to Moz, not everyone is fortunate enough to have the freedom to do what they want/don’t want. 🙂

  7. alison Says:

    listen to heart. 🙂

    Thanks, Alison.. I will. 🙂

  8. Kyels Says:

    Yes, we always do what we please and we don’t need to please anybody.

    *smiles*
    Thanks, Kyels.

  9. Pinkelle Says:

    What if I want to ends up hurting another close to you?

    Just something that popped into my mind. Thanks for dropping by my new baby, Jemima 🙂

    Another way of looking at it is.. if you don’t hurt that someone.. you’re the one who’s gonna be hurt & unhappy. So, the choice is yours. That’s just my 2 cents. 😛

    It was my pleasure & Good Luck with your new baby, Pinkelle. 😉

  10. shanobyl Says:

    Hugs of course you have every right to be yourself! 🙂

    Thank you, Sha. 🙂
    Hugs!

  11. may Says:

    that’s a good stance! good on ya, girl.

    Thanks, May. 🙂
    I’m glad you think so.

  12. Lil Says:

    please yourself before you please the others 😉

    I know, Lil. 😉
    Thanks, my friend.


  13. Ah … but what happens when a police officer asks what you are doing? 🙂

    I’ll tell him/her what I’m doing. 😛

  14. winn Says:

    do what u want and be happy..
    but many times we cant..

    what to do?? teachers never taught us how to be happy in school wat!

    Winn, we need more blogosphere teachers like you who teaches us to be happy. 😉

  15. Linachu Says:

    Hi Jemima
    What you say is so true. And I’m glad I stumbled upon it at this moment where I am in crossroads of making a big decision. One that others will surely oppose and question but one that I know I must do.
    Thanks 🙂

    Welcome, Linachu. 🙂

    I am very happy to know that this post is of some help to you.
    All the best in that big decision-making. 😉


Leave a Reply

