Use Things & Love People

July 18, 2007

We live in a consumer culture – one that values possessions and experiences more than people. And yet, somehow we know that these things can never give to the human heart what it desires most – loving relationships and a sense of self-worth.

To keep hope alive, it is necessary to strike a balance between the pursuit of things and a solid investment in the lives of others. The best of all plans is to use things for the purpose of expressing love to others.

jk_thingslove.jpg

True wealth can’t be measured in dollars & cents.

This post is inspired after I read this article.

17 Responses to “Use Things & Love People”

  1. winn Says:

    True wealth can’t be measured in dollars & cents.

    i like this last sentence..

    🙂

    rock girl
    :p

    Thanks, Winn. 🙂

    You’re an early bird today. 😉

  2. misha Says:

    *jiejie jemima* gooood morning!!!!! For Misha, true wealth is good health. Without good health, how much money the person has .. also no point

    happy wednesday!!!

    Misha, that is very true. 🙂

    Enjoy your day!

  3. tihtahpah Says:

    i always believe that whether a person really loves you or not, u cannot measure with the things he/she buys for u, but it’s simply from the look of the person’s face. A genuine face tells a lot.

    There’s no doubt about that.. especially the person’s eyes.
    I, for one, never asked for anything more than trust, respect & sincerity.
    Material things.. I can buy them for myself.

    Thanks, Ttpah. 🙂

  4. ben Says:

    sincerity + lap~ = priceless~

    *lalalalal*

    *smiles*

    Thanks, Ben.


  5. Great article Jem ^o^. Like always…

    True wealth is happiness and wisdom =). You know from the story that you ever posted about a woman and precious stone ;p.

    The man came back, asking for a wisdom ^.^ Have a good day, Jem.

    Thanks, M. 🙂
    Glad you like it.
    I agree.. happiness is the key ingredient in life.
    You have a good day too.. 😉

  6. sengkor Says:

    monetary stuff are just temporary.. something else will be forever..

    Thanks, SK. 🙂

    Glad to know you share the same sentiments.

  7. moz monster Says:

    i measure wealth as health + love + wisdom + friends. unfortunately, i don’t have too much of each one … hope to add on as i travel thru life …

    As your friend, you can have a share of my minute wisdom & together we can pray for good health, Moz. 🙂
    Ntw, I love all my friends.. that includes you. 😉

  8. Kyels Says:

    Nothing can be measured in nickels and dimes; especially love. Most people know that but yet they do measure it with money.

    Hence, there are all types of ppl in this world, Kyels.
    For better or for worse, we just have to put up with them & them with us.

  9. may Says:

    in the end, all that matters is love!

    somehow that line just came to mind…

    That’s a good line, May. 🙂

  10. iamikel Says:

    my true wealth is my memories, family and people around me!!!!

    and you too! hehe!

    Me??? 😛

    Thanks, Iamikel. 🙂

  11. alison Says:

    *nodding* betul…betul.

    Thanks, Alison. 🙂

  12. mudpie Says:

    not one not two but THREE !!! you rock, dear!!!! what does these means, LOVE .. it is all LOVE

    You rock too.. Mudpie. 😛
    Check out my awards page.. LOL

    Love is different things to different people. 😉


  13. But … but … I was planning on buying a trophy wife!!! 🙂
    Don’t tell me I have to develop personality now!!! 🙂
    It ruins my life plan of being shallow and rich!!!! 🙂

    Oh well, guess I’ll just have to be nice to people! 😉

    Yep, be nice Dabs. 😛

  14. Chen Says:

    Earthly wealth and earthly treasures are not permanent 🙂

    Neither is life, Chen. 😉

  15. Cocka Doodle Says:

    “True wealth can’t be measured in dollars & cents.”

    Ya meh?? Then how come when I wqlk past those SYTs on the streets of Bangkok, they always say; “No money? No honey” geh?

    CD, how much did you pay them & how much honey did you get??? 😛

  16. Seraphine Says:

    I like a balance between money and love. I hate having too little of either. I’d rather have too much money *and* too much love. I’m greedy that way. I want more than my fair share. I like being generous.

    Thanks for dropping by Seraphine. 🙂

    I am sure there are many who shares your opinion. 🙂
    I like being generous too..

  17. winn Says:

    good morning!:P

    Good morning, early bird.. I mean Winn, my friend. 😛


Leave a Reply

