be a little selfish

August 20, 2007

If you sacrifice yourself hoping that others will reward you, you are only fooling yourself and setting up other people to disappoint you.

If you do not do what you need to do to make yourself happy, who should?

If you are not a happy person and are waiting for something to happen to make your life better, you will wait a long time.

Your job is to make your life happy.

There is something that you want to do that you can do right now.

Do it.

Other people won’t think you are selfish.

Other people probably won’t even notice.

If they do notice, most likely they will envy you.

Besides, what do you owe anyone who argues with you for making yourself happy?

If someone is going to hate you no matter what you do, you might as well do whatever you want.

jk_selfbe.jpg

I am for myself so that I can be happy.

I am for myself so that I can give freely to others.

23 Responses to “be a little selfish”

  1. moz monster Says:

    Hey … who stole my life’s mission statement and put it here … ?? =P

    What talk you, Moz??? 😛

  2. Selba Says:

    That’s what most of people are saying (or believing) that you are the one who can make yourself happy… but then it’s it true? I questioned it myself very often.

    Take an example, about hugging. Yes, you can hug someone else or an extreme way to hug yourself (I know someone who likes to hug herself, hehehe) but I believe that you will much more become happy if someone that you like/love who take the initiative first to give you a hug. The happy feeling is just different.Does my point in here make a sense? 🙂

    I hug myself when I do yoga, Selba.
    It gives me a feeling of peace & tranquility.. & the notion of loving myself.
    Of course, it isn’t the same as being hugged by someone special or a good friend.
    For instance, the cyber hugs that you get from your blogger pals.
    It just ain’t the same when you meet them in reality.

    Btw, Happy Independence Day to you. 😉

    *hugs*

  3. Wennnn Says:

    I sapot U kau kau on this!! 🙂

    Thank you, my friend. 🙂

  4. misha Says:

    happy monday to you jiejie

    Happy Monday Misha. 😉

  5. angel Says:

    *nod nod nod*

    I sell N E M O !
    Wheeeee!

    Have a good week!

    Thanks, Angel.

    Hope you have a good week too. 🙂

  6. Tine Says:

    Amen sister!

    If you don’t love yourself, then how can others love you?

    The best ‘revenge’ of all is to be HAPPY 😉

    Have a good week, my dear.

    Exactly, Tine. 😉

    You have a good week too.. counting the days I am sure. 😛


  7. Love this one, Jem. Be happy right now ;p

    Really Jem, You’re so wise =)

    xoxo

    M, you have to stop singing me praises.
    I’m scared that my head will be too big for me. LOL

    This post is inspired from the advice & support I got from my close friends. 😉

  8. waz Says:

    ‘sup Jemima, I’m for myself coz I’m happier that way! I hate being the sheep and hate being the follower! 😛 so, yeah, I’m selfish and I’m happy! 😛

    thanks for your good wishes at me blog! i wish ya the same!!! 🙂

    I’m glad to know that, Waz. 😀

    Thanks for returning the good wishes. 😉

  9. tihtahpah Says:

    nobody’s gonna make us happy but our own selves.

    Ditto, Ttpah. 😉

  10. Kyels Says:

    I like to hug myself … Mwahaha!

    But I’ll hug you too my dear friend!

    *HUGS*

    *Gives Kyels HUGE BEAR HUGS* 😀

  11. hooiching Says:

    yes agreed! so be happy jemima!

    Let’s be happy together, my friend. 🙂

  12. anjali* Says:

    Hey babe, I used your words in my latest post. Hope you don’t mind…:-)

    No problem, Anjali. 😉
    I didn’t realised that this post would be so inspiring. 😛

  13. misti Says:

    you are still young and have your whole life ahead of you still. you will love yourself and will also meet your special one who will love you in return.
    keep yourself well inbetween that time. 🙂

    Thank you for your kind assurances & well-wishes, Misti. 🙂

    *HUGS*

    Btw, I’m no longer young.. despite many of you believe so. 😉

  14. alison Says:

    wishing all happy happy! 😀

    Wishing you happy happy too, Alison. 😀

  15. may Says:

    it’s a balance, I’d say. try to make others happy, but be happy making in merry-making too! gotta love what you do, yes? *grin*

    May, what if the others whom you try to make happy don’t even appreciate you as an ordinary friend? How can there be a balance?

  16. Angele Says:

    hey jemima 🙂

    How r u doing?

    Thx for sharing…

    Take care.

    Although things could be better, I am doing fine, Angele. 🙂
    Thanks for your very kind concern.

    *HUGS*

  17. Cocka Doodle Says:

    Is your name ‘Happy’ ? as in one of the seven dwarves?? Hahahha!!!

    CD, aren’t you glad my name isn’t ‘Grumpy’? 😆

  18. misha Says:

    good morning to you .. and have a good tuesday ok?

    Good morning, Misha. 🙂

    Happy Tuesday & I hope you have a fun day back at school, my dear. 🙂

  19. iamikel Says:

    think! think! think!

    as long you are happy, that’s enough d!

    Thanks, Iamikel. 🙂

  20. doc Says:

    some of your posts are so philosophical, it’s mind-blowimg. like this one. keep them coming, jem!

    **brain explodes**

    LOL 😆

    Thanks, Doc. I’ll try my best. 🙂
    Btw, are you a brain surgeon by any chance? 😛


  21. If my life is to make my life happy, then I guess I get paid in happiness and not cash! 🙂

    Where can I bank these happy dollars???? 😀

    Funny story, last week I worked back till 5:30 pm [I finish at 4 pm] and I told one of my co-workers not to tell my boss, as I’d get told off … my co-worker told on me and my boss told me off for working too much! 🙂

    My boss and co-workers don’t want me over working. 🙂 They’re so nice! 🙂

    Dabs, your boss doesn’t want you over working so that he doesn’t have to pay you any overtime, ya??? 😛


  22. Oh darn, that should have read, If my JOB is to make my life happy!!!!

    Bodoh Dabido!!!! 🙂

    Hehe.. 😛

  23. stev Says:

    J.O.B. being the old Just Over Broke joke? 😛

    would say happiness is a state of mind

    & selfishness (+ bitchiness too!) are gr8 skills 2 have

    share your dreams & hopes – and others will help you to achieve them

    even at this age sometimes I still need to learn to say no when i should say no – glad that i’m getting better at it! (methinks) 😉

    Haha.. Stev, your perception of J.O.B. is cute. 😛

    Yep, it ain’t easy but that’s life.. we learn everyday – both to saying no & saying yes.


Leave a Reply

