Rhyming couplets

September 12, 2007

A local newspaper (in England) ran a competition asking for a rhyme with the most romantic first line… but the least romantic second line.

Here are some of the entries they received.

*********
 

My feelings for you no words can tell,

Except for maybe “go to hell”.

*********

Roses are red, violets are blue, sugar is sweet, and so are you.

But the roses are wilting, the violets are dead, the sugar bowl’s empty and so is your head.  

*********
 

Oh loving beauty you float with grace,

If only you could hide your face.

*********
 

Kind, intelligent, loving and hot;

This describes everything you are not.

*********
 

I want to feel your sweet embrace,

But don’t take that paper bag off of your face.

*********
 

I love your smile, your face, and your eyes -

Damn, I’m good at telling lies!  

*********
 

I see your face when I am dreaming.

That’s why I always wake up screaming.

*********
 

My love, you take my breath away.

What have you stepped in to smell this way?

*********

jk_hehehe.jpg

38 Responses to “Rhyming couplets”

  1. alison Says:

    lol! too funny! :D
    someone left a message for you in the comment of me blog, go check! you have a secret admirer! :)

    A secret admirer??? *surprised*

    Thanks for informing, Alison. :)

  2. tihtahpah Says:

    HAHAHHAHAHHAHHAAHA…good ones jem!

    Glad you had a good laugh, Szer. :P

  3. Che-Cheh Says:

    hahaha thanks for sharing :)

    It’s my pleasure, Che-Cheh. :)

  4. may Says:

    hahaha! what a twist! got my panties all twisted up with the last liners too… ooops!

    Where’s Misti??? She’ll help you undo them, May. :lol:

  5. Dabido Says:

    Roses are red,
    Violets are blue,
    So goes the age old rhyme.
    But I know Roses are blue,
    And Violets are red,
    I’ve seen them hanging on the line! :-)

    Your face I like a million bucks
    Green and crinkly … it really sucks!

    Your teeth are like stars,
    They come out at night.

    My love for you grows true and pure,
    Just like a plant that’s been put in manure!

    Romeo, Romeo, where for art thou Romeo?
    I’m behind a tree, doing a pee,
    Be with you in a minute babe!

    Romeo, Romeo, where for art thou Romeo?
    I speak Juliet,
    With a heart of regret,
    I left a note to meet me in the shed.
    But in the dark of the night,
    When I turned on the light,
    Found I’d shagged your mother instead!

    Dabs, I know you’ll come up with some good ones.
    You should take part in such competitions, champ. ;)

  6. LaSh Says:

    LOL!

    nice lines!

    i like ‘em all!

    Glad to hear that, LaSh. :D

  7. kat Says:

    Damn funny!! As long as I’m not a recipient of such rhymes!! :lol: Such typical Brit humour…

    I doubt Mr Kat will ever say anything like that to you, Kat. ;)

  8. Kyels Says:

    I like the first couplet … :mrgreen:

    Hehe.. I’m sure you do, Kyels. :P

  9. Elviza Says:

    Dear Jemima,

    Ah, wicked sense of humour friend. LOL

    Elviza, “wicked” could be my middle name. :lol:


  10. [...] Next, some Poetry from Jemima’s page: [...]

  11. Cocka Doodle Says:

    During my schooling years I used to recite this to some girls….

    “Roses are red,
    Violets are blue
    Girls are born pretty…
    What happened to you???”

    Muahahahahahahha!!!

    CD, I bet they all still fell for you. :P

  12. kookymonsta Says:

    LOL! Two words: potong stim.

    Hahahaha!!

    Hahaha.. I never even thought of that, Vern. :P

  13. anjali* Says:

    LOL. It’s good to have a partner who has sufficient self esteem to accept that sort of humor though. I am still looking for one…

    All the best, Anjali. ;)

  14. moz monster Says:

    These are good, as long as I’m not on the receiving end !!!

    Moz, you’re a good man.
    You’re safe, my friend. :)

  15. Angele Says:

    Here’s another one:

    I look at the stars and I see you,
    I look at the moon and I see you,
    I look at the trees and I see you,
    Please step aside, you are blocking my view.

    And I like the ones in yr post too.I had a gud laugh reading them :D

    Hahaha.. Thanks for sharing, my dear. :P

  16. Sha Says:

    Aww it’s been too long since I churned up some poetry. Rhyming couplets are the best way to go :)

    You should post them, Sha. ;)

  17. Ashish Says:

    Bwahaha! Superb ones. :lol:

    Glad you like them, Ashish. :)

  18. angel Says:

    Moms are the bestest people in the world… hugs!

    I agree, Angel. :)

    *hugs*

  19. stev Says:

    Looking deeply into your dark brown eyes…
    Makes me wish I could just commit suicide (!)

    hmm. now that’s not very appropriate isit.

    ah well. thanks for the chuckles.

    No problem, Stev.
    It’s my pleasure. *smiles*

  20. waz Says:

    lol
    i luv it! :)

    Glad to know, Waz. *smiles*


  21. Oh, these are just . . . um . . . horrible, awful, and yet so funny! I’m having fun singing many of the couplets to “Hey Li Lee Li Lee.”

  22. steve Says:

    this site is so hilarious

    Welcome, Steve. :)

    I think that is the first time anyone has ever said that about my blog. :P

  23. Chrissy Says:

    So funny i love them!

    Welcome, Chrissy. :)

    Glad you love them.

  24. Chrissy Says:

    These are great!
    Thanks for the laughs.

    My pleasure, Chrissy. :)

  25. tyree Says:

    lol man tease are funny

    Thanks for dropping by, Tyree. :)

  26. jenny Says:

    thats kinnda mean

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts & for dropping by, Jenny.

  27. karina Says:

    can u make a rhyming couplet about roses?

    I don’t think I can, Karina. :(

    Please accept my sincere apologies.

  28. karina Says:

    oh ok thats fine.

    Thanks for dropping by, Karina. :)

  29. akur Says:

    i luv ‘em all jemima u srsly rock my world i luv ur poems so much there so funny and romantic
    i g2g cya xoxoxoxoxo
    hope u have the best life ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

  30. Lauren Says:

    Hahaha these coupletes are sooooo funny I love them!!!! LOVE THEM!!!

  31. Dasha Says:

    jemima these coupletes are AWESOME! how can you come up with these?! lol do you think you could halp me wrote a couplet about love? i m doing one thats like close to yours its really nicein th beggining but is less romantic on the second line!!!! plz help thnx

  32. margarette Says:

    hey I just love it! lol xoxoxox bffe ily! <3 smuack!!! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm :D

  33. aleen jackson Says:

    really funny lol

  34. Dragonz Star Says:

    Those ryhmes really tickle my fuuny bone!

  35. Dragonz Star Says:

    I want a new face.. I mean look at it!~


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

