Finding Strength

September 16, 2007

jk_strength.jpg

“Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow; it empties today of its strength.”

– Corrie Ten Boom –

Like corrosion on a battery, worry drains our energy, saps us of our motivation and drive. Pay attention to the attitudes and activities that give you energy. Cultivate those things and nourish your strength. A strong spirit is the best defence against worry.

Personal: I pray for help to renew & restore my spirit so that I may face each day with the strength required.

Note:  Thank you for your calls, smses, IMs  & emails. I’m truly grateful & touched by your support, care, understanding, friendship, love & prayers.

**************************************

Update: 17 Sept 2007 

Happy Birthay to Angele & _butt.

jk_cappuccinocookies.jpg

May both your birthday wishes come true!

28 Responses to “Finding Strength”

  1. Misha Says:

    good morning jiejie 🙂 take care ok?

    Happy Sunday, Misha.

    Thanks.. I will. *hugs*

  2. kat Says:

    Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around. – Leo Buscaglia

    I hope things turn for the better very soon for you.

    *hugs*

    Thanks for your support, Kat.. & for being there with your listening ear & utmost care.

    *hugs*

  3. LB Says:

    I am so sorry I have been too busy to offer anything lately, but perhaps I can repent and be a better person, for the next few months? Big HUGS!!!

    No worries & no apologies are needed, LB. You’re already a better man… but why next few months only??? *puzzled*

    *HUGS*

  4. ben Says:

    *puts duracel ultra batteries*

    😀

    Free advert again, Ben???

  5. Kyels Says:

    My prayers will be with you. May things be fine soon.

    HUGS!

    Thank you, Kyels.

    *HUGS*

  6. Wennnn Says:

    U know I am with you all de time!! HUgssss.

    I do know, Wennnn.
    Thanks. *HUGS HUGS*

  7. misti Says:

    wait out for better days. gives you a woolly blanket meantime.

    Thank you, Misti. *covers self with blankie*

  8. PrEtTY iN tHE CiTY Says:

    I believe God hear our prayers, and everything will be better, Jem. My prayers with you always. Hugs

    xoxo

    I believe too, M.
    Thanks.

    HUGS & MUAKS

  9. moz monster Says:

    Humans constantly worry. It’s ingrained into us, in our very DNA.

    Find ways to channel those worry into positive feelings and energy. “If something worries you, bloody do something about it”, I am constantly reminded when I chat with a friend from Australia.

    I can say my own life has taken big leaps forward ever since I started to do something about my worry ! =)

    Hope you will find the strength you seek !

    Thanks for sharing your personal experience, Moz.

    I hope & I believe I will. *fingers crossed*

  10. iamikel Says:

    hmmmmmm… can i sms you instead of emailing you?? hehe.. just joking!

    alright, jem! take care of yourself. i still want to see you in one piece..

    I am taking care & I will be in one peace.
    Thanks, Iamikel.

    *hugs*

  11. Misha Says:

    good morning to you jiejie.. I have an award for you .. please come to my blog to get it ok?

    happy monday to you and take care ok?

    Hi Princess.. Jie Jie is really late today.. Will come over now.
    Thanks. *hugs*

  12. Selba Says:

    *BIG hugs*

    Hope the hugs will re-charge your battery 🙂

    Happy Birthday to Angele and Buttie!!!

    Thanks for the hugs, Selba.
    Much appreciated. *HUGS*

    Happy Birthday to Angele & _butt.

  13. LaSh Says:

    Ohh!

    It’s also butt’s bday! I didn’t know that! 😀

    thanks for sharing! Am off to wishing her 😛

    Hope you’re doing fine btw :). Or at least better! Hoping for the best for you & your family 🙂

    Thanks for your support & well-wishes, LaSh.

    I hope Angele enjoys her birthday.

  14. suituapui Says:

    Desiderata

    Go placidly amid the noise and haste,
    and remember what peace there may be in silence.
    As far as possible without surrender
    be on good terms with all persons.
    Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
    and listen to others,
    even the dull and the ignorant;
    they too have their story.

    Avoid loud and aggressive persons,
    they are vexations to the spirit.
    If you compare yourself with others,
    you may become vain and bitter;
    for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.
    Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

    Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
    it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.
    Exercise caution in your business affairs;
    for the world is full of trickery.
    But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
    many persons strive for high ideals;
    and everywhere life is full of heroism.

    Be yourself.
    Especially, do not feign affection.
    Neither be cynical about love;
    for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
    it is as perennial as the grass.

    Take kindly the counsel of the years,
    gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
    Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
    But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
    Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
    Beyond a wholesome discipline,
    be gentle with yourself.

    You are a child of the universe,
    no less than the trees and the stars;
    you have a right to be here.
    And whether or not it is clear to you,
    no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

    Therefore be at peace with God,
    whatever you conceive Him to be,
    and whatever your labors and aspirations,
    in the noisy confusion of life keep peace with your soul.

    With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
    it is still a beautiful world.
    Be cheerful.
    Strive to be happy.

    Thank you, Suituapui.
    Much appreciated.

  15. may Says:

    may you find the strength you need in these challenging times. and always look to the sky with your chin up! hugs!

    *looks with chin up at the sky*

    Thanks for being so supportive, May. *hugs*

  16. endroo G Says:

    the last time I saw the chinese word was a Mel C’s photo. Her arm tattoo. “Girl Power”. Haha.

    She needs to change that to “Woman Power” now, Endroo. 😛

  17. Che-Cheh Says:

    Take care and try to look at a brighter and positive side. 🙂

    Ditto, my friend.

  18. alison Says:

    there is beauty in all, what touches you deeply now? feel it. yes… may you have the strenght and courage to face every moment. you are born to be brave, claim it. it is yours… right this moment.

    happy birthay to angele & butt.

    Thanks for your kind words of encouragement, Alison.
    *hugs*

    Happy Birthday to Angele & butt.

  19. winn Says:

    think simple thoughts.
    and smile a sincere smile.

    good things will come ur way.

    *smiles*

    Thanks for your positive support, Winn.


  20. I found strength this morning to lift my belly out of bed!
    Oh yeah! I’m da man!!!! … Well, let’s make that man and a half! 🙂

    Diet not working, Dabs??? 😛

  21. Angele Says:

    Thanks a lot for the wishes Jem!That’s a sweet thought 🙂

    And happy birthday to _butt also 😀

    Take care girl.

    My pleasure, Angele.. but my apologies to both you & _butt for not being able to do a proper birthday post.

    I’m so happy to know that LaSh had given his beb a great birthday. 😉

    *hugs*

  22. Sha Says:

    I know you’ll make it through *hugs*

    Thanks, Sha. *hugs*

  23. Dabido Says:

    Please, don’t say words to me with Die in them! 🙂
    Come to think of it, Diet is even scarier than die! 🙂

    Ditto, Dabs. *smiles*

  24. h.c.tan Says:

    happy birthday angele n _butt! =)

    and jem, stay strong

    Thanks, my friend. I will. *hugs*

    Happy Belated Birthday to Angele & _butt.

  25. angel Says:

    I’m also looking for some strength…

    Let me know when you’ve found some, Angel. *hugs*

  26. day-dreamer Says:

    I wish for strength for both you and me. 🙂

    And oops! A belated birthday to Angele and _butt!!

    Thanks, D-D.
    Much appreciated.

    Happy Belated Birthday to Angele & _butt.

  27. waz Says:

    beautifully said!
    funny thing is that a little bit of worry is still good! it makes us plan ahead and helps us to have the edge! 😛 well, that’s what i’ve found…lol weird, huh?

    We all live life differently.. hence the way we think & even the way we worry & accept our fate also differs, Waz.

  28. _butt Says:

    Thanks Jemima!! *grabs a bite off the heart-shaped cookie* 😀

    I wish you enough strength too, for whatever will come, you will overcome it. Hugs! 🙂


Leave a Reply

